Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
# 41
01-24-2013, 06:59 AM
Cheers for that Commandorebob.

So, I just patched the game. Seen the forum and now i'll have to patch the game again after the maintenance the whole 14GB?!

Does this patching ever get quicker? Or less than 14GB?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 885
# 42
01-24-2013, 07:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmobrien View Post
Newbie here (insert vile klingon obsenities)

Wondering if you have to keep patching the game anytime you have to play it?

I have wasted 2 days of my life waiting for the game to patch liturally.

Any comments are welcome.

~~~~
Just checking, are you sure you disabled "Patch on Demand" in your launcher?
Member since November 2009... I think.
(UFP) Ragnarök Fleet - Logistics Division Vice Admiral T'Phira; Captain Selena; Captain Altecha; Captain K'Kera; Lieutenant Aydihe Tefx; Subcommander S'ena
(KDF) Lieutenant General Vokno (aka Lady Vokno); Lieutenant General Raylene
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
# 43
01-24-2013, 07:04 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by altechachan View Post
Just checking, are you sure you disabled "Patch on Demand" in your launcher?
Yes. The little tick is in the box that says "Disable on-demand patching".
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 894
# 44
01-24-2013, 07:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmobrien View Post
Yes. The little tick is in the box that says "Disable on-demand patching".
Tick mark in this box means that the game will download all patches/changes, instead of downloading them the first time you visit the affected sector(s).

I usually will do this, as I don't want to be heading off to some bygone sector then wait 10 minutes for it to load as it catches up on long-neglected patches. Yeah, I have to suffer longer on patch day(s) and immediately after a reinstall/new system, but to me it's worth it...
50: S'Leth/Eurthyr/S. Dareau/Ardrian/Krudge/Annlova Not: Jadja
Still at it. CBS "restrictions" fell by wayside with freebie Breen. Time to re-examine ENT and ToS at tier 5, repurpose the Connie into Sci and rebuild an Akira escort into the "NX". 6 "eras", spread evenly over all the classes...
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 497
# 45
01-24-2013, 07:14 AM
I am kind of disappointed. STO seems to have more of the computer nerd vib to it and I have met a ton of nerds in game that always give me good advice on computer stuff like processors and the like. That being said...does anyone not think that maybe they are doing more than just sticking a patch on a game? There is always hardware maintenance. Maybe they are swapping out backup servers or switching to another server all together. Maybe there is some other sort of delay built in.

Could also be that they are asked by the money men to get the patch ready as it wasn't before so to give themselves more time, they decided to do an "extended maintenance."

Even so, I would rather they take the 5 hours now if needed than to have the server die on us later in the day because they felt rushed on completing something that wasn't done correctly.

And when I say nerd, I mean "your pocket protector turns me on."
_______________________________
To answer your question, yes. - @Executive_Emily - I have a Website? Oh, yeah! I do.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
# 46
01-24-2013, 07:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dareau View Post
Tick mark in this box means that the game will download all patches/changes, instead of downloading them the first time you visit the affected sector(s).

I usually will do this, as I don't want to be heading off to some bygone sector then wait 10 minutes for it to load as it catches up on long-neglected patches. Yeah, I have to suffer longer on patch day(s) and immediately after a reinstall/new system, but to me it's worth it...
So... Do I un-tick the box? heh heh heh
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 885
# 47
01-24-2013, 07:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmobrien View Post
So... Do I un-tick the box? heh heh heh
It's at your own risk, sir. The advantages is shorter patch times at the launcher but you then patch every time you have a loading screen. Keeping it ticked means longer patch times at the launcher but no patching at all during loading screens.
Member since November 2009... I think.
(UFP) Ragnarök Fleet - Logistics Division Vice Admiral T'Phira; Captain Selena; Captain Altecha; Captain K'Kera; Lieutenant Aydihe Tefx; Subcommander S'ena
(KDF) Lieutenant General Vokno (aka Lady Vokno); Lieutenant General Raylene
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
# 48
01-24-2013, 07:21 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dareau View Post
Tick mark in this box means that the game will download all patches/changes, instead of downloading them the first time you visit the affected sector(s).

I usually will do this, as I don't want to be heading off to some bygone sector then wait 10 minutes for it to load as it catches up on long-neglected patches. Yeah, I have to suffer longer on patch day(s) and immediately after a reinstall/new system, but to me it's worth it...
Hmmm... Interesting.

So, Basically it's better that I wait on the long patch at the launcher(have the box ticked) then wait a few minutes per sector(have the box un-ticked)?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 182
# 49
01-24-2013, 07:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by born2bwild1 View Post
Where are all the "it's a stealth NERF!!" posts?
that's what im suspicious of
seems with every patch my confiscate contraband fails more and more

but the hardware upgrades could be a possibility too
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 497
# 50
01-24-2013, 07:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmobrien View Post
So... Do I un-tick the box? heh heh heh
If your connection is slower, I would just patch all at one time and not on a per instance basis unless you wanna sit around, waiting for the game to patch as you try to play. I actually let the game patch on a per instance basis as my connection is pretty fast so I wait maybe an additional 10-15 seconds at most when I venture into an area I have not visited in a long time. Plus, I always have other applications running to fill my time while anything patches.
_______________________________
To answer your question, yes. - @Executive_Emily - I have a Website? Oh, yeah! I do.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 PM.