Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 114
# 1711
01-28-2013, 12:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisoverlord View Post
They are as clueless as we are that's why. Heck they could've just linked us to a patch file we could install ourselves.

But noooooooooooooooooo.

Oh they know what the problem is alright. It's just taking a long time to find a fix that doesn't cost them any money.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
# 1712 My trace
01-28-2013, 12:30 PM
From london with sky broadband


C:\Users\>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 61 ms 63 ms 63 ms ip-89-200-131-242.ov.easynet.net [89.200.131.242
]
4 56 ms 63 ms 63 ms 027808ef.bb.sky.com [2.120.8.239]
5 57 ms 58 ms 57 ms ae55.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.57]
6 * * 58 ms ae-0-11.edge4.London2.Level3.net [4.69.200.126]

7 57 ms 56 ms 57 ms ae-3-3.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.141.189]
8 59 ms 57 ms 66 ms ae-58-113.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.122]

9 56 ms 56 ms 56 ms ae-117-3503.edge3.London1.Level3.net [4.69.166.1
38]
10 58 ms 57 ms 57 ms te0-7-0-1.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
7.15.241]
11 57 ms 57 ms 58 ms te0-1-0-4.mpd21.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.57.98]
12 130 ms 131 ms 133 ms te0-7-0-27.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.5
4.1.93]
13 133 ms 132 ms 134 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
134]
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,002
# 1713
01-28-2013, 12:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by lex1con View Post
tried doing the private tunnel thing.
downloaded the patch ran the game and got the same issue.

im in uk

I am in game now through that method.

Download Private tunnel.

Install and connect ( you can also use any VPN)

Load the launcher, login and let it patch.

Make sure auto patching is off under launcher options.

Click engage and go into one of your characters.

Dissconnect from your vpn or private tunnel.

You will see that you are dissconnected, but leave the window open!!

Wait a couple of mins for your own broadband to reconnect.

Log back into game.

Voila

Fed Eng (Main). Fed Sci. Fed Tac. Rom Sci (KDF)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitsune424 View Post
Here is your ticket to the USS Stupidity, Third class, four tacks on the chair, rules state you MUST sit on the chair, no standing, or hovering above the tacks, thank you have a nice day
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
# 1714
01-28-2013, 12:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by daskippa View Post
Turn of automatic pathing in luancher oprtions that should fix it for ya and let you use you BBand once in client
nop, its not working either, you mean the "Disable on-demand patching" option, aren't you?
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
# 1715
01-28-2013, 12:31 PM
Meh, well I don't pay for the game so apparently haven't got as much right as some to grumble, however I have paid for several ingame items which I am not able to access due to the downtime. Does that give me some sort of right to whine, just a little?
Career Officer
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 949
# 1716
01-28-2013, 12:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelister View Post
Actually, that was not an implied threat of violence at all. I had erroneously presumed he was one of our own, and at best a conservative (I am a liberal). That's why I had mentioned that the freedom of speech is before the freedom of bearing arms.

I do not discourage legitimate arguments. I simply believe that those who do not pay for the game have no right to criticize the developers for issues related to said free game. Free is never truly free, and the only ones who DO in fact have any legitimate argument are those who have invested real money in said game. Time - while valuable - is not relevant in this case because if your time was really that valuable then you would be wasting it on a game at all.

And I totally agree on Fox News network. Note I never mentioned freedom of the press, because that is relative.... and false.
This is moronic

It's like saying that if I give free toys out that don't pass the safety standards that it's the parents and children own fault if something bad happens.

No.

Regardless of whether of game is "free" or not, a minimum standard of service is expected and required. Just like free food at soup kitchens still needs to be free of harmful bacteria and those providing it are liable if it is not.
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
# 1717
01-28-2013, 12:31 PM
So any staff got an update as to when this will get sorted?

or can use a keyboard?
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
# 1718
01-28-2013, 12:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by thisisoverlord View Post
They are as clueless as we are that's why. Heck they could've just linked us to a patch file we could install ourselves.

But noooooooooooooooooo.
They can't just link a patch file, because they use RSync type patching, which patches on the fly - it depends on where you are in the game, and what systems you've visited. Ever noticed that you go to some system and it says 'patching...' up in the top left?

So everyone is NOT at the same level of patch, they are for main launcher and main client, but not for in game files.

To produce a patch for 'everyone' we'd all have to re-download the game again. At least 12GB, which is why they don't do that kind of patching.

They can trickle feed the data to the people that need it, and hence be more efficient.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 42
# 1719
01-28-2013, 12:32 PM
Captain's Log: Supplemental
A strange rumbling and feeling in my stomach is occurring and I have also located in what appears to be a 21st century refrigerator device, a loaf of bread, ham, cheddar cheese, lettuce, and mayonnaise. How can I make use of these objects?
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
# 1720 i'm getting it still
01-28-2013, 12:33 PM
yea ,well it's way past the server maintenance and im still not even able to get the patch started it keeps trying to connect , after 2 trys it tells me to check my internet connection

and my internet connection is fine, had no problems until now
the os is windows 7 if that helps not gona post my ip numbers
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.