Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 394
I've recently started creating a mission of my own, and everything was going rather well until I dropped a console into the map, only to discover that when I tested the map, the console was almost entirely underground.

I have it's location set to 0 on the Y scale (where Y is referring to the terrain height, supposedly), and I can see the top of the console sticking out of the ground, but I can't seem to be able to move it up so it is resting on the ground instead of being buried.

I've tried increasing the Y value, but whenever I do that, it resets the value to 0 as soon as I leave the box.

Anyone able to tell me how to fix this please?
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,827
# 2
01-11-2013, 07:57 AM
Which map and which console are you using?

In the meantime, there's a couple things to try:

- Turn off "snap to grid" it's one of the three or so buttons on the top right of the map screen.

- Hit enter after you put a value into the Y box instead of clicking outside the box to exit.

- If you haven't already, try a small value, like 1. All of the maps have a ceiling that you can't go past. It's fairly low on interior maps for obvious reasons and quite high on ground maps.

For example I was trying to put something way up in the air on a ground map recently (I forget which one) and I was trying to put in 500 for the Y and it kept resetting to about 360. I kept banging my head against the wall until I realized it must be hitting the ceiling on the map and it must be lower on this map than a lot of others. So I changed it to 200 and it accepted it just fine.
The Foundry Roundtable live Wednesdays at 7:30PM EST/4:30PM PST on twitch.tv/thefoundryroundtable
Forum Logic dictates that if the devs don't do what a poster wants, they therefor actively hate what that poster is advocating for. Forum Logic =/= Real Logic
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 522
# 3
01-11-2013, 10:00 AM
Sanp to grind is a pretty awful feature that defaults to "on" whenever you open the foundry. As soon as you open your first map you should make a habbit of turning it off.

Also, beneath the coordinates there is a dropdown menu that will allow you to set how the foundry determains your "Y" position (i.e. from 0 altitude, from terrain...)
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,827
# 4
01-11-2013, 10:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajstoner View Post
Sanp to grind is a pretty awful feature that defaults to "on" whenever you open the foundry.
It can be useful for quick wall placement, but I wish it was off by default so I could turn it on only when i wanted it.
The Foundry Roundtable live Wednesdays at 7:30PM EST/4:30PM PST on twitch.tv/thefoundryroundtable
Forum Logic dictates that if the devs don't do what a poster wants, they therefor actively hate what that poster is advocating for. Forum Logic =/= Real Logic
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12,679
# 5
01-11-2013, 03:10 PM
Agreed. And "snap to angle" which is right next to it. Both have uses, but I'd rather they were off by default.

Me, I usually click in x or z after changing y manually. Or vice versa. Whatever you do, do NOT click in the map immediately after manually typing in a new number.

Also, some maps have a surprisingly high 0 altitude. The Vulcan ground map is one.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,827
# 6
01-11-2013, 03:44 PM
Yeah on Vulcan, 0 is at the top of the stairs.
The Foundry Roundtable live Wednesdays at 7:30PM EST/4:30PM PST on twitch.tv/thefoundryroundtable
Forum Logic dictates that if the devs don't do what a poster wants, they therefor actively hate what that poster is advocating for. Forum Logic =/= Real Logic
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,413
# 7
01-11-2013, 04:58 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by drogyn1701 View Post
Yeah on Vulcan, 0 is at the top of the stairs.
This is very good to know.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
# 8
01-11-2013, 05:10 PM
and if you're using the Odyssey Bridge, -5 gets you to the area below the main floor.
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=34676144000&dateline=  1356220537
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,048
# 9
01-11-2013, 07:41 PM
The battle of a foundry author is a battle against the Y, the evil demonic force that obeys its own logic. Turn snap to grid off... first thing to do when you launch the foundry. Then, maybe the battle with the dreaded Y can happen.
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 394
# 10
01-12-2013, 04:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by drogyn1701 View Post
- Hit enter after you put a value into the Y box instead of clicking outside the box to exit.
This suggestion worked. Who'd have thought it would be so simple, lol?

Thanks for all the ideas though, guys
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:36 AM.