Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 652
i am so sick of all the rubberbanding and lag spikes in this game.. it has been a problem since season3 almost what, 2 and half years ago...

now i know everyone is gonna say, hey, maybe its ur rig, internet connection, blah blah blah.. but i play 2 other games of equal quality to this game.. (rift, and swtor) and i do not rubberband or lag really at all in those two games.. not to mention, my computer is far superior to the requirments for this game, and it gets monthly tune ups, and software scans.. im kinda one of those if its new, its for me guys.. lol.. i am not running windows 8 either..

im just kinda sick of it, and i see other people complaining about it as well.. would be nice if for the three year anniversery, they get rid of a bug that has been alive almost as long as the game...

ok, rant done..
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 2
01-06-2013, 01:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttenham View Post
i am so sick of all the rubberbanding and lag spikes in this game.. it has been a problem since season3 almost what, 2 and half years ago...

now i know everyone is gonna say, hey, maybe its ur rig, internet connection, blah blah blah.. but i play 2 other games of equal quality to this game.. (rift, and swtor) and i do not rubberband or lag really at all in those two games.. not to mention, my computer is far superior to the requirments for this game, and it gets monthly tune ups, and software scans.. im kinda one of those if its new, its for me guys.. lol.. i am not running windows 8 either..

im just kinda sick of it, and i see other people complaining about it as well.. would be nice if for the three year anniversery, they get rid of a bug that has been alive almost as long as the game...

ok, rant done..
You're also missing the cause entirely.

It doesn't matter if you have the newest rig or a dinosaur. It doesn't matter if you can play a hundred games similar to this one. LATENCY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR HARDWARE!!!

With, perhaps, the sole exception of your network card, and those are pretty damned generically uniform across the board.

Latency (which is the cause of rubberbanding) is a network issue. Therefore, you'll need to be able to see what's going on with the data transmission between your PC and the game servers. Contrary to the belief of many players, there are a LOT more stops for data packets on the way than your PC and STO's servers. An issue with any one of those stops can mean significant latency/rubberbanding.

It does not matter if you can play Some Other MMO flawlessly. Those other games use different network segments to travel to their servers that the route between your PC and STO doesn't use. Therefore, they would not be affected by any possible issues along that route.

Run the diagnostics in the rubberbanding sticky. These are NETWORK diagnostic tests, designed for the purpose of diagnosing issues with NETWORK traffic. NOT YOUR HARDWARE.

Excuse my being blunt, but I'm one of those who have little tolerance for not doing the proper legwork before blaming the company.

It's hardly an issue that, in 95% of cases, the company can fix at any rate.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 74
# 3
01-06-2013, 01:25 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewstelamon01 View Post
It doesn't matter if you have the newest rig or a dinosaur. It doesn't matter if you can play a hundred games similar to this one. LATENCY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR HARDWARE!!!
As a fellow techsupportite, I do indeed feel your pain...

Been playing since launch.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 652
# 4
01-06-2013, 01:33 PM
i have done everything they have said to no avail. i have lived in two different states since i started playing. used three different internet providers..

the simple fact is, they did something along the line that kinda messed stuff up, and i have seen less rubberbanding, but it is still there, fairly regularly..

but again, i have run their diognostice, i have changed settings they have asked me too, and have done everything they have said in my past tickets.. nothing has changed.. therefore, my only guess is that it is on their end.. i am out of options as the player..

i understand how that can infuriate you, but the only reason i stated my rig was up to date was because that is the first question they asked me.. lol.. i have passed all diognostics. i only made my statemenst of it not being me cause it is not me... at first i thought it was, so i baught a new graphics card (not mad about it as it runs rift better lol.. i have even swapped out all of my ram.. and even got a new network card..

again, i have done EVERYTHING they have laid out on the table for me to do... i have even had friends who are tech support and software engineers check it out.. but i do grow tired that i have done my part, and appearently its not on my part..
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 98
# 5
01-06-2013, 01:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewstelamon01 View Post
You're also missing the cause entirely.

It doesn't matter if you have the newest rig or a dinosaur. It doesn't matter if you can play a hundred games similar to this one. LATENCY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR HARDWARE!!!

With, perhaps, the sole exception of your network card, and those are pretty damned generically uniform across the board.

Latency (which is the cause of rubberbanding) is a network issue. Therefore, you'll need to be able to see what's going on with the data transmission between your PC and the game servers. Contrary to the belief of many players, there are a LOT more stops for data packets on the way than your PC and STO's servers. An issue with any one of those stops can mean significant latency/rubberbanding.

It does not matter if you can play Some Other MMO flawlessly. Those other games use different network segments to travel to their servers that the route between your PC and STO doesn't use. Therefore, they would not be affected by any possible issues along that route.

Run the diagnostics in the rubberbanding sticky. These are NETWORK diagnostic tests, designed for the purpose of diagnosing issues with NETWORK traffic. NOT YOUR HARDWARE.

Excuse my being blunt, but I'm one of those who have little tolerance for not doing the proper legwork before blaming the company.

It's hardly an issue that, in 95% of cases, the company can fix at any rate.
Love it when ppl make an absolute statement "LATENCY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR HARDWARE!!!" Only to make that statement untrue in the next sentence.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 652
# 6
01-06-2013, 01:36 PM
i guess you can say i have done everything short of mail them my rig,, which i might just do to spite them hahaha.. jk...

and i dont appreciate being told i dont understand something when you dont know what my qualifications are lol.. i have worked closely with tech support in the past so i know whats it like to have people call, crap on you, and then find out they had something wrong on their end.. i understand completely...
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 7
01-06-2013, 01:43 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbehlpnu2012 View Post
Love it when ppl make an absolute statement "LATENCY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR HARDWARE!!!" Only to make that statement untrue in the next sentence.
And you felt the need to point that out why? Network cards are pretty universal--they're much the same on an uber expensive rig as they are on the wally world special.

So, perhaps some clarification should be made: The price of your rig or how expensive or "new" it is has nothing to do with latency. Since, after all, that's a common gripe that many posters like to use.

Having done tech support myself, rebuilt computers, and done networking myself, I'm pretty confident in my assessment of network cards as they relate to the age or price of a computer.

Better now?

To answer the OP:

In recent memory, there have also been several issues identified with the route to the servers, including a reoccurring issue with a data center in the Boston area, operated by Cogent Communications, specifically the bos06 relay. Run a trace and look for that specific hop, unless I'm mistaken it's in the neighborhood of hop 12-14.

Every time I've gotten any sort of rubberbanding (and it's happened to me too), usually the first thing I run is a traceroute because I like to be able to see what's going on with the route between my PC and STO. In 90% of those traces, that relay was the problem. There was the occasional one or two where that relay was fine, but I'd chalk that up to a possible bottleneck with that relay clearing up at precisely that moment.

Hell, there were even times I kept a command prompt window open while running STO just to be able to run a quick trace when needed.

PWE has attempted to work with Cogent on this issue, but it doesn't seem to be working so well.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting

Last edited by lewstelamon01; 01-06-2013 at 01:54 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 652
# 8
01-06-2013, 01:59 PM
which i live 30 minutes from boston.. they have told me of this issue before.. that is why its been almost three years since i have complained.. i have been told time and time again that they experience problems with "mirrors" all over the place..

and i even second guessed if i had done enouph on my end cause i moved to minn. and experienced the same problems.. so once again, i tore my machine a new A**hole so to speak lol.. rewiped my hard drive, started over.. did everything i have been told by cryptic, friends, even the tech guy i work with.. and still no answer..

and the thing that made me doubt in the past weather it was me or them was i have friends who dont have rubberbanding issues, fleeties, and whatnot.. but i am 150% confident it is not me anymore..

also, i know to most that it doesnt matter that i can play other games such as rift latency free, but the only thing in the whole wide world that i experience latencey with is sto.. my vent, teamspeak, normal internet operations, wow, tor, rift, upload download, is uneffected by latency..

and i know that the quality of my rig (good or bad) has little effect on latencey. the only reason i bring it up is it was one of the first things they looked at.. asking me about my ram, my processor, my graphics card, my cooling.. making sure that i wasnt experiencing something that wasnt latencey before trouble shooting it..

but it is irritating, and seems to be getting worse.. so i would hope that they could come up with a fix, and if this company in boston doesnt want to fix it, then find out who other gaming companies use, and make a contract with them... lol.. cause they dont have the same problems..
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
# 9
01-07-2013, 12:53 PM
We all know Cryptics servers are a joke Personally i've gave up with it
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 59
# 10
01-08-2013, 02:48 PM
I just recently started experiencing this too, and I know for a fact it's not my hardware, which is all BRAND NEW! I have ran all of the diagnostics, and even consulted with my ISP. Mind you, my tablet and xbox run on the same connection, as does my 55' smart TV. So cryptic may seriously need to do some investigating into the numerous complaints they've been getting about this issue. Oh, and also, I keep getting kicked from the server (now 20 times within the last six hours), and it's honestly frustrating! Can someone please help?!
Vice Admiral Thylek Shran- U.S.S. Omega (Odyssey Class Battleship) United Federation Space Command
Vice Admiral T'vix RRW Talon (Scimitar Drednought)
General S'tal IKS Q'vat (Bortasq' Battle Cruiser)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 AM.