Lieutenant
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 98
# 11
11-14-2012, 10:26 PM
did they do something to the graphics? i haven't changed any of my settings and stuff that was clear before season 7 launch is now blurry. example: uniforms, consoles
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 62
# 12
11-16-2012, 09:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattimer View Post
That fix worked for me, I had to set the memory to 1024+ for the textures to come back.
I did this but then the game will slow down,it was ok before S7.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,885
# 13
11-17-2012, 08:19 AM
Had this too. What do you think happened?
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh, lovely, I can't even requote the Douglas Adams quote I used to have here I WANT IT BACK!!!!
Dalo Lorn
DaloLorn, StarCraft 2 Roleplayer and proud of it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 144
# 14
11-17-2012, 03:32 PM
Radeon HD 6870 with 1GB VRAM. On all New Romulus areas I get a message in the upper right corner of the screen telling me that VRAM is maxed out and the game is downgrading textures as a result. Changing the video memory limit doesn't make it go away. Texture res appears to be slightly lower, but not significantly. I had to look at the textures on the Romulan crates up close to be sure. LOD is a bit squiffy though, with some things flickering or looking unusually boxy. If I stand on the platform by the transporter pad and look in the direction of the courtyard, for example, the Romulan shuttle in the courtyard has an oddly chunky look, like it's loading the wrong LOD mesh for that distance.

I'm also getting lots of noticeable texture popping, both on initial load, and on LOD loading. I can run right up to said Romulan shuttle and watch as sections of it pop from super blurry distant LOD texture to the up close texture one at a time... after coming to a stop next to it. When exiting the embassy back out into the courtyard, everything looks normal for a fraction of a second, then clicks into super low res-mode, then spends the next 5-10 seconds popping textures back to normal one at a time.

I strongly suspect there's a VRAM leak of some kind in the S7 code.

Last edited by connectamabob; 11-17-2012 at 03:50 PM.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,069
# 15
11-17-2012, 04:35 PM
YEah the game is using vram like crazy in S7 .
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,041
# 16
11-18-2012, 02:22 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by connectamabob View Post
Radeon HD 6870 with 1GB VRAM. On all New Romulus areas I get a message in the upper right corner of the screen telling me that VRAM is maxed out and the game is downgrading textures as a result. Changing the video memory limit doesn't make it go away. Texture res appears to be slightly lower, but not significantly. I had to look at the textures on the Romulan crates up close to be sure. LOD is a bit squiffy though, with some things flickering or looking unusually boxy. If I stand on the platform by the transporter pad and look in the direction of the courtyard, for example, the Romulan shuttle in the courtyard has an oddly chunky look, like it's loading the wrong LOD mesh for that distance.

I'm also getting lots of noticeable texture popping, both on initial load, and on LOD loading. I can run right up to said Romulan shuttle and watch as sections of it pop from super blurry distant LOD texture to the up close texture one at a time... after coming to a stop next to it. When exiting the embassy back out into the courtyard, everything looks normal for a fraction of a second, then clicks into super low res-mode, then spends the next 5-10 seconds popping textures back to normal one at a time.

I strongly suspect there's a VRAM leak of some kind in the S7 code.
hm, as I said I could fix this problem with changing the memory usage, and I think your problem is actually having a radeon card.

I got a GTX 460 768 vram, and changing back the setting caused no other problem with the game, it runs as good as ever, only starbase 24 gives it a hard time (but thats a cpu bottleneck).
so I suspect the game handles radeons worse than geforce
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 144
# 17
11-18-2012, 07:48 AM
*shrugs* Half the cards out there are gonna be Radeon, so that'd still a problem with the game, not the card. If Cryptic wants market share it's up to them to make sure their game can handle what's probably the single most utterly basic essential hardware compatibility element every PC game must deal with.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,069
# 18
11-18-2012, 07:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by connectamabob View Post
*shrugs* Half the cards out there are gonna be Radeon, so that'd still a problem with the game, not the card. If Cryptic wants market share it's up to them to make sure their game can handle what's probably the single most utterly basic essential hardware compatibility element every PC game must deal with.
That doesnt make radeon cards any good ...I know because I have one and I also sell them lol

amd by far beats Cryptic at s**** support.Look at how many people still use the 3000 and 4000 series and get no new drivers and support.You cant force them to get a new card when the number is that high.

If you got the new windows 8 and have a 4000 series (lets say 4890 ...that card is still decent ) bad luck ,you will get no drivers for games ,no support of any kind.

Yes Cryptic will probably fix the problems (without blaming those with the 3000 and 4000 series) but is not always cryptic's fault when somethig is wrong on a system with amd card.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 144
# 19
11-18-2012, 08:15 AM
Again, doesn't matter. Regardless of AMD quality or service, they still own half the market, so AMD vs Nvidea or AMD vs Intel are the very first and most basic considerations on the priority list as far as hardware compatibility goes. It's not about being able to cover every hardware configuration quirk out there: if they fudge-out on AMD compatibility catagorically, which is what ferdzso0's suggesting, then from a business POV they are pretty much by definition bad at their jobs.

Last edited by connectamabob; 11-18-2012 at 08:18 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,509
# 20
11-20-2012, 06:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltypineapple View Post
Same here on textures not loading properly, quickly, or at all. I noticed this on tribble prior to S7 going live and chalked it up to it being tribble but I was dismayed when on holodeck after S7 went live that the low rez texture bug followed.

I tried /videoMemoryMax command in the chat console and set it to 1000MB and 2000MB (I'm using twin MSI GTX580 Lightning cards in SLI each card equipped with 3GB of video memory) and nothing. Inputting /showmem 1 shows a 800MB video memory overload.
Same here. I also noticed it on Tribble server and assumed it was intentional because it was for testing and working out bugs, not making the game look pretty. Then it went live at S7 launch.

A few days ago someone's bridge officer on New Romulus looked horrible. Completely grey. I zoomed in for a closer look and it looked as if the textures weren't even finished on it. Also this problem makes my character uniforms look smeared. Edit: I should have taken a screen shot of that.

I have my in game video settings all the way up. I haven't changed them since before season 7. I did try turning up and down all the texture qualities and all and it didn't fix it.

Example:

http://imageshack.us/a/img812/3866/s...2112018494.jpg

Oh for the love of.......My character had his eyes closed when I took his picture.

Edit: I have a nVidia Geforce GT240 graphics card. Everything was great until season 7 launched and there have been no updated drivers or any settings changed since S7 so I doubt the problem is on our end.

Hail your new Overlord!

Last edited by monkeybone13; 11-20-2012 at 07:00 PM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 PM.