Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 955
# 11
11-23-2012, 10:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by l2veyron View Post
I have a noob question relating to my BO's but not allowed to start a thread? anyway i cant assign my tac or science officers into my stations and from reading it would seem its because ive ranked them up and the stations are for ensigns, BUT, i have an engineer in an ensign slot no prob who is lt rank? and on other parts of the forum ppl say u can put higher ranks into low rank slots you'll just lose access to the higher rank space ability. Now here is my question, if you get access to your officers abilities in space by putting them in stations, why is it i can use my BO's unlocked abilities in space who aren't even in a station at all and why can i assign a lt engineer into an ensign slot but not my lt tac or science officer into an ensign slot as well?

Please help lol
You are misunderstanding how Bridge Stations work. Bridge Stations have 2 attributes the class/career of the Bridge officer that is allowed to be assigned to it and a rank. Allowable Bridge Officers (BOFFs) will be Tactical, Engineering, Science or Universal. If the allowed BOFF are career specific, you can only assign a BOFF of that career to that station; i.e. you can only assign an Engineering BOFF to an Engineering Bridge Station. Rank does not matter in this regard. You can assign any Bridge Officer to a Universal Station.

Rank of the Station comes into play when determining which abilities of the assigned BOFF can be used. The Rank of a Station is the highest ranked abilities of the BOFF that can be used. So if you assign a Commander rank BOFF to a Lieutenant Rank Bridge Station, you will only be able to used the Ensign and Lieutenant rank abilities of the BOFF. Likewise, you can slot an Ensign ranked BOFF into a Commander Rank station, but you'll only be able to use the Ensign rank abilitiy of the BOFF So the rule of thumb is that the higher of the Rank of the Station or the Rank of the Bridge Officer determined the most powerful ability of the Bridge Officer assigned to the station.

Extra Commissioned Bridge Officers (i.e. BOFF on the left side of the Stations window) which are not assigned to a Bridge Station don't have any affect in space. However you can change Station assignments anytime you are not in combat.
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
# 12
11-23-2012, 12:44 PM
I am tryin to put the correct type of officer in the correct station, tac in tac and so on im not that stupid lol. I have a Lt tac officer with high yield beam and beam overload powers and according to my ships station screen the tac slot is empty, my tac officer is in the available officer list to the left and yet in combat i have both powers on my power tray that i use all the time? The stations are also empty below my power tray while in ship view. Others have said they cant get there officers to go into the stations and several fixes have been posted and ive tried them with no success. As it stands im not losing any powers its just very annoying that i cant fix this bug.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
# 13
11-25-2012, 05:28 AM
well, as some1 xplained to me, for Empty BOFF slot and problems with those, as it is well known bug no1 is repairing - try this --->

go to Shipyard, pick any of ur smaller ships and arrange ur BOFFs there ---> switch back to ship u want them on (no need to go on ur ship to do that ofc.) and it should work then, u will be able to pick who and where u want them ... that kinda resets them .

tested. works.
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
# 14
11-25-2012, 08:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangolight View Post
Note free players don't get more than 5 BOff slots total without going gold at some point or buying extra slots from the C-Store.
Wrong, free players get 6 BOff slots total. Enough for 2 of each type of officer.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
# 15
11-25-2012, 09:56 AM
I've made it a personal practice, as a F2Per, to buy the 2 bridge officer slots option from the c-store on all my characters as soon as I created them. That way I can have 2 tactical, 2 engineering, and 2 science BOFFs. It gives you flexability in your away teams, and allows you to try out the different types of ship types (escorts, cruisers, and science vessels) as you level up.
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
# 16
11-27-2012, 04:28 PM
Ok I'm in the same boat cant create a thread but this one is close to my question anyways.

I'm new lieutenant (5) and have 3 BO's a tactical,science and engineer. I got the tactical officer first from the tutorial and the other 2 from completing the freighter mission after leaving earth starbase.

I have noticed though that my Tactical Officer earns WAY more skill points then the other two. I spent all of the points originally for my tactical officers and after completing a few missions my engingeer and science have like 175 skill points while my tactical racked up over 1000 points.

So my question is why is this? and how do i earn more points for my other 2 BO's as my tactical officer has maxed out one of her ensign skills and has almost maxed out her 2nd one, where as my engineer and science only have 1 point in each other theirs.
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
# 17
11-27-2012, 09:02 PM
Having the same issue here. I have a lt and ensign engineer station with respective officers that i can switch to whichever engineer station I want. then i have and ensign tac station that I can't put my lt tac officer at and and ensign science station that I can't put my science ensign at. What gives? Please help!
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
# 18
11-28-2012, 06:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearhart3 View Post
Ok I'm in the same boat cant create a thread but this one is close to my question anyways.

I'm new lieutenant (5) and have 3 BO's a tactical,science and engineer. I got the tactical officer first from the tutorial and the other 2 from completing the freighter mission after leaving earth starbase.

I have noticed though that my Tactical Officer earns WAY more skill points then the other two. I spent all of the points originally for my tactical officers and after completing a few missions my engingeer and science have like 175 skill points while my tactical racked up over 1000 points.

So my question is why is this? and how do i earn more points for my other 2 BO's as my tactical officer has maxed out one of her ensign skills and has almost maxed out her 2nd one, where as my engineer and science only have 1 point in each other theirs.
I made the same error when I started playing just a little over a week ago, the skill points you can allocate to your Bridge Officers come from a shared pool, they don't each have a skill point pool of their own.
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
# 19 Ensign bridge officers?
01-20-2013, 05:58 AM
I have an un-used bridge slot for an ensign, I have an ensign tactical, but bound, no duty officer seems to be accepted in the un-used universal slot.
How do I remedy this?
All of my bridge officers have been promoted in full and I'm an Admiral. (Engineer)
My first officer is not reconmending any to me either. I have turned this option off now for now. HELP!

Last edited by jons3; 01-20-2013 at 06:06 AM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 114
# 20
01-20-2013, 09:42 AM
the universal ensign boff slot can be - as the name says - assigned with ANY Boff (tactical, engineer or science). It has nothing to do with DOffs.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 AM.