Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 50
# 1 connection/login issues
12-28-2012, 04:56 PM
Methinks it's time for a server restart. I am having a great deal of trouble connecting to the log in, authentication and character servers and when I do manage to log into the game with a character I can't move or do anything. The server quits responding.

I have already checked with my service, checked other games and no issues there. Ran a ping test and had my service do a reset from their end.

It's all yours, boys.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,170
# 2
12-28-2012, 07:04 PM
I've had no problem at all playing STO this afternoon, so something else must be the problem. Run and post the results of the Net-Test and Trace Route diagnostics described in this thread... http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=225155

as a simple ping test just doesn't provide the necessary information to diagnose network issues...
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 184
# 3
12-28-2012, 08:06 PM
i have also been noticing some pretty near-crippling connection issues to STO


NOTHING ELSE IS AFFECTED HOWEVER, ONLY STO
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 4
12-28-2012, 11:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by argent007 View Post
i have also been noticing some pretty near-crippling connection issues to STO


NOTHING ELSE IS AFFECTED HOWEVER, ONLY STO
It doesn't matter "what else is affected", as different internet destinations by necessity travel different routes. What affects your route to STO doesn't necessarily affect your route to anywhere else.

Run the diagnostics specified in the above post and post the results.

Quote:
I have already checked with my service, checked other games and no issues there. Ran a ping test and had my service do a reset from their end.
Simply because your ping isn't timing out doesn't mean it's returning acceptable results. Any ISP tech rep that tells you to run only a simple ping test is usually a rep on the line who's just trying to get you off the phone and on to the next customer in line.

See my above paragraph for why "it works fine with other games" is completely irrelevant to the problem. (Yep, I'm blunt in saying this but I've heard it a hundred times by now.)

Also, a simple ping doesn't tell the whole story. A traceroute (as specified in the linky that otaku provided) tells how your data is getting there, and what stops it's making along the way.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting

Last edited by lewstelamon01; 12-28-2012 at 11:32 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
# 5
12-29-2012, 09:09 AM
I'm beeing randomly kicked off the server, have no problems logging in though. This started today saturday 29th. Played all night yesterday with no problems what so ever and usualy have a very stable game. I've run those two test we are asked to run and even tried to renew the ip wich you also suggest.

First the Nettest

unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 2.109.182.202
Ping: 125.0 msec
Port: 80: 303 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 224 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 195 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 240 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 156 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 216 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 172 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 120 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 173 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 186 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 221 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 243 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 173 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec

Tracer test

Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rettigheder forbeholdes.

C:\Users\Kardos4ever>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Sporer rute til patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over et maksimum af 30 hop:

1 10 ms 1 ms <1 ms sagembox.home [192.168.1.1]
2 20 ms 17 ms 18 ms ge-1-2-0-1103.espnqu1.dk.ip.tdc.net [87.60.64.33
]
3 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms ae1-0.alb2nqp7.dk.ip.tdc.net [83.88.21.83]
4 61 ms 214 ms 203 ms te1-4.ccr01.cph01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15
.9]
5 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr21.ham01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.72.210]
6 47 ms 53 ms 52 ms te0-4-0-4.ccr21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.60.173]
7 47 ms 42 ms 47 ms te0-2-0-2.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.37.86]
8 134 ms 133 ms 128 ms te0-4-0-2.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.197]
9 128 ms 132 ms 129 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
10 129 ms 140 ms 128 ms 38.111.40.114
11 128 ms 131 ms 132 ms 208.95.185.41
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
# 6
12-29-2012, 12:47 PM
Yep having pretty much the exact same issues here, no bother logging in and connecting but as soon as the map loads I have exactly 5 seconds before I get kicked off it again. Played it for 6 hours straight last night with no issues so I highly doubt it's on my end.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
# 7
12-29-2012, 03:16 PM
same here, really bad dc ever few mins not playable atm. I have played since beta and never had this. Its normal really stable to be fair.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,170
# 8
12-29-2012, 05:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zauldjamin View Post
I'm beeing randomly kicked off the server, have no problems logging in though. This started today saturday 29th. Played all night yesterday with no problems what so ever and usualy have a very stable game. I've run those two test we are asked to run and even tried to renew the ip wich you also suggest.

Tracer test
...
1 10 ms 1 ms <1 ms sagembox.home [192.168.1.1]
2 20 ms 17 ms 18 ms ge-1-2-0-1103.espnqu1.dk.ip.tdc.net [87.60.64.33
]
3 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms ae1-0.alb2nqp7.dk.ip.tdc.net [83.88.21.83]
4 61 ms 214 ms 203 ms te1-4.ccr01.cph01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15
.9]
5 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms te0-1-0-2.ccr21.ham01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.72.210]
6 47 ms 53 ms 52 ms te0-4-0-4.ccr21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.60.173]
7 47 ms 42 ms 47 ms te0-2-0-2.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.37.86]
8 134 ms 133 ms 128 ms te0-4-0-2.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.44.197]
9 128 ms 132 ms 129 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]

10 129 ms 140 ms 128 ms 38.111.40.114
11 128 ms 131 ms 132 ms 208.95.185.41
This is a on-going issue with the Cogent Communication Hub located in Boston. Take a look at this on-going thread in the PWE Tech Support Forum for the latest information concerning this issue...

http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

Also, have you tried the use of the US Proxy setting in the Launcher? Some users have found it useful as a temporary fix for this issue...
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,316
# 9
12-30-2012, 03:11 AM
Yep cant get past login, keeps giving me a white screen which the launcher should come up, and also launches IE for some odd reason.
Like my Fan Page Here
xXLocutusXx
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
# 10 Link two accounts.
12-30-2012, 08:13 AM
Can't link two accounts

My characters are gone ?

Any tech support can help?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.