Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 11
11-24-2012, 11:29 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlocutusofborgx View Post
Done,

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x...0/tracesto.png

this is all pretty gibberish to me lol.
How a traceroute works is each hop is sent three packets of data per hop--those numbers in ms on each hop is the time it takes for each packet to reach the specified point on the far right (either a website or a relay server).

Looks like there's some high, but not completely problematic lag in the last few hops on your trace (those servers appear to me from their names to be in the Boston area, which may still be dealing with the aftermath of Sandy--internet infrastructure is usually low on the priority list, and being a major storm survivor myself, I know those sort of things can take months and months to get just right again)

The last two hops (including the one ending at the patch server itself, the address at the end of your trace) is awfully high as well.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting

Last edited by lewstelamon01; 11-24-2012 at 11:33 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,342
# 12
11-24-2012, 11:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewstelamon01 View Post
How a traceroute works is each hop is sent three packets of data per hop--those numbers in ms on each hop is the time it takes for each packet to reach the specified point on the far right (either a website or a relay server).

Looks like there's some high, but not completely problematic lag in the last few hops on your trace (those servers appear to me from their names to be in the Boston area, which may still be dealing with the aftermath of Sandy--internet infrastructure is usually low on the priority list, and being a major storm survivor myself, I know those sort of things can take months and months to get just right again)

The last two hops (including the one ending at the patch server itself, the address at the end of your trace) is awfully high as well.
So chances are things will be like they are now till things improve. Which is wierd seeing as just before last patch, I was fine, no lag, no issues at all, after last patch it seemed to just go downhill. Well I hope things improve soon.

I even just for sake of testing earlier today, went onto DCUO and things were smooth nps at all. Hopefully things get better soon, be nice to play like I was.

Thanks for the info and help
Like my Fan Page Here
xXLocutusXx
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 13
11-24-2012, 11:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlocutusofborgx View Post
So chances are things will be like they are now till things improve. Which is wierd seeing as just before last patch, I was fine, no lag, no issues at all, after last patch it seemed to just go downhill. Well I hope things improve soon.

I even just for sake of testing earlier today, went onto DCUO and things were smooth nps at all. Hopefully things get better soon, be nice to play like I was.

Thanks for the info and help
You're welcome. Just bear in mind that different games can have different issues, as the route to any two different game servers can vary.

I did a trace on my own PC to the servers and I didn't notice any issues at the time of that trace, but there have been intermittent problems with that particular leg of the trace of late.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,342
# 14
11-25-2012, 01:46 AM
Everytime I go on now its just server connection issues up the ying yang, cant even play at all at this rate... this is just unacceptable. *sad face*
Like my Fan Page Here
xXLocutusXx
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,597
# 15
11-25-2012, 01:51 AM
Over the past month, I have found Hathon (Bajor) to lag me horrid.

I completed a 2-man CSE, ISE, and KASE, Optionals included. And I soloed Winter Invasion.
My Ship Builds: USS Conqueror, HMS Victorious, HMS Concord, ISS Queen Elizabeth, Black Widow III

Click here to view my DeviantArt.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,342
# 16
11-25-2012, 02:32 AM
Alright so i did a nettest.. here are the results..

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 96.54.27.162
Ping: 94.0 msec
Port: 80: 17 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 44 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 50 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 60 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 66 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 40 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 9 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 26 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 30 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 39 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 44 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 63 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 69 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 69 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 75 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 24 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 29 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 4 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 9 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 45 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 50 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 2 KB/sec


also.. my ISP is shaw communications (http://www.shaw.ca/store/)
Like my Fan Page Here
xXLocutusXx
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 17
11-25-2012, 06:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlocutusofborgx View Post
Alright so i did a nettest.. here are the results..

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 96.54.27.162
Ping: 94.0 msec
Port: 80: 17 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 21 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 44 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 50 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 60 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 66 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 40 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 9 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 26 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 30 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 39 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 44 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 63 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 69 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 69 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 75 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 24 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 29 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 4 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 6 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 9 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 45 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 50 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 2 KB/sec


also.. my ISP is shaw communications (http://www.shaw.ca/store/)
Ouch. According to the sticky here, your nettest readings are way, WAY below what they should be.

Columns 1 and 3 should be 300-500 KB/sec (values in blue), and your middle column should be 20KB/s (values in green). Are you sure your ISP isn't throttling your connection speed?
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting

Last edited by lewstelamon01; 11-25-2012 at 06:21 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,342
# 18
11-26-2012, 02:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewstelamon01 View Post
Ouch. According to the sticky here, your nettest readings are way, WAY below what they should be.

Columns 1 and 3 should be 300-500 KB/sec (values in blue), and your middle column should be 20KB/s (values in green). Are you sure your ISP isn't throttling your connection speed?
That could be very possible. Last night (forgot to comment on it) was very good night playing. No interuptions what so ever. No lag nothing. Ill continue to observe see how it plays through. Hopefully no more lag.

If my ISP is throttling my speed, theyll be getting a throttling from me
Like my Fan Page Here
xXLocutusXx
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 186
# 19
11-26-2012, 07:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlocutusofborgx View Post
Took some screenies...

This is where It stops so many times and i get server disconnect issues..
http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x...oisgarbage.png


And this is normal..
http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x...isgarbage2.png


Also several speed tests to confirm my end speeds.
http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x.../speedtest.png

ive also defragged, virus scanned, everything else you can think of on my system so its not me lol.
Does this happen whenever you change instances (go from one map to another, beam down, enter stfs, etc.)?

If you haven't already, open your game launcher, click on options, then make sure "Disable on-demand patching" is checked. The game will then download a 4gb patch. For me, waiting to download 4GB was more than worth eliminating the endless downloads between instances.

If you already had that checked, then there is another problem...like the one I am having tonight. I usually lag and rubberband a lot during the weekends or evenings during peak usage time. STO's netcode isn't that great in that it requires much more data transfer than most online games.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.