Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,608
# 11
01-16-2013, 03:00 PM
So I just got off the phone with my ISP.

She told me my relatively (2-3 weeks) new modem is off spec on one area and that might be causing the error?

I can easily play SWTOR, which I will be doing and not spending any money on STO or Champions this week.

So basically Cryptic's systems are just too picky or you have some other nefarious junk running that needs something other games don't?

Pretty suspicious.
If your post is anything like, "I have a sandwich so you can't be starving" it's time to rethink posting.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,608
# 12
01-16-2013, 06:51 PM
I figured out what they can do to fix this for everyone.

They need to reconfigure the launcher to "http://sto.perfectworld.com/" to fix this issue.
If your post is anything like, "I have a sandwich so you can't be starving" it's time to rethink posting.

Last edited by thlaylierah; 01-16-2013 at 07:18 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
# 13
01-17-2013, 04:09 AM
Not sure if the right place, but here goes. Im trying to pay STO on my desktop PC, and every time I hit the application, the launcher pops up. So far so good. I put in my info, and select "log in" and I get white box popping up saying there is a cryptic error enter what i was doing at time time and then submit. I do so... NOTHING. Happened every time. Ive tried running as admin, un-install, reboot everything. I have also tried the new launcher listed in the first post. The funny thing is...it works great on my laptop! Any help would be great! Thanks

Last edited by winterw0lf; 01-17-2013 at 04:15 AM.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
# 14
01-18-2013, 11:10 PM
Could somebody please update the launcher link?
It says it is current for 4 Jan but ever since the 10 Jan patch I have been having this problem >> http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...1&postcount=10

I'd like to try swapping in a current launcher to see if that helps.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
# 15
01-19-2013, 06:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by winterw0lf View Post
Not sure if the right place, but here goes. Im trying to pay STO on my desktop PC, and every time I hit the application, the launcher pops up. So far so good. I put in my info, and select "log in" and I get white box popping up saying there is a cryptic error enter what i was doing at time time and then submit. I do so... NOTHING. Happened every time. Ive tried running as admin, un-install, reboot everything. I have also tried the new launcher listed in the first post. The funny thing is...it works great on my laptop! Any help would be great! Thanks
I'm in the same boat as Winterwolf, only on my daughter's Laptop. I'm a technician, and have cleaned the registery ontop of this. I'm a life member. I have 2 other machines where I can login as either user - myself or my daughter, so I know it doesn't have anything to do with that. But, I my daughter hadn't used this for 2 weeks and I went to launch the game and it was dead - login and get the error box and that's it. The bug is in the STO Launcher. So some of us need some help with this.

JT Kerry
username: jtkerry
http://i1204.photobucket.com/albums/bb418/jtkerry1/astoria-3.png
7th Fleet
USS Astoria
Fleet Engineer/Historian
Fleet Captain JT Kerry
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 136
# 16
01-20-2013, 06:25 PM
Error reading application id. Please either write it to steam_appid.txt or use the launcher!


This didn't fix that and I'm not sure what will. Oh well.... guess I won't be able to play STO again despite having a Lifetime sub and having investing in purchasing virtual items in this game. stuff happens.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
# 17 Wtf???
01-23-2013, 04:30 AM
Why can't I post? Says I havent been a member long enough. I've played STO on and off since launch and been a perfect world member since before 2010.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
# 18
01-24-2013, 02:23 PM
Can we have the updated launcher please?
Mine has stopped working after today's update (24/01/13)

Thanks.
Former PWE Community Team Lead
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9,047
# 19
01-24-2013, 02:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnbndub View Post
Can we have the updated launcher please?
Mine has stopped working after today's update (24/01/13)

Thanks.
Please re-download the launcher that is linked in the first post. It is automatically updated every time we update the launcher.

Cheers,

Brandon =/\=
Brandon "BranFlakes" Felczer | Former Community Team Lead for Perfect World Entertainment
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
# 20
01-24-2013, 02:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnbndub View Post
Can we have the updated launcher please?
Mine has stopped working after today's update (24/01/13)

Thanks.
Mine too, first time it has given me trouble logging in and I was afraid my system was the problem...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.