Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lieutenant
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
# 1 Diplomatic Investigation Missions
01-11-2013, 08:02 PM
I received my tier three diplomacy rating a while ago and one of the benefits of this rating is to get First Contact Missions.

Since then I've gotten one in the past 4-6 weeks I've been this ranking (don't recall exact date).

My question is, should they be this rare and hard to get or is this a bug?

The only thread on this I could find was: sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=325871 and it had no feedback at all.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 345
# 2
01-12-2013, 10:51 PM
I have the same issue.
I haven't seen any First Contact Mission since the day after season 6 went live. I was able to do only 3 of them before that day
In every time,
in every place,
the deeds of men
remain the same...
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,336
# 3
01-12-2013, 11:07 PM
Not 100% sure about this so I probably shouldn't post..

But I thought you got the option to do those missions upon entering one of the nebulae or "black sectors". Try go to one of them and see if you don't get the button?

--

Also found this guide (from 2011):

http://fleet.stonewallgaming.net/dip...uide#section-4
Lieutenant
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 60
# 4
01-13-2013, 07:32 PM
I probably should have titled this First Contact instead of Dip investigations
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 181
# 5
01-27-2013, 05:43 PM
I've only received one first contact mission too. I thought we'd get more than just the one mission
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,566
# 6
01-27-2013, 06:23 PM
Firdst Contact missions have been broken in this way since Season 4. Plenty of players have /bugged it, yet the issue persists, so obviously, it's either VERY VERY VERY low priority; or Cryptic has no clue how to repair the problem.

(And it's the same with the 'Borg Red Alerts where the button has just popped up in your instance - you press it immediately - yet find yourself in an EMPTY/devoid of Borg enemies instance -- and they used the same broken code base for Tholian Red Alerts as the above happens with them too - but this is also a case of something that has been brokn and /bugged by players since Season 4; yet no fix has been forthcoming.)

The Devs may not realize the bugs still exist as they probably don't attempt to play the content much themselves; and after spending time doing NUMEROUS tickets on the subject, they may not be seeing anymore bug tickets in their queue as most players (myself included) don't feel like wasting time reporting a pretty obvious issue that -- for whatever reason (good or bad); the STO Dev team has no real interest or ability to correct (IMO - because if they did, these bugs wouldn't still exist after more than a year -- OR they'd try to get some focus testing on Tribble or something to find and fix the root causes.)
Formerly known as Armsman from June 2008 to June 20, 2012 http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=91861979000&dateline=  1340755546
PWE Drone says, "Your STO community as you have known it is ended...Display names are irrelevant...Any further sense of community is irrelevant...Resistance is futile...You will be assimilated..."
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.