Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 813
With this game getting closer to release, I have an idea. Why not all of us that love this type of game, make a Star Trek nation within Simcity 5? It sounds like a good idea, making a zone that is shared by STO members. What do you guys think?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oy637m8Cskw
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 890
# 2
01-16-2013, 02:07 PM
I'll be up for it, as long as:

1) Somebody hooks me up with a copy of Sim City 5

2) It is possible to import canonically-correct buildings as custom 3D assets

Game features I'd like to see improved / expanded: Better Ship Interiors // BOff Costume Slots
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 315
# 3
01-16-2013, 02:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sumghai View Post
I'll be up for it, as long as:

1) Somebody hooks me up with a copy of Sim City 5

2) It is possible to import canonically-correct buildings as custom 3D assets
IIRC, there is no ability to upload user-created content since they force you to play in an online community.

If what I just said is true, and I'm hoping someone will tell me it isn't, #2 is not likely to happen. Otherwise I would definitely like to be a part of this ST nation, but it seems I will stick with SC4 for now.
Kobayashi Maru
Join Date: Sept 2008


"Holographic tissue paper for the holographic runny nose. Don't give them to patients." - The Doctor
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 813
# 4
01-17-2013, 04:55 AM
Simcity 4 is fine, but I was thinking everyone from here that's getting the game, why not pool together under into one area of that game. Call it STO Nation or whatever works best for a name. I am still wondering what type of town I want to make. Oh well back to Simcity 4 to work out the details hehe.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,776
# 5
01-17-2013, 05:12 AM
I broke my copy of SimCity 4 by installing waaaaay too many plugins. Suffice to say, my hand built city looked amazing, but the game crashed within a few minutes.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,474
# 6
01-17-2013, 09:56 AM
Due to the ridiculous DRM EA is slapping on this game. I will not buy it! The game does look great though and it is a shame they had to ruin any possibility of me buying it.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,281
# 7
01-18-2013, 05:26 PM
The "you have to play online" part of the game ruins it for me. I have a few EA games that require an internet connection. Despite the online component being barely noticible and your data being client saved, no internet no game.

I miss the days of just turning a game on and it working without having to connect to a server. Hell, even Minecraft will let you play it offline, so I know it is possible.
___________________________
@Commadore_Bob; Joined Jul 2009; That post count + 20,000
Click on my sig to view Family-Friendly Youtube Videos
I also now have a logo shop. Click my sig!
Click here to watch my STO play-through video series.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 281
# 8
01-18-2013, 06:43 PM
I sucked at the first Sim City game I tried. I think I'll pass.

It's funny that EA still has such crazy DRM despite all the complaints. Spore was the first one I really heard a lot of trash talk about. However, with Spore, there was actually good reason to be connected! It could download other user's content seamlessly and put it in your game. If you walked along and saw a creature you liked, you could subscribe to that person and then all their other stuff would show up in your game too.

If the new Sim City does something like that, it could be cool. Otherwise though, yeah, always connected DRM is a pain in the tail feathers.
I miss my _.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.