Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
# 71
12-09-2012, 06:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewstelamon01 View Post
Wow...and a one post wonder knows so much about computer programming that he can ascertain that it's not a person's computer configuration.

Translation of the above post: "I'm going to make bad press for PWE because even though they've come up with a solution that works for some, they didn't make MY PERSONAL COPY of STO work so I'm going to crap all over their game!!"

Learn about how computers work before posting such threats and drivel, eh? What works for one setup may not work for another, that's why tech support and engineering takes information for those that aren't working, tries to find a common denominator, then works on a fix for those still having the issue.

If you're still having the issue after the fix, send in a ticket to tech support with your dxdiag and hijackthis logs--pretty much like TS asks everyone else to do. They can't do much for those that it's not working for if they don't have the information to come up with a fix.



PC games don't have magic button solutions. They do, however, have thousands and thousands of lines of code. You try something, if it works, great. If not, you gather data on why it didn't work, and you design another fix. It's not something they can necessarily do at the snap of a finger.

Give them SOME credit: they came up with a partial fix. Just because it didn't fix YOUR issue doesn't mean that you should go and make all sorts of bad press for them.


i am a senior systems engineer with 23 years of experience so i have all the right to post and since i also pay for zen so keep your childish comment to your self

fix my issue its not just me mr half glass's over there have you notice that lots people got the same problem

the point here is pwe and sto need fix the dam problem asap or undo the last patch

Last edited by philip61; 12-09-2012 at 06:27 AM.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 72
12-09-2012, 01:17 PM
Wow, so if you're a "senior systems engineer" like you claim you are, then you should understand that fixing a problem isn't as easy as the drop of a hat and would understand that since computers have different configurations, what works for one setup may not work for another.

You build a fix, gather data for the systems that aren't working for that fix, and refine that fix. That's what an engineer would actually do, instead of rant about what doesn't work.

I don't need a fancy degree or years of experience to tell that much.

In other words, use the experience and intelligence you have instead of going off on a rant because your particular issue hasn't been fixed. Otherwise, I don't buy a second of it.

Your zen comment has been summarily ignored because it doesn't matter a whit. For the record, I buy zen for this game too.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
# 73
12-10-2012, 04:53 AM
ok guys here is the link to solve the launcher problem

http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4341

just follow that very close

just a thought too guys and girls i installed fresh copy and right now i am patching

Last edited by philip61; 12-10-2012 at 05:51 AM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 101
# 74 Dec 13 launcher update
12-14-2012, 08:09 AM
Hi all!

The first post is updated to the December 13 version of the launcher.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
# 75
12-14-2012, 01:10 PM
the Dec 13 launcher is still not working for me.
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
.. but I managed to figure out why it was crashing:

I had the game installed on a VFAT Partition still and not on NTFS .. the problem is that one of the files in the piggs subdirectory of the game has gotten to be >4GB --> which means the game can no longer be installed on a VFAT (FAT32) partition but only NTFS (or exFat,..).

maybe this helps someone else (the launcher just silently crashes and it took me trying to copy the files from another pc to realize what the problem was)
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
# 77 Stop blaming the wrong people!
12-18-2012, 12:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by philip61 View Post
this is not working for days tried everything there is no fix the launcher dont work new or old

its time for sto to fix this problem asap or people are going to leave

if they don't fix this in 48 hours and do compensation will face book pwe and sto as worst mmo in history for poor customer server


and as i said before if you paid life time membership for this mmo they will close and run away like they did in swg star wars galaxies they took lost people money then closed all servers

world know fact

time to go back to eve

and so people know its no the people computer the problem its sto and pwe bad launcher and bad last update
Phillip. It's NOT CRYPTIC'S FAULT, actually.

Cogent does their hosting.

One of Cogent's servers has failed (as revealed by a TRACERT).

Thus, it's COGENT'S fault, NOT CRYPTIC'S. (Champions Online is down too, for the same reason.) All Cryptic can do is wait for Cogent to get their s**t together.

Here's a sample from a TRACERT that I ran:

Tracing route to www.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms 10.100.210.1
2 8 ms 10 ms 8 ms 192.168.6.73
3 12 ms 12 ms 13 ms 192.168.101.53
4 30 ms 13 ms 11 ms xe-11-2-0.edge9.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.59.118.25]

5 13 ms 16 ms 11 ms ae-33-80.car3.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.145.133]

6 13 ms 11 ms 12 ms COGENT-COMM.car3.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.68.110.11
0]
7 13 ms 14 ms 14 ms te0-1-0-3.ccr21.dfw01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.7.37]
8 29 ms 31 ms 22 ms te0-3-0-6.ccr21.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.46.201]
9 66 ms 67 ms 67 ms te0-4-0-3.ccr21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.6.157]
10 56 ms 53 ms 53 ms te0-0-0-5.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.42.254]
11 54 ms 53 ms 54 ms te4-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.25
4]
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
# 78
12-20-2012, 07:32 PM
Here we go again...played the game just fine at like 6:30 tonight (Dec. 20, 2012), and went to play it again at about 7:15 and it wouldnt update the launcher again. SO, i ran the nettest thing, and port 7255 timed out.

I know that the 7255 port is what the patch server uses, however, i have port forwarding enabled on that port, so why it's timed out is beyond me...

Hopefully someone has a working exe and will be willing to share once agian...
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
# 79
12-20-2012, 08:38 PM
Hit me as well. I had no problems late evening. Now tonight it just gets to attempt 2 on the autoupdater and then errors out. Tried all the fixes other than leaving the router and modem offline for 8+ hours to hope for a new IP.
Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
# 80
12-20-2012, 08:56 PM
Hi guys ,can anyone upload the yesterdays update pls?
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 PM.