Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Hello, here are the details.


So far, since s7 went live, this has happened at nearly exactly the same point of the mission I am playing, Under Cover of Night. This has happened every time I have played over the last few weeks. I have no memory management software running anymore, and I have even switched computers entirely. The only things they share in common are that they are both Phenom II family CPUs with nVidia GTX grade video cards.


The crash dump analysis below is identical to all the other ones I have generated from this mission. There are other BSOD stop errors I am getting, but 0x50 is by far the most prominent and it is not limited to this mission.



Crash Dump Analysis provided by OSR Open Systems Resources, Inc. (http://www.osr.com)
Online Crash Dump Analysis Service
See http://www.osronline.com for more information
Windows 7 Kernel Version 7601 (Service Pack 1) MP (3 procs) Free x64
Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
Built by: 7601.17944.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333
Machine Name:
Kernel base = 0xfffff800`0304e000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`03292670
Debug session time: Fri Dec 7 01:53:39.316 2012 (UTC - 5:00)
System Uptime: 0 days 22:19:43.861
************************************************** *****************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
************************************************** *****************************

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: fffff88004de8d14, memory referenced.
Arg2: 0000000000000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: fffff800033becd7, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
address.
Arg4: 0000000000000000, (reserved)

Debugging Details:
------------------


Could not read faulting driver name
TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : e:\dump_analysis\program\triage\modclass.ini, error 2

WRITE_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff800032fc100
GetUlongFromAddress: unable to read from fffff800032fc1c0
fffff88004de8d14 Nonpaged pool

FAULTING_IP:
nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+1b7
fffff800`033becd7 668387c401000001 add word ptr [rdi+1C4h],1

MM_INTERNAL_CODE: 0

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: WIN7_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x50

PROCESS_NAME: GameClient.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: 0

TRAP_FRAME: fffff8800b147950 -- (.trap 0xfffff8800b147950)
NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
rax=fffffa80072de130 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=fffff8a00ce04220
rdx=0000000000000000 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
rip=fffff800033becd7 rsp=fffff8800b147ae0 rbp=0000000000000000
r8=0000000000000309 r9=0000000000000008 r10=0000000000000000
r11=00000000001f0003 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na po nc
nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+0x1b7:
fffff800`033becd7 668387c401000001 add word ptr [rdi+1C4h],1 ds:00000000`000001c4=????
Resetting default scope

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from fffff80003074eec to fffff800030ccfc0

STACK_TEXT:
fffff880`0b1477e8 fffff800`03074eec : 00000000`00000050 fffff880`04de8d14 00000000`00000001 fffff880`0b147950 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
fffff880`0b1477f0 fffff800`030cb0ee : 00000000`00000001 fffff880`04de8d14 fffffa80`06b66100 fffff8a0`0e3e2060 : nt! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x4514f
fffff880`0b147950 fffff800`033becd7 : fffff8a0`0e3e2060 fffffa80`04de8b50 fffffa80`06bd3500 00000000`00000001 : nt!KiPageFault+0x16e
fffff880`0b147ae0 fffff800`033bef95 : 00000000`00000000 fffff800`00100000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000001 : nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+0x1b7
fffff880`0b147bb0 fffff800`030cc253 : fffffa80`04de8b50 00000000`00000418 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`072de130 : nt!NtWaitForSingleObject+0x95
fffff880`0b147c20 00000000`748e2e09 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiSystemServiceCopyEnd+0x13
00000000`08d4ea08 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : 0x748e2e09


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+1b7
fffff800`033becd7 668387c401000001 add word ptr [rdi+1C4h],1

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 3

SYMBOL_NAME: nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+1b7

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: nt

IMAGE_NAME: ntkrnlmp.exe

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 503f82be

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x50_nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+1b7

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x50_nt!ObReferenceObjectByHandleWithTag+1b7

Followup: MachineOwner
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 432
# 2
12-10-2012, 02:34 PM
You'll need to identify which sticks of memory is bad by running memtest with one stick installed at a time. Once you have identified which stick(s) are bad, then you'll then need to get them replaced.

Sometimes there can be external factors which can cause these errors. Some BIOS allow you to alter the configuration of memory, but if these settings haven't been changed, then this is unlikely. Loading BIOS default settings would be a good idea just in case.

Physical memory configuration, such as memory installed in unsupported memory slots, mismatched memory. < Performing the test above will also help to rule out the same issue.

Also, I would never personally recommend mixing and matching memory. Try to make sure that any memory you buy is part of the boards HCL (Hardware Compatibility List), which can usually be found in the motherboard manual and/or on the manufacturers web site. If you decide to purchase a particular model of Corsair for example, try to stick with that model when you upgrade.

I recommend to users after resolving memory issues is a clean install. A common side affect of faulty memory is data corruption, depending on the severity and how long you have been running with the problem, data corruption can be quite nasty.
Click to visit Subspace-Radio
Twitter | Blog | Original Join Date: Dec 2007 | Gaming Setup | Raptr Profile | Gamer DNA
The opinions expressed in my posts are my own views and do not reflect on any other entity(s) or person(s) I may or may not represent at the time.

Last edited by th3xr34p3r; 12-10-2012 at 02:39 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
# 3
12-11-2012, 09:38 AM
Really? I went to the trouble of including a crash dump analysis and you don't think I have tried all the grade 1 stuff first? I posted here becuase I want new ideas, or more precisely, because I want PWE to fix their damn game.

Two different machines are doing this. One is a Phenom II 720BE w/ 4GB DDR2-800, the other is a Phenom II X4 960T w/ 16GB of DDR3-1600. Both run Win7 Ultimate 64bit.

They are both matched sets, duh. I was born at night, but not last night.

There is no bad memory in either, they have both been recently tested. Additionally, this is the ONLY game causing these BSODs. It always happens 5-10 minutes into the mission, and it always has the same address with the same markers.

I have done no less than 10 clean installs of this game trying to resolve this and other issues, including switching machines. It doesn't matter if I do a disc install then patch up or DL the latest install from the website.

This is not the fault of my equipment. If you are sugesting a clean windows install, I'll quit star trek first. So fed up with this.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
# 4
12-13-2012, 08:43 PM
So this appears to be an issue specific to 64 bit windows 7 ultimate, at least so far.

I have my 720 Phenom setup to dual boot XP and 7, so I dusted off XP, and updated everything, and had a go. Found out the launcher program relies on internet explorer, since I had it removed from my XP installation. Once I installed and updated Internet Explorer 8, everything worked fine. I'm happy to report I was able to make it through the Agrama mission without crashing while playing under XP, on the same computer that was unable to do so under Win 7 Ultimate. I have also tried the game on a brand new FX-6300 Game rig, and played flawlessly for hours running under Win 7 home premium.

I am going to try again with the latest patch under Win 7 ultimate.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
# 5
12-13-2012, 09:07 PM
So yeah, just crashed again under Win 7 Ultimate, same stop error, same markers. Only 5 minutes in, hadn't even left SB39 to go to Agrama to try the same mission again.

Anyone else having problems under ultimate?

Last edited by eizen745; 12-13-2012 at 09:19 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
# 6
12-14-2012, 01:23 AM
Ran 2 more passes of memtest to be sure. still no errors.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 432
# 7
12-14-2012, 01:43 AM
Sorry for the late reply.
Since its on your ultimate install of 7 and you did the memtest without any issues this might be driver specific on that install only; head to http://www.osronline.com/page.cfm?name=analyze and upload your last 0x50 minidump (found under C:\Windows\Minidumps), should help pinpoint it; which after knowing what one will need to go into regedit and delete the related keys then run a repair.
Click to visit Subspace-Radio
Twitter | Blog | Original Join Date: Dec 2007 | Gaming Setup | Raptr Profile | Gamer DNA
The opinions expressed in my posts are my own views and do not reflect on any other entity(s) or person(s) I may or may not represent at the time.
Ensign
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
# 8
12-14-2012, 09:44 AM
The last 0x50 was identical to the OSR analysis in my original post.

I have dialed back my clock speed to the stock 2.8ghz (was 3.6, 24h p95 stable before) and ran the game for several hours last night, and 7 hours of Prime95 while I slept. I have already begun verification of drivers. What I don't get is why my XP installation, which hasn't been used very often of late, worked fine. All of the same hardware exists in both installations, and uses mostly the same drivers. Obviously 7 uses 64 bit drivers where applicable. Both have nVidia Forceware 306.97 and all the latest windows updates.

I don't think this is the solution, the slower clock speed will be less likely to crash on an error, true, but I think whatever is going on at those addresses is more to blame.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:47 PM.