Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,201
# 51
12-10-2012, 10:51 AM
Just a quick observation: I started using the Cutting Beam with the Borg Assimilated Set tractor beam. Although the tractor beam has a ridiculous 5 minute cooldown, I found it quite devastating when used in conjunction with the Cutting Beam for 2000 kinetic damage. I could not tell if the tractor beam generated 2k kinetic damage per second, or if it was a 1-time hit (more testing needed).
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 887
# 52
12-10-2012, 11:35 AM
The assimilated tractor beam should have the same cooldown as a normal tractor beam with no skill ranks. I think its 1 minute, 25 seconds or something like that?
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
# 53
12-29-2012, 09:05 AM
I just got the Kinetic Cutting Beam and personally I find it very useful; my load out is a pair of dual heavy tetryon cannons, dual tetryon beam bank, tetryon array (rear) and the cutting beam (rear), along with a load of transphasic torpedos (rapid reload to the front and breen cluster to the back). I'll likely shift once I get the omega torpedo launcher, so I can get the full set bonus, but I've got the rest of the assimilated stuff and I have to say the cutting beam stacks very well with the tractor beam ability, to the point that I will probably replace my rear facing torpedo launcher, as the beam starts doing damage the moment an enemy's shields are down, so if you can't get a torpedo salvo off in time it's no big deal, and if you can fire them then that's just a bonus!

My only problem with the beam is that it seems to have no visual effect? At least none that I can see; does anyone else suffer this issue? I have no problems with other weapons, except when there is a ton of firing at once and some things aren't visible, but even in the quieter solo missions I can't see any visible effect for the beam. It definitely does the damage, but I like being able to see it firing

Otherwise, I was a bit disappointed to see that the cutting beam is unaffected by fire at will; I can understand why it doesn't get damage bonuses from abilities but I would have liked to be able to use it with fire at will for shooting down enemy projectiles, as unshielded projectiles are easily taken out with it, but aiming it manually is very inconvenient.

So to recap; just having a 360? beam weapon is a bonus for me, but since my load out makes short work of shields anyway I find it a hugely useful weapon that really hurts a target when used with the tractor beam. I just wish I could see the damn thing, and that it was easier to use for point defence.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,474
# 54
12-29-2012, 01:43 PM
I put one on my Vo'quv. I'm draining power like crazy from targets, so generally their shields go down anyway. For me, kinetic cutting beam is a great addition since it puts out a lot more damage than a turret on my usually-unshielded targets, plus I'm not using tactical abilities to boost specific weapons so I don't care so much about homogeny.

So. Specialized maybe, in that it's not a magic bullet for every ship and build, but hardly useless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by haravikk View Post
My only problem with the beam is that it seems to have no visual effect? At least none that I can see; does anyone else suffer this issue? I have no problems with other weapons, except when there is a ton of firing at once and some things aren't visible, but even in the quieter solo missions I can't see any visible effect for the beam. It definitely does the damage, but I like being able to see it firing
It definitely has a visual effect. I had a fleet mate who said they couldn't see the beam when it fired, and it turned out he was running the game at very low detail levels because his computer was pretty old.
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
# 55
12-30-2012, 04:44 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by momaw View Post
It definitely has a visual effect. I had a fleet mate who said they couldn't see the beam when it fired, and it turned out he was running the game at very low detail levels because his computer was pretty old.
Ah perhaps that's my problem; I'm playing on a Mac so I mostly run the game under WINE, sometimes I can get away with higher settings but usually not for long, and I hate rebooting to play under Windows, ah well.

I don't suppose you have any idea what setting could be affecting it specifically? I'll try turning stuff on and off and up and down, but I would have thought it was just a regular beam effect?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 208
# 56
12-30-2012, 01:43 PM
Here's something I noticed today.

When Firing a Cutting Beam the Omega Torpedo won't fire until the Cutting Beam's firing cycle has ended...

Is this normal and as intended? Would it have anything to do with me placing the torpedo on auto fire?

I took auto fire off but still couldn't manually fire it until the cutting beam cycle completed.
Commander
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 278
# 57
01-01-2013, 12:41 PM
Oh, one other thing with the beam but is it now affected by any abilities or is it purely weapon power that benefits it? I ask because my weapon power is at 89 at the moment, and the cutting beam reads at 509.4 dps.

I compared this to a tetryon turret mk x as something cheap to compare to and the dps for that is only 368.7, and that's with two tetryon pulse generators!

So while the lack of fire at will is still a bummer, the dps on the cutting beam is definitely well above any other turret regardless, and if the enemy shields don't regenerate too quickly then you can get more kinetic damage from the beam than you can from a lot of torpedoes! It's still a bit situational as a well timed torpedo salvo will do more damage in the short term, but if you can keep the enemy shields down the cutting beam really does hurt them even without the tractor beam bonus which I think makes up for the lack of abilities since it makes the beam more comparable to torpedoes than a lot of people seem to think, unless I'm missing something huge?

So while it won't hurt shields as much as other turrets, it really does need to be thought more of as a 360 degree torpedo alternative; no need to bring front arc to bear means you can be doing the damage the moment enemy shields are down while you bring other weapons round (such as cannons and/or a proper torpedo launcher). Even when the enemy shields are up it's still extra damage to the enemy in any direction, unlike torpedoes again which can waste time being brought to bear first. Personally the only issue I really see with it is that without the tractor beam it's not quite as good as torpedoes, and unless you only fire it once the enemy shields are down you have to put up with that extra -8 power.


Anyway, I've been trying to figure out which video setting determines whether the beam shows or not and so far I've had no luck; I think I've tried everything. I'll probably post in one of the support forums though as it's not really relevant here.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 887
# 58
01-12-2013, 09:08 AM
I found out you can't buff it with either Warhead Yield Chambers or Directed Energy Distribution Manifolds.

It's a beam weapon that does kinetic damage! One of them should work! I can't believe you can't buff this weapons damage at all, using ANY console!

Really how did this get past testing? At least one generic damage console should work on it!

I want a refund! This crap Borg technology is NOT worth 500 Omega Marks and 15,000 dilithium! Seriously!
Rihannsu
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 13,078
# 59
01-12-2013, 09:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamiyama317 View Post
I found out you can't buff it with either Warhead Yield Chambers or Directed Energy Distribution Manifolds.

It's a beam weapon that does kinetic damage! One of them should work! I can't believe you can't buff this weapons damage at all, using ANY console!

Really how did this get past testing? At least one generic damage console should work on it!

I want a refund! This crap Borg technology is NOT worth 500 Omega Marks and 15,000 dilithium! Seriously!
Bort specifically stated that this is the way it's supposed to work.... And really? If that's your only reason for disliking it then you need to try using it more.
HAIL HYDRA!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
I can haz joystick!
MMOs aren't charities. Corporations are supposed to make a profit. It's what they do.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 887
# 60
01-12-2013, 09:29 AM
No its a beam weapon it should be buffed by the Directed Energy console.

I bought 4 of these consoles and the KCB so I could fit them to my shield stripping boat. If they can't make it work, I would like a refund.

Also how can a dev logically say it should be working like this? its a BEAM weapon! Seriously they are just being lazy!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 PM.