Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 267
# 21
11-14-2012, 06:57 PM
Amen to that! Great post. Let's hope someone actually cares...or listens. I'm beginning to feel unnerved that no Devs have said a word about this.
http://media.photobucket.com/image/dofftrader/yoreantiques/DOFFtrader.gif
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5,138
# 22
11-14-2012, 07:18 PM
I log into the game. It gets to the SF logo screen. Crash to desktop. Then the submit error ticket thing pops up, verify all files is either broken or not helping.

It is definitely rooted in S7, because I haven't been able to use Tribble for a while ever since S7 stuff got put on it. And now, after S7, Holodeck is affected exactly the same.

Cryptic, the unmovable entity, actually gave way just a little to the playerbase with the return of (a little) dilithium to STFs. So why don't they listen to those who can't even play the game (which renders any change inert)? Cryptic, why don't you at least acknowledge that something is not working as intended? Pretending you don't see the million and one threads about this is not how to gain favor, and it is not how you help the game in any way.

Even if some dev just comes out in one of these threads and says "Yeah, we know something isn't right" would be much appreciated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 801
# 23
11-14-2012, 07:26 PM
Okay guys Technically inclined....Check

Most of the information needed.....Check

_____________

You've already narrowed it down to the intel integrated graphics cool, however there's on bit no one has posted.


Has anyone written down the error code or codes your getting from the BSOD (Blue screen of death)?

IF you guys can please write down and post what error codes your getting when the BSOD comes up. If you're wondering why this is important, the error code on the BSOD could be a vital bit of information as to exactly what is getting triggered for the graphics driver to crash and possible lead to figuring out exactly what is triggering the whole issue.


It should look something like "Error 8x43fdr in graphics954.dll" That's just a random example but for those of you that don't know what to look for it'll give you a rough idea.
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
# 24
11-14-2012, 07:49 PM
I don't get a bsod or an error code, the first 2-3 times a cryptic window allowed me to post a crash report. On my machine it just locks up the entire computer with a death rattle on the sound card.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
# 25 Thought it was just me
11-14-2012, 08:06 PM
Glad to know it wasn't just me getting this problem. Ever since the S7 patch update, I log in and get to my missions, and then the screen on my laptop (which has better graphics processing than my desktop) just hangs several times, then it crashes giving me the BSOD screen. It points to my graphics driver, so I updated that, but the problem persists. It's making the game nearly unplayable.

Since I see so many others experiencing the same problem, I won't bother posting my specs (mostly because I don't have them on hand). It would be nice to see some sort of confirmation that such a problem exists and that there is someone working on a resolution or at least a work-around would be great!
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 81
# 26
11-14-2012, 09:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voicesdark View Post
Okay guys Technically inclined....Check

Most of the information needed.....Check

_____________

You've already narrowed it down to the intel integrated graphics cool, however there's on bit no one has posted.


Has anyone written down the error code or codes your getting from the BSOD (Blue screen of death)?

IF you guys can please write down and post what error codes your getting when the BSOD comes up. If you're wondering why this is important, the error code on the BSOD could be a vital bit of information as to exactly what is getting triggered for the graphics driver to crash and possible lead to figuring out exactly what is triggering the whole issue.


It should look something like "Error 8x43fdr in graphics954.dll" That's just a random example but for those of you that don't know what to look for it'll give you a rough idea.

actually yes in point of fact I have
Quote:
Originally Posted by rumblep View Post
Here ya go cryptic... Error Ticket # 14182686

Gotta love that new code, just logged into a toon standing by quinns office on ESD and BAM!

"Fatal Error: Direct3D Driver returned error code
(DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_REMOVED) while creating a texture.

Technical Details: DXGI_DEVICE_REMOVED while creating 2D texture size 64 x 64 (7mips, RTEX_DXT5), 1.55 GB RAM, 1.19GB virtual space available"

Now thats a brand spanking new error message that has never even graced this system before. Congratulatory messages to you in its creation. How about a fix Devs?
and this can be found http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...=414741&page=2
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,235
# 27
11-14-2012, 09:57 PM
Since S7 playing STO has been impossible.

I have tried reinstalling the game, this did not solve the problem.

Whenever I click on any interaction, the screen goes black for a moment and at times PC crashes with blue screen saying there was a fatal exception with the graphics driver and recovered.

Prior to S7 this never happened. I have been playing on this PC for 2 years so it cannot suddenly be a hardware issue or driver for that matter.

What's changed?
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 801
# 28 craptastic
11-15-2012, 01:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by rumblep View Post
actually yes in point of fact I have


and this can be found http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...=414741&page=2
okay excuse my language but WTF is that **** lol

yes yes I understand it technically wise but a little harmless 64x64 pixel graphics is causing all this **** lol

so I've been sitting here staring at a 64x64 pixel square banging my head trying ti figure out wtf that might be. Unfortunately I think I've got it figured.

They did some pretty extensive changes with the gui (graphical user interface aka hud) for season 7. The only two things on the main hud that are that size are 1) the combadge icon for the chat window and 2) the player head graphic for the status display. Doesn't mean there aren't other just those are the two that instantly come to mind that you'd all have in common at the same time.

Unfortunately if it's a GUI error which it seems to be only suggestion (unless someone has tried it) would be try to force verify the files or if you're system has it try forcing the game into dx11 mode.

Sorry guys wish I could be more help, but with this type of error it really is something the devs have to work on. Although if anyone tried the forced dx11 and it works or doesn't please let everyone know.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 156
# 29
11-15-2012, 02:18 AM
don't forget to do upgrades to your vid cards and windows
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 81
# 30
11-15-2012, 06:07 AM
dont think its the gui honestly... and the forced verify has been tried on several as well as total reinstalls...among other things. As for my systems, fully updated both windows and vid card driver (per vid card manufacture as the one on the system manufacture is 3 years old)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 PM.