Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
# 2271 Proxy => EU
01-28-2013, 03:14 PM
Hi, I have been affected as well, stuck at "trying to connect to Cryptic Patch Server" or something. Then after a day I got the loading screen - veeeeery slow loading and then stuck as well. I have read some of the posts here so after I was lucky and the loading screen appeared, I changed the Proxy to EU in launcher Options + selected "PATCH through PROXY" settings even as that might get the patching slow and now I'm running better, it is not fast, but one gets in the game.

BTW: some posts here were a little negative about Cryptic Support being able to resolve it soon.... well, Iw you ever played on line game Command and Conquer Tiberium Alliances - there you would NOT HERE from SUPPORT the WHOLE YEAR!!!! They even don't admit there is a problem, nothing, in the contrary - they say that everything is fine and the fault is with players )) So here it is definitelly BETTER

Last edited by onerosomak; 01-28-2013 at 03:26 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 44
# 2272
01-28-2013, 03:14 PM
Still can't open launcher.... Everything was fine till this patch maybe just roll it back till you get a better understanding of what happened ??? Please fix this!!!!!
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 32
# 2273 Patching
01-28-2013, 03:14 PM
I was able to put in my account info, but "Patch" button is in blue and there is absolutely nothing to the left of the button to indicate that there is any type of patch actually happening. Not even a 0Kb/xxxKb, everything is grey.

Also, unable to access "Options", I click on it and NOTHING. The box that usually appears...well, it just does not come up when I click on "Options".

Last edited by locozoco; 01-28-2013 at 03:18 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
# 2274 Hosts file as temp fix?
01-28-2013, 03:15 PM
Wouldnt it be possible to enter the ip address for the server in windows' hosts file?
It could at least work as a temporary fix. Right?
So does anybody know the correct IP for patchserver?
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 990
# 2275
01-28-2013, 03:16 PM
closing it and opening again seems to speed up lancher and patching
Lieutenant
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 41
# 2276
01-28-2013, 03:17 PM
Woo, got in.

Now if Cryptic can just work on their horrible bed side manor.

It's as if their Community Manager is a hologram made by Lewis Zimmerman.
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 453
# 2277
01-28-2013, 03:17 PM
you mean what the problem is. still having issues, wont patch.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
# 2278
01-28-2013, 03:17 PM
this Come Only From The Launcher Or The Connection Server Because I Used A Vpn To Connect And Patch,
Then Played,
Then Disabled The Vpn While Playing
So I Disconnected And Returned To The Blue Menu With Earth And Spacedock
Rewote My Password To Connect Again And This Worked.



Now I Disconnect Everything And Relaunch The Launcher And It Bugs.... Again So You Know What I Mean ????
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
# 2279
01-28-2013, 03:18 PM
Same problem as before, even tried restarting with EU proxy. just gets to 199kb received and dies.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 281
# 2280
01-28-2013, 03:18 PM
My bad, I pointed tracert to the wrong domain. Re-ran it, although I have gotten it connected through but it is INCREDIBLY SLOW. (It has been downloading for 45 mins and is still at 0% and my broadband is 100MB!)

Quote:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\******>tracert launcher.startrekonline.com

Tracing route to launcher.startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 18 ms 22 ms 14 ms bmly-core-2a-ae4-1170.network.virginmedia.net [81.100.*.***]
3 45 ms 12 ms 18 ms popl-bb-1c-ae3-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.***.***]
4 38 ms 22 ms 37 ms brnt-bb-1c-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.***.***]
5 15 ms 58 ms 26 ms brhm-bb-1c-ae8-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.***.***]
6 23 ms 18 ms 26 ms brhm-bb-1b-ae11-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.***.***]
7 35 ms 34 ms 28 ms ae1.lon25.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.65.161]
8 116 ms 123 ms 125 ms xe-3-0-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [141.136.109.138]
9 95 ms 96 ms 133 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
10 145 ms 103 ms 99 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.104]
11 114 ms 107 ms * perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
12 97 ms 103 ms 135 ms startrekonline.com [208.95.185.44]

Trace complete.

McCoy: It's a song, you green-blooded... Vulcan. You sing it. The words aren't important. What's important is that you have a good time singing it.
Spock: Oh, I am sorry Doctor. Were we having a good time?
McCoy: God I liked him better before he died.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 PM.