Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,922
# 11
12-05-2012, 12:41 AM
Ironically, it's very much those "minor improvements" which would make the game a whole lot better. It's not another lockbox ship, it's not another "squish the bugs" minigame or another enemy to fight.

Star Trek is actually a very minimalistic setting, just look at how it all started. It's not that it has to be a huge, bombastic effect but it's the minor details that make the game feel "right". The best Trek games were the point and click adventures back in the 90s and those used 2D handmade animations. Some of the best games of all times are open-ended games like "Pirates!" or "Mount and Blade" which offer a better feel of exploration and advacnement than a game called Star Trek Online which is about a franchise which was dedicated to the idea of EXPLORING the unknown. And those games, again, offer not as much on the large scale but a million small details which make them feel "cozy".
-> STO players unite and say NO to ARC <- -> Click if you prefer the old forum design! <-
-----------------------------------------------------------------
"No. Men do not roar. Women roar. Then they hurl heavy objects... and claw at you." -Worf, son of Mogh

Last edited by angrytarg; 12-05-2012 at 12:44 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,498
# 12
12-05-2012, 04:40 AM
What is this Viewscreen you are talking about?

i do not have such a thing on my Bridge!

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/srbtl5r...3020394158.png

the icing on the cake:

i fly the Fleet Scourge and it doesn't let me change anything in the Ship Tailor either,
without me buying the Tier 4 C-Store Scourge or i get this error:

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/1e5p6l0...3020335504.png

soo that Char/Ship is stuck with the Default Bridge forever and it does not even have a Viewscreen!


If they don't take the time to fix things like this (at least broken since Season 6, viewscreen maybe before that?) then why would you think that they invest time to hook up random animated pictures to so many Bridge-"Maps"

- that would require at least one picture for every sector/map your ship can be in (at least the major sectors).
- animated pictures are made up of 4 pictures, (think animated gif), so it would not look good either.
- it needs to be hooked up to every Bridge in the game (thats a lot of "Maps"), and the viewscreens have different sizes / forms, some even have different Pictures (because nobody ever thought to streamline the viewscreens in preperation for any upgrades to the game *duh*).
- and finally there needs to be code that lets the bridge-map know in what map the spaceship currently is to show the correct animated picture on the viewscreen...


so we need 1 texture guy (Thomas?) to make nice viewscreen pics of every sector
we need 1 Map artist (Taco?) to touch up the Bridge Viewscreens... on all 50 or so bridges (sounds boring)
and one Coder who supplies a bit of code with an extra "ship-location" variable that tells the interior what location the ship is in... plus a short list of all pictures and locations...
and if the locations is not known a default in-warp picture.


sounds to me like maybe 2-3 days of work for these 3 people.

do-able? yes... priority? none.



now if somebody could fix my viewscreen?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 352
# 13
12-05-2012, 05:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerobang View Post
What is this Viewscreen you are talking about?

i do not have such a thing on my Bridge!

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/srbtl5r...3020394158.png

the icing on the cake:

i fly the Fleet Scourge and it doesn't let me change anything in the Ship Tailor either,
without me buying the Tier 4 C-Store Scourge or i get this error:

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/1e5p6l0...3020335504.png

soo that Char/Ship is stuck with the Default Bridge forever and it does not even have a Viewscreen!


If they don't take the time to fix things like this (at least broken since Season 6, viewscreen maybe before that?) then why would you think that they invest time to hook up random animated pictures to so many Bridge-"Maps"

- that would require at least one picture for every sector/map your ship can be in (at least the major sectors).
- animated pictures are made up of 4 pictures, (think animated gif), so it would not look good either.
- it needs to be hooked up to every Bridge in the game (thats a lot of "Maps"), and the viewscreens have different sizes / forms, some even have different Pictures (because nobody ever thought to streamline the viewscreens in preperation for any upgrades to the game *duh*).
- and finally there needs to be code that lets the bridge-map know in what map the spaceship currently is to show the correct animated picture on the viewscreen...


so we need 1 texture guy (Thomas?) to make nice viewscreen pics of every sector
we need 1 Map artist (Taco?) to touch up the Bridge Viewscreens... on all 50 or so bridges (sounds boring)
and one Coder who supplies a bit of code with an extra "ship-location" variable that tells the interior what location the ship is in... plus a short list of all pictures and locations...
and if the locations is not known a default in-warp picture.


sounds to me like maybe 2-3 days of work for these 3 people.

do-able? yes... priority? none.



now if somebody could fix my viewscreen?
I don't even think they need to make a Animated screen for the players. I myself am rarely on the bridge so I couldn't care what is on a view screen. But the system already marks what areas of the game you are in hence when it puts you on the bridge and then drops you back where you last Where. What they could do is just make a default image for each sector and main hub. They do not have to do 50 Bridges because For the most part the bridges are all the same just with different colorings. What you can do is Make your images and just paste them into the Bridge maps Based upon the area you are in. If your at DS9 the map sends you to a DS9 visualed Map. Simple Cut and Paste of Bridge Designs and an adding of coding that Says if you leave to your bridge from X map, It pops you on X bridge with X visual on the screen. The only thing that has to be done is make the Images for each of the main Default Bridges for each designated Area and then Paste the made image to all the varients of that bridge pack.
For Example If you are at DS9 ( on station or in Orbit) and you goto the Bridge, you can just have a Picture of ds9 up on the Screen Like Games of the old, One stationary Image. Hell it's stationary Now, Just ad a image from where they are at. Again Only do it for the main hubs. If you are in Sector space, Just have Stars. If you are ESD have a picture of Earth or ESD itself, if at DS9 you see DS9, if at Qo'Nos you see Qo'nos. I think a Simple change will quiet the ones wanting to see a visual. With the factor that honestly there are not many different bridges out there, This can simply be Cut and Pasted into different packs to insert into the system.
Proud Fleet Commander in Garfon's Renegades!
Proud Leader of the Massive Chaos Group
Proud Listener of Subspace-Radio.net The Voice of Star Trek Online.
http://massivechaos.enjin.com/
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 549
# 14
12-05-2012, 07:01 AM
The solution could simply be to make the viewscreen represented by the dialogue interface, kind of like perpetual did in their concept pieces.

Like this one.

Not actually on the bridge, but we clearly get an impression that a communication via our bridge's viewscreen is going on. That'd be a step up from the boring bust and blank backgrounds we presently get.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 40
# 15
12-05-2012, 07:40 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kagurazaka77 View Post
They do give us a few nice things. For instance, on DS9, you can see the wormhole opening and closing out the windows every now and then.
Is it possible to go through the wormhole? I've never tried it but kind of wondered if it was functional.
Vice Admiral Duane Gundrum, U.S.S. Sarbonn-D
Vice Admiral Ventaxa Proxmire, U.S.S. Never Surrender
Blog: http://www.littlesarbonn.com/blog
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=93579366000&dateline=  1354720945
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 352
# 16
12-05-2012, 07:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesarbonn View Post
Is it possible to go through the wormhole? I've never tried it but kind of wondered if it was functional.
Only in Operation Gama at the moment.
Proud Fleet Commander in Garfon's Renegades!
Proud Leader of the Massive Chaos Group
Proud Listener of Subspace-Radio.net The Voice of Star Trek Online.
http://massivechaos.enjin.com/
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 687
# 17
12-05-2012, 10:33 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by umaeko View Post
The solution could simply be to make the viewscreen represented by the dialogue interface, kind of like perpetual did in their concept pieces.

Like this one.

Not actually on the bridge, but we clearly get an impression that a communication via our bridge's viewscreen is going on. That'd be a step up from the boring bust and blank backgrounds we presently get.
Now that could be a neat solution.
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,917
# 18
12-05-2012, 01:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerobang View Post
What is this Viewscreen you are talking about?

i do not have such a thing on my Bridge!

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/srbtl5r...3020394158.png

the icing on the cake:

i fly the Fleet Scourge and it doesn't let me change anything in the Ship Tailor either,
without me buying the Tier 4 C-Store Scourge or i get this error:

http://i.imagebanana.com/img/1e5p6l0...3020335504.png

soo that Char/Ship is stuck with the Default Bridge forever and it does not even have a Viewscreen!


If they don't take the time to fix things like this (at least broken since Season 6, viewscreen maybe before that?) then why would you think that they invest time to hook up random animated pictures to so many Bridge-"Maps"

- that would require at least one picture for every sector/map your ship can be in (at least the major sectors).
- animated pictures are made up of 4 pictures, (think animated gif), so it would not look good either.
- it needs to be hooked up to every Bridge in the game (thats a lot of "Maps"), and the viewscreens have different sizes / forms, some even have different Pictures (because nobody ever thought to streamline the viewscreens in preperation for any upgrades to the game *duh*).
- and finally there needs to be code that lets the bridge-map know in what map the spaceship currently is to show the correct animated picture on the viewscreen...


so we need 1 texture guy (Thomas?) to make nice viewscreen pics of every sector
we need 1 Map artist (Taco?) to touch up the Bridge Viewscreens... on all 50 or so bridges (sounds boring)
and one Coder who supplies a bit of code with an extra "ship-location" variable that tells the interior what location the ship is in... plus a short list of all pictures and locations...
and if the locations is not known a default in-warp picture.


sounds to me like maybe 2-3 days of work for these 3 people.

do-able? yes... priority? none.



now if somebody could fix my viewscreen?

I think you're vastly oversimplifying the issue. The tech required is likely much more than 2 days of work. Not a coder, so I don't know for sure, just basing this off of my previous experience with such endeavors.

Creating texutres requires loading each map and taking a proper screenshot at least, and could require more effort if we want anything fancier than that. That's probably 2-3 days, but could be much more.

Applying what is potentially 50-100 new system textures to 50 viewscreens, and hooking all of that up to work with this "new tech" is significantly more than 2 days of work. We basically have to duplicate the screen X times (X being the number of different images) and then tag each of those new screens with what it is, so the 'tech' can swap them out. Then we do that for each of 50+ bridges.

And all of that doesn't even take into consideration what you see when you look out a window. . .

Doable? yes. . . worthwhile? Questionable.

My main issue, as I've stated before, is that bridges are in a sad state already, and I would rather start over from scratch, include things like this, and do it right, than to try and hack this into an already limping system. But, that requires more time/work/effort/cheese.
-The Artist formerly known as Tumerboy



Quote:
Originally Posted by mightybobcnc View Post
Tacofangs, what is your beef with where's Sulu?
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 174
# 19
12-05-2012, 01:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacofangs View Post
My main issue, as I've stated before, is that bridges are in a sad state already, and I would rather start over from scratch, include things like this, and do it right, than to try and hack this into an already limping system. But, that requires more time/work/effort/cheese.
Did someone say cheese?
I am a Cheestah.
Check out my Foundry missions
Fed: "To Helna and Back", "Rema Donna", "Animations with Helna", "Mudd's Weapons", "Waiting for Wednesday", "Monolith"
KDF: "Time the Enemy", "Time the Ally", "Time the Traitor"
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 42
# 20
12-05-2012, 01:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacofangs View Post
I think you're vastly oversimplifying the issue. The tech required is likely much more than 2 days of work. Not a coder, so I don't know for sure, just basing this off of my previous experience with such endeavors.

Creating texutres requires loading each map and taking a proper screenshot at least, and could require more effort if we want anything fancier than that. That's probably 2-3 days, but could be much more.

Applying what is potentially 50-100 new system textures to 50 viewscreens, and hooking all of that up to work with this "new tech" is significantly more than 2 days of work. We basically have to duplicate the screen X times (X being the number of different images) and then tag each of those new screens with what it is, so the 'tech' can swap them out. Then we do that for each of 50+ bridges.

And all of that doesn't even take into consideration what you see when you look out a window. . .

Doable? yes. . . worthwhile? Questionable.

My main issue, as I've stated before, is that bridges are in a sad state already, and I would rather start over from scratch, include things like this, and do it right, than to try and hack this into an already limping system. But, that requires more time/work/effort/cheese.
Have to say I agree with Taco , a rebuild from the ground up is the best way to go here. Can't wait to see what the Neverwinter team is working on and what they can use in STO to make Ship Interiors a much better experience.
"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." Jean-Luc Picard
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 PM.