Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
# 1 Patrols are for ####
12-19-2012, 12:58 PM
I have added patrols for a bunch of my missions and I am now in the process of removing them. They only fire-off haphazardly, they don't start moving until the player is within a certain range, they cause mobs to vanish under the floor on a lot of ground maps, etc.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,217
# 2
12-19-2012, 01:35 PM
I believe it was stated that they only work properly once the mission has been published.
Please fix the Foundry lag!
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
# 3
12-19-2012, 03:32 PM
I added them to almost all my missions and they didn't work correctly even when published. I have since gone back and removed them.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
# 4
12-19-2012, 03:35 PM
I have found patrols only properly work if they do not encounter any hostile units.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,217
# 5
12-19-2012, 05:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmotnahp View Post
I have found patrols only properly work if they do not encounter any hostile units.
Huh. Not much point in that, is there?
Please fix the Foundry lag!
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12,160
# 6
12-19-2012, 08:53 PM
One of the missions I played for the challenge, has patrols in a hallway. Very buggy behavior.... the guys walk down the hallway and disappear occasionally then reappear.... actually... I think they may have been going into the ceiling somehow.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 844
# 7
12-19-2012, 10:38 PM
You need to make sure you're setting the patrol point Y value relative to zero, as the other options don't work (it is set relative to zero anyway).

My observation is that the patrols seem to "start" when the map loads, but they don't actually appear until you get close to the group's spawn location. Which means they'll appear halfway through their route. I can't say for certain that's what's happening, but it seems like it. I haven't actually used any ground patrols for actual combat, so I can't comment on that.


Click here for my Foundry tutorial on Creating A Custom Interior Map.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,203
# 8
12-24-2012, 08:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmotnahp View Post
I have found patrols only properly work if they do not encounter any hostile units.
Hmmm, I found the opposite to be true.
KBF Lord MalaK
Awoken Dead

Contact support @ https://support.perfectworld.com/app/ask
to show your displeasure over the stealth mail attachment nerf
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 520
# 9
12-24-2012, 10:27 AM
They are utterly inconsistant, I had 3 patroled mobs (set-up the exact same way) all in the same area, doing looped routes in a series of concentric rings. The middle one works about half the time. The inner and outter ones worked for a short time then stopped working.

Patrols are broken.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 844
# 10
12-25-2012, 03:44 AM
So, has anyone had patrols actually work, or is it basically unanimous that they're broken? I seem to have had some success using them on space maps, but I haven't checked them out that thoroughly to make sure they're working 100%.


Click here for my Foundry tutorial on Creating A Custom Interior Map.

Last edited by nagorak; 12-25-2012 at 03:46 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.