Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
# 91
11-21-2012, 08:14 AM
Okay I finally had time to test things out. After changing to the latest driver for my integrated Intel i3 video, I set the max performance setting and started playing. At first it seemed to have worked but I suddenly got a random crash again.

The test was done with the video limit set at 768. I changed it to 1024+ and it still crashed. I set it to 512 and it crashed as well. I changed back to my old driver and it does not crash no mater the video limit setting. I am not convinced it's the entirely the video driver because I know I was able to play fine with the updated one in season 6. It has to be something with Season 7's coding and the new driver. I guess it's possible that some Intel cards will work fine after awesominator6000's fix but mine for sure does not.

I guess I am going to just have to use my old driver to play the game. No big deal though as there do not seem to be any ill-effects on my system by doing so. Only problem is Windows seems to want to keep installing the updated one automatically for me randomly. I am going to have to change Windows update behavior and just do things manually for my updates as a work around to that though.

I will report back if for some reason my old driver suddenly crashes. If it does (and it has not yet) then I would be convinced it would have nothing to do with the driver at all and be something on the coding for S7.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,223
# 92
11-24-2012, 02:42 PM
Yeah same problem for me. Worked fine until the season 7 update and now the game is crippled. I just started a few days earlier and am still on some earlier missions and the game is unplayable now. Oh well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by otowi View Post
Sounds to me like most of you are using the integrated Intel graphics chip set. This is not really intended for gaming, I'm sorry to say.
It's good enough to run Skyrim on medium-ish settings, which is a newer, more powerful game with absolutely no issues whatsoever. There's no reason it shouldn't be able to run this. It's pretty obviously a bug in the new update.

I will try playing again in a month or so. If it hasn't been patched by then, I'll just uninstall the game. Too bad, because as a lifelong Star Trek fan this is a dream game for me. Was thinking about investing some $$$ for the bonus features, but stuff like this is... pretty off-putting.

Last edited by tsurutafan01; 11-24-2012 at 03:17 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 111
# 93
11-26-2012, 08:38 PM
I came to the forums hoping to be encouraged by some announcements of "how to fix it" but I am now more discouraged than ever. I, too, have been having random and repeated blackouts and display driver crashes since the 7 patch. I used to not have any issues at all.

My husband just downloaded and installed the game this weekend and he can't even get it logged on long enough to adjust settings or anything. He did manage to create his character, but now as soon as he logs on he gets the BSOD. PLEASE tell us how to fix this. Thank you.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 574
# 94
11-27-2012, 02:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcrayven View Post
You can't call 'working as intended' on this one, otowi. The game went from running smooth as silk at medium high settings on my integrated chipset to OMFG HANG HANG BLACK SCREEN CRASH DUMP LOCK literally overnight. EVEN WHEN RUNNING THE GAME IN SAFE MODE.

Season 7 has borked something majorly. Hopefully the devs will pay attention to this thread, as it is literally game-crippling.
I'm not saying "working as intended". I was just pointing out that the Intel integrated cards are not really meant for heavy gameing wich requires a lot of graphics power. (Doom III, Battlefield III and so on)

And yes even those with dedicated mobile graphics cards are having problems, I know that.

I know STO works fine with the various mobile graphics cards, included the Intel type. Heck my laptop has an Intel card, and STO works pretty good with it, but when I switch to the dedicated ATI mobility card, the game runs so much smoother.

My guess is that something changed in S7 graphics code or the way the game renders. And since it affects all kinds of dedicated and integrated graphics cards, this is something Cryptic needs to investigate.

Last edited by otowi; 11-27-2012 at 02:50 AM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 243
# 95
11-27-2012, 09:21 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by chroncrossed2 View Post
Okay I finally had time to test things out. After changing to the latest driver for my integrated Intel i3 video, I set the max performance setting and started playing. At first it seemed to have worked but I suddenly got a random crash again.

The test was done with the video limit set at 768. I changed it to 1024+ and it still crashed. I set it to 512 and it crashed as well. I changed back to my old driver and it does not crash no mater the video limit setting. I am not convinced it's the entirely the video driver because I know I was able to play fine with the updated one in season 6. It has to be something with Season 7's coding and the new driver. I guess it's possible that some Intel cards will work fine after awesominator6000's fix but mine for sure does not.

I guess I am going to just have to use my old driver to play the game. No big deal though as there do not seem to be any ill-effects on my system by doing so. Only problem is Windows seems to want to keep installing the updated one automatically for me randomly. I am going to have to change Windows update behavior and just do things manually for my updates as a work around to that though.

I will report back if for some reason my old driver suddenly crashes. If it does (and it has not yet) then I would be convinced it would have nothing to do with the driver at all and be something on the coding for S7.
Near as I can tell, Cryptic hasn't even commented on the issue, which now appears to be affecting more than just the Intel crowd. They have, however, been promoting lots of free and discount deals which no one can actually take advantage of because of the BSOD / crash dump epic fail. I haven't even been able to experience any of Season 7 even though it's been out for almost a month now because of this.
_____________________________________________


I used to be able to play STO, but then Season 9 happened. | Join Date: Dec 2009
1000 Paper Cuts for Star Trek Online
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
# 96
11-27-2012, 05:09 PM
I too am getting this problem since the release of season 7. I sent very detailed bug reports to Cryptic/PWE for a resolution, but I pretty much stumped them to no end. I was told all the info I provided would be forwarded to Devs to dissect, but I doubt anything will come of it. Though, if anyone is serious about getting some kind of patch update, SEND IN your bug reports, and be as descriptive and as detailed as possible, i.e. write down error codes, phrases in the BSOD, the address codes, etc, write down EVERYTHING. If you can't get the BSOD info because it restarts the computer, you may need to turn that off so that it sticks to the BSOD screen for you to get the information.

Bottom line, don't just send in reports stating with one line "My graphics driver crashes". As a tech, I can tell you that without knowing what error codes pops up, or what you were doing when the problem occurred, that one line message pretty much is useless.

I am hopeful that PWE/Cryptic finds a solution. I only recently got into playing this game, and this problem is very much a turn off to playing. The problem only recently started as Season 7 went live.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,223
# 97
11-27-2012, 10:24 PM
I sent a bug report from the in-game option to do so myself, in the hopes it will help. I don't know if I gave enough detail. Then again, I imagine they've received quite a few and must surely be aware.

Hopefully it gets fixed. At the moment all I can really do is log in, do some duty officer stuff, and log out. Any attempt to play a mission leads to me needing to hard reset my computer, which just isn't happening.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,223
# 98
11-28-2012, 05:30 PM
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...&postcount=124

Copying this over from the Tribble release notes subforum for those that may not have seen it.

At least they are aware and looking into this. That's all we can ask really, at least they are on it.
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
# 99
11-28-2012, 10:06 PM
Guys there is another solution that no-one has mentioned yet.
STO is all online so simply buy a $1500 gaming laptop. Sweet yeah?
In all seriousness I also want to add im running an i3 laptop with intel HD graphics and wish to subscribe to this thread so that if a solution is found I get emailed about it. I do love STO, my life has changed for the worse since s7.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
The suggestion of rolling back the graphics driver works for me.

I was initially hesitant about it as I wasn't sure what effect it would have on my system. But I decided to give it a go and downloaded the latest from Fujitsu which is a 2010 version. After installing it, I tried several problematic missions which usually crashes my driver since the release of season 7. But this time round, it didn't happen. I know this is not the best option (rolling back drivers) but given complexity of the issue, I guess it will suffice for now.

CAVEAT: Even though this works for me, it may not work for everyone and may make things worse. So I guess it's a "do it at your own risk" sort of work-around.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.