Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 523
# 861
12-20-2012, 05:42 PM
1) Showstopper

2) ISSUE:

First thanks for working hard on the game but some of us are still being afflicted by the level 10+ bug for purchasing ZEN. It's impossible to circumvent this issue by purchasing directly through STO now. My first ticket for this was about a year ago and I was encouraged lately to log back in and play. Low and behold the same problem persists. I have lodged tickets directly through STO and PWE to get this resolved. I have cleared the browser and even gone so far as to reinstall the client. Am I missing anything. Ideas? estimated time of repair? Anything?

PS, please message me(anyone) if there's a fix for this I'm unaware of
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
# 862 400-day veteran showstopper
12-28-2012, 12:43 PM
I've been a pretty enthusiastic STO player since the beta, but i think I've hit a bit of a showstopper. About a year ago, i stopped logging in because I had level capped and there was no endgame content. Despite loving the gameplay and the story line, i figured things would get better if i was patient.

After a few months of waiting, I not only took the time to regain interest in the game, but also managed to convince my wife to give it a shot, since she was new to gaming and we wanted to try something together. What we encountered was a game that hiccups on the lowest graphics settings and hard-crashes on 10-minute intervals.

A bit of googleing showed that we were suffering from a bug that was discovered in 2010, and still has not been "solved" by cryptic, or the games current publishers. The "maxfps" issue caused some problems, but even when manually corrected, the game still crashed.

As for hardware type...it's irrelevant. I never have this problem with other games, nor my own graphics programming, and STO ran just fine on the same system from the Beta to season 2. Something your team added/changed screwed things up and you haven't yet figured out what it is.

I am an OpenGL graphics programmer, so i understand how difficult it is to create a 3D environment in a seamless manner. That difficulty aside, jesus people, get your **** together. Even my programs on the side as hobbies don't crash every ten minutes, your underlying engine is unstable and buggy as hell. Hire some people to get your stuff straight, or open source your engine and let someone like me (or any other capable fans) get it straight for you. Either way, consistent failure only makes you look pathetic, especially when people are offering to do it for you.

Thankfully, my wife hasn't sat down and tried playing herself, as I really don't want this glitchy and frustrating game to be her first taste of PC gaming. As I write this, I'm uninstalling STO from both of our computers, and I'm internally giving up on this hope. I'll be enjoying my time with my wife in some other fantasy world...your loss.
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
# 863
12-29-2012, 10:36 AM
I can't refine dilithium on around 5 of my characters.

It's a showstopper for me.

At this point I only log in to see if I can refine yet and then log out for another day.

Don't worry though, after a few more days I'll probably stop logging in alltogether.
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
March 6, 2014 - This problem still exists. Two known work arounds.

1) Join and complete a PvE. When you come back you can proceed past the trap point. - I can vouch I used this one.

2) Log Off and wait a couple hours, when you log back in you can proceed past trap point.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 AM.