Ensign
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
# 1051
01-28-2013, 09:53 AM
C:\Users>tracert launcher.startrekonline.com

Routenverfolgung zu launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44] ?ber maximal 30
Abschnitte:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 7 ms 6 ms 6 ms 10.149.64.1
3 24 ms 6 ms 6 ms 7111A-MX960-01-ae10-1410.fra.unity-media.net [81
.210.130.17]
4 6 ms 7 ms 5 ms 84-116-131-149.aorta.net [84.116.131.149]
5 8 ms 7 ms 5 ms 84.116.132.161
6 7 ms 6 ms 13 ms 84.116.132.166
7 19 ms 7 ms 7 ms xe-10-2-2.fra23.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.99.97]
8 110 ms 109 ms 110 ms xe-3-0-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.109.138]
9 103 ms 103 ms 105 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
10 105 ms 103 ms 104 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.1
04]
11 107 ms 107 ms 107 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.
61.78]
12 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
13 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
14 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
15 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
16 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
17 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
18 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
19 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
20 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
21 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
22 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
23 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
24 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
25 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
26 * * * Zeit?berschreitung der Anforderung.
27 * ^C
C:\Users>


I had never issues, but now!
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 961
# 1052
01-28-2013, 09:53 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwebranflakes View Post
Captains, as I've mentioned, the team is continuing to investigate. This started occurring before the patch, so it's not related. The reason I'm letting you know that "there are a ton of players in-game" is to provide more transparency on the issue and to let you know that it does not seem to be affecting everyone. There is no ETA I can provide, and I will continue to update you as I receive more information.

Cheers,

Brandon =/\=
So why was this not fixed with the patch?

If you had this issue prior to today's maintenance and patch, why did Cryptic allow the problem to get more wide spread?

Did anyone try to stop this before it got out of hand?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,828
# 1053
01-28-2013, 09:53 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by eulifdavis View Post
That's not the only place they're having connection issues. My trace got stopped at Perfect World's connection:

perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net
Just looking at that...

bsn.pnap = the Boston Area again.
...... DaveyNY ...STO Forum Member since February - 2009
..............Star Trek Fan since Thursday Sept. 8th, 1966
There are No Longer any STO Veterans... We're Just People who have Played the Game for the last 4 years.
I Really Do Miss the little TOP Button at the bottom of the threads.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 162
# 1054
01-28-2013, 09:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwin View Post
Seriously, what's with the finger pointing out of house? Cryptic's software worked fine before they "fixed" things, and now, after a "fix" they want to say that it's an ISP fault? Seems kinda donkeyish to me.

Please don't buy into the "it's not our fault" line. I have empathy for the devs, but no respect for shirking responsibility.
This problem was happening before the patch so that has nothing to do with it. Also apparently CO is having the same issue and they weren't patched. It seems to be a problem with the server, frankly they should probably just reboot it.

Quick question, I really haven't been reading every post in this thread, where did the devs say "it's not our fault"?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 657
# 1055
01-28-2013, 09:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbaconsah View Post
As has been shown, some packets ARE getting through, but then the next being blocked.
My connection also does not go through Cogent. Mine goes through Alter Communications. It does, interestingly, go through Boston as well, but not through Cogent.

I live in California. Cryptic hosts in California. Why is my connection going all the way through Boston?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 48
# 1056
01-28-2013, 09:55 AM
Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms darren91979.mshome.net
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 45 ms 38 ms 41 ms ip-84-38-37-56.easynet.co.uk [84.38.37.56]
4 35 ms 41 ms 38 ms 02780884.bb.sky.com [2.120.8.132]
5 101 ms 35 ms 34 ms ae55.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.57]
6 34 ms 35 ms 35 ms ae-0-11.edge4.London2.Level3.net [4.69.200.126]

7 36 ms 35 ms 36 ms ae-3-3.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.141.189]
8 36 ms 49 ms 57 ms ae-59-114.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.126]

9 82 ms 36 ms 36 ms ae-116-3502.edge3.London1.Level3.net [4.69.166.1
34]
10 36 ms 37 ms 37 ms te0-7-0-7.ccr22.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
7.15.245]
11 36 ms 37 ms 36 ms te0-3-0-5.ccr22.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
7.0.93]
12 108 ms 108 ms 109 ms te0-0-0-4.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
7.0.46]
13 110 ms 108 ms 109 ms te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
130]
14 * 112 ms * 38.111.40.114
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Still cant get to patching window. im in the UK.
Are other still having this issue?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
# 1057
01-28-2013, 09:55 AM
Just finished mine. Here it is:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.1.1
2 35 ms 27 ms 19 ms cpe-76-182-208-1.tx.res.rr.com [76.182.208.1]
3 12 ms 12 ms 13 ms tge7-1.dllatx3c-er01.texas.rr.com [70.125.218.97
]
4 23 ms 22 ms 15 ms tge0-8-0-1.dllatx34-tr01.texas.rr.com [24.175.38
.108]
5 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms agg23.dllatx1k-cr01.texas.rr.com [24.175.36.224]

6 23 ms 15 ms 15 ms agg21.dllatxl3-cr01.texas.rr.com [24.175.49.0]
7 22 ms 14 ms 16 ms ae-8-0.cr0.dfw10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.52]
8 28 ms 93 ms 15 ms 107.14.17.234
9 18 ms 17 ms 15 ms te0-7-0-15.ccr21.dfw03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.5
4.11.49]
10 16 ms 55 ms 17 ms te0-3-0-4.ccr21.dfw01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.82.17]
11 27 ms 28 ms 28 ms te0-4-0-1.mpd21.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.5.126]
12 83 ms 44 ms 44 ms te0-4-0-3.mpd21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.30.169]
13 68 ms 66 ms 66 ms te0-7-0-2.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.28.114]
14 65 ms 67 ms 86 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42
]
15 80 ms * * 38.111.40.114
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

C:\Windows\system32>
So, I just push the buttons and things blow up? Fascinating...
Career Officer
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 220
# 1058
01-28-2013, 09:55 AM
Someone go and drop an EMP on Boston so the interweb has to re-route around it..XD
Click here to see the true story of the KDF and Cryptic!

"...just look at my track record for making the improvements that I said we would with the KDF and judge by that." - Dan Stahl
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 59
# 1059
01-28-2013, 09:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ermaname View Post
I was getting kicked over an hour before the maintenance started due to a patching timing out issue, so the problem was there before the maintenance started, unless they started maintenance early while we were still playing....
Sure sounds like a patch problem to me, even if it occurred before the "official" patch time. This doesn't mean they weren't pre-patching both clients and servers prior to the official downtime to increase efficiency. I'm impressed,

Regardless, this isn't for clients to fix. Customer service has been very lax, especially in times like this, and tech support is always saying "It's your fault, not ours". I find it hard to believe that another player would back this point of view.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 47
# 1060
01-28-2013, 09:55 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwin View Post
No other report of cogent having issues exists. If this were a network issue it wouldn't be limited to STO.

http://status.cogentco.com/

So, Cogent says, no problem, Cryptic says no problem. What are we to say? No Problem?

PrePatch breaking things?
Cogent rarely says its having a problem even when its in the middle of a major problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by linyive View Post
So why was this not fixed with the patch?

If you had this issue prior to today's maintenance and patch, why did Cryptic allow the problem to get more wide spread?

Not all issues can be fixed with a patch. For example if its an outside issue with the isp no patch in the world on cryptics end will fix it.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.