Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,679
# 31
11-30-2012, 06:57 PM
At this point I haven't logged into the game yet or downloaded the patch but I wanted to give some info based on my experience with this mission.

#1) The 20 hour cooldown timer doesn't start until AFTER you talk to the contact and claim the reward. About a week ago I hit tier 2 and tried this mission when I found it bugged. I dropped the mission and was able to take it again right away. Did this until I managed to complete the mission after the 3rd try.

#2) Someone posted a workaround somewhere on the forums that seemed to work for me. When you first enter the mission your mission says something like "investigate the cave" or something. At the end of the tunnel where you spawn at the entrance of the mission, a group of Tal Shiar spawn and start coming toward you. At the end of this tunnel when you get there your mission updates to clear out the Tal Shiar. (After the tunnel is a large open area that has a group of enemies near consoles to click on and the first prisoner)

The workaround: As soon as you enter the mission run straight to the end of the tunnel and don't kill any enemies until you hit the trigger that updates your mission objective. Even with bridge officers not set to passive you should be able to get past the first group to hit the objective update. When I did this the last time I met the enemies right at the ened of the tunnel and triggered it just after I came into contact with them. (Press the Shift key -by default- to make your character run faster for those who may not know) *Note: this may not work for everybody*

What they need to do is either place the location of the "trigger" that updates your objective closer to your spawn in point at the mission entrance, add it to the first group of enemies to where it updates your mission as soon as you come into contact with them, or just remove the first objective to "investigate" or whatever it is and have your first objective be to defeat the Tal Shiar.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 142
# 32
11-30-2012, 07:21 PM
Or they just fix it.
It is only a mission, the amount of bugs in this game is crazy.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 94
# 33
11-30-2012, 08:04 PM
So, I tried this mission out, I had no idea it was broken.

The first time, I couldn't seem to kill all the Tal'shiar agents. did a search and found this thread..

so the next time, I ran into the first patrol, and that part completed fine.

Then it got stuck on "recover stolen data"

The only inteactive console on the map is the cloaking device thing.

How did this mission miss a QA pass.. twice?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,450
# 34
11-30-2012, 09:19 PM
5th time through , using the "workaround" I finally got the mission to complete.
Set all my Boffs to passive , trucked it into the 1st camp until all the mission objectives popped, then clicked off passive and bled some Tal Shiar and Hirogen into the dirt. For the 5th Kazzafargin time. And finally it completed.

We should not have to be using this "workaround" in order to make the mission work.
I for example HAD to set my Boffs to passive or I couldn't get to the point where the objectives revealed without them killing someone.

It's a lame bug with a lame workaround.

Boo.
Thumbs Down.
1 Star rating if you were in the Foundry.
2 because the music on New Romulus is now cooler than ice cream.

Initial Cutscene = Thumbs Up.
Hidden Camera = Thumbs Up.
Warehouse = Thumbs Up
Second Cutscene = which you must do mountain pass to see ... Thumbs Up
Mountain Pass = Thumbs , Both Of Em, WAAAY Down

This has killed my excitement, what there was of it, surrounding New Romulus and the "story" of Season 7. It just grinds the momentum to a halt. Pretty fully. I couldn't care less anymore.

Can we has a working Foundry back now please?
Pretty Please ?
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,065
# 35
12-01-2012, 02:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwebranflakes View Post
Quick question -- did you drop the mission and then re-take it before completing it? That may do the trick Let us know.

Cheers,

Brandon =/\=
Yes, on tries 5,6,7 and 8. Giving up at this point.


Brandon - do you get the rising level of frustration?

Last edited by ddesjardins; 12-01-2012 at 02:19 AM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 44
# 36
12-01-2012, 02:46 AM
It's been improved - didn't bug for me - but I can see how some high DPS players could still massacre the first mob before the "Subdue Agents" popup occurs. Moving them further back has helped, but a team with sniper rifles could still take 'em out too early.

Perhaps initiate the popup from the first Romulan casualty? Or when they aggro?

Should add that I've tried multiple ways of completing the View Logs/Free Prisoners bits and these don't seem to matter - I never even view the cutscene these days - it was killing the first group prior to the objective popping up that was the issue. There was also a problem with Seeker Drones or other Engineer toys becoming allies if their owner was killed before they were, but this doesn't seem to be an issue lately.

Last edited by matth431; 12-01-2012 at 03:40 AM.
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 322
# 37
12-01-2012, 04:16 AM
Yesterday first try and i have finished it. Had problems on elite setting, but finish was without problems.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
# 38
12-01-2012, 08:12 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hippiejon View Post
Mountain Pass on New Romulus still broken and not completing when all Tal Shiar are dead despite patch notes that say this was fixed.
Ok, PLEASE LISTEN CRYPTIC! I have gotten to the end of this mission as well. the last console to access does not complete the mission.

ALSO CRYPTIC PAY ATTENTION TO THIS GLITCH>>>> Make it so you do not have to pick up the local Mountain pass mission in order to get into the instance of this mission. It did not say anywhere in the mission description that you had to pick up the local mountain pass mission in order to get this instance button to show up. please fix this oversight!>>>>>>>>
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 243
# 39
12-01-2012, 08:45 AM
worked fine for me today
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 712
# 40
12-02-2012, 03:58 AM
Just wanted to add my report. Played this for the first time tonight and fell foul of the Tal Shiar kills not registering for Subdue Tal Shiar Agents. Dropped the mission, went back, and it was going to do it again, but I managed to get my away team into passive mode and ran through them to get the mission to update. It was a close run thing though, and certainly not "fixed".

Also, the enemy NPCs in this mission border on the ridiculous. My away team can usually handle itself pretty well against all comers, but we were dropping like flies in this mission. The standard Tal Shiar mobs were firing a weapon that one hit killed three of my BOFFs in one strike. The Hirogen at the top of the hill killed us four times in sucession on the first run, and three times on the second, by which point they had pushed us so far down the hill that we were respawning behind them! Most of the time the Hirogen were killing BOFFs with full health and shields in one round of shots. There's no way that can be right.

This character is why I don't play my Romulan any more. Tovan Khev is NOT my BFF! Get him off my bridge!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.