Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,753
# 611
11-15-2012, 02:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainrevo1 View Post
Tell us exactly what the problem is in as much detail as you can.
Here is a step-by-step explanation of exactly what I do:

I click on the launcher.
I enter my password.
I wait for the patch bar to say 'ready'
I click engage.
It loads the Cryptic screen.
I gets to the Starfleet logo screen and crashes to desktop.
The submit error ticket box pops up.

Now, if I want to try verifying all files after a crash, it is slightly different:

I click on the launcher.
I enter my password.
It says 'An error was detected by the game, do you want to verify all files? Note: this may take 10-20 minutes.
The patch bar says 'patching' for 10-20 minutes.
It will eventually say 'ready'
I click engage.
It loads the Cryptic screen.
I gets to the Starfleet logo screen and crashes to desktop.
The submit error ticket box pops up.

That's all I can tell you that happens. It never says '<file> was corrupt' or anything like that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
The Forgotten Battle - a new Foundry mission
Check out my STO Youtube channel!
Why are you hovering over my signature? Play my foundry missions! :-)
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,753
# 612
11-15-2012, 02:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainrevo1 View Post
so you can get into the game ok? have you switched on demand patching off, so it downloads the whole game before you log in. (in the launcher menu)

have you updated your computers drivers (graphics, audio, etc)

has there been a change to your firewall settings that is block the game.

have you tried changing the proxy (again in the launcher menu)

have you got a program called or sounding similar like 'pando media booster installed' if so uninstall it.

have you tried totally uninstalling and reinstalling?
I'll answer them in order:

No, I can't get into the game at all, but I'll try turning off the on demand patching.

I've checked for updates on them, all as up to date as they can be right now.

I haven't touched firewall settings.

Pardon me for for my limited knowledge of computer stuff, I don't know what a proxy is.

I haven't heard of 'pando media booster' or anything similar, nor have I downloaded anything that sounds remotely like it.

Again, these problems happened on Holodeck and Tribble after the S7 patches on each, so I will try the last thing on your list and uninstall/reinstall.
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
The Forgotten Battle - a new Foundry mission
Check out my STO Youtube channel!
Why are you hovering over my signature? Play my foundry missions! :-)
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,753
# 613
11-15-2012, 05:13 PM
I turned off the on demand patching. Two hours and 3330.5 mb later, I finally got to press engage and... crash. At the exact same spot. I see no other option left to me than to just uninstall and reinstall STO. So, is there anything in particular I need to do to prepare, or anything I need to save before uninstalling it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
The Forgotten Battle - a new Foundry mission
Check out my STO Youtube channel!
Why are you hovering over my signature? Play my foundry missions! :-)
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 588
# 614
11-15-2012, 06:19 PM
At this point I might suggest a new computer since it sounds like yours may be rather old or something ... of course I don't know if that's an option for you or not, but usually problems like that (at least, ones I've had) makes me just realize that my computer is pretty old and its time is over.

Obviously that's pretty drastic. Maybe one of those PC clean-up things would work though I don't know much about that. If you're not having any problems remotely like that on other programs that you have, then I don't know. But I imagine that's pretty unlikely.
____________________________________
I am retired from STO. By the way, hindsight is 20/20.
Ferasan Shadow Force | Borg Extermination Squad
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,753
# 615
11-15-2012, 06:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirepical View Post
At this point I might suggest a new computer since it sounds like yours may be rather old or something ... of course I don't know if that's an option for you or not, but usually problems like that (at least, ones I've had) makes me just realize that my computer is pretty old and its time is over.

Obviously that's pretty drastic. Maybe one of those PC clean-up things would work though I don't know much about that. If you're not having any problems remotely like that on other programs that you have, then I don't know. But I imagine that's pretty unlikely.
Yeah, getting a new computer is out of the question right now, uninstalling is really my only option. I know that the problems lies somewhere in the S7 update - where? I have no idea.

P.S.: Alecto, the 'Post your best New Romulus screenshot - space and ground' thread needs moderating. Some guys are doing forum PvP, and I think you'll be surprised to see who the two rule-breakers are.

No, seriously. You'll be very surprised.
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
The Forgotten Battle - a new Foundry mission
Check out my STO Youtube channel!
Why are you hovering over my signature? Play my foundry missions! :-)

Last edited by voporak; 11-15-2012 at 06:46 PM.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,281
# 616
11-15-2012, 09:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
I turned off the on demand patching. Two hours and 3330.5 mb later, I finally got to press engage and... crash. At the exact same spot. I see no other option left to me than to just uninstall and reinstall STO. So, is there anything in particular I need to do to prepare, or anything I need to save before uninstalling it?
Had the same problem before, here is how I fixed:
  1. Load Launcher
  2. Options
  3. Force Verify
  4. Once Completed, ensure that in-game notifications for Steam are turned OFF.
  5. Restart PC
  6. Restart Launcher
  7. Game works
___________________________
@Commadore_Bob; Joined Jul 2009; That post count + 20,000
Click on my sig to view Family-Friendly Youtube Videos
I also now have a logo shop. Click my sig!
Click here to watch my STO play-through video series.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,753
# 617
11-16-2012, 03:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by commadorebob View Post
Had the same problem before, here is how I fixed:
  1. Load Launcher
  2. Options
  3. Force Verify
  4. Once Completed, ensure that in-game notifications for Steam are turned OFF.
  5. Restart PC
  6. Restart Launcher
  7. Game works
I did this method exactly, really hoping it would solve my problem. But...

It didn't work!



My game is hell bent on not letting me in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
The Forgotten Battle - a new Foundry mission
Check out my STO Youtube channel!
Why are you hovering over my signature? Play my foundry missions! :-)
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,745
# 618
11-16-2012, 03:42 PM
sorry to hear that.

those were my best guesses. there may be more acknowledged people in the techy sections.

the proxy is just an option in the launcher menu to change to EU, US, or none. i think each is set up to deal with the different regions to maximise performance depending where you come from.

i cant imagine it will help but it does affect internet connection. should not be enough to cause a crash though, and as you dont know it you would not have changed it.

House of Cards - Lvl 46 Fed mission
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,745
# 619
11-16-2012, 03:55 PM
on a different note, if anyone wants omega marks and is not an stf fan, i can confirm that defera and the red alerts have them in small quantities.

defera offers a mix of fleet marks and omega marks.

red alerts offer omega marks and the option of loot or dilithium.

mathcing up with the flet hours and reputation hours will increase the rewards slightly.

House of Cards - Lvl 46 Fed mission
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,753
# 620
11-16-2012, 07:55 PM
I'm going to reinstall the game. Do I just activate the uninstall file, then go and redownload the game once it's done, or is there any other stuff I need to do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by askray View Post
YAY I'M EVOLVED! *drools on his chin*
Quote:
Originally Posted by voporak View Post
Welcome to the STO forums, where the evolutionary clock ticks backwards.
The Forgotten Battle - a new Foundry mission
Check out my STO Youtube channel!
Why are you hovering over my signature? Play my foundry missions! :-)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.