Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 332
This one is short and sweet.
We have autofire on space weapons. How about adding that to ground weapons too?????
Career Officer
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 100
# 2
01-27-2013, 03:42 AM
Um...it's been there for quite a while.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
# 3
01-27-2013, 03:44 AM
I'm afraid way too many players - many of whom are inexperienced anyway - would abuse this feature in ground events, resulting in a disastrous mess and possibly no conclusion of these. Cure ground elites were already a nightmare to complete without a good team for a time. Ground ESTFs still take skill to complete, even though they have been seriously nerfed for a while now, sometimes you don't have the privilege to run it with aces and have to resort to PUG-ing as the only option left. Also let's not forget about other ground events, many people enjoy, for example "The Big Dig", but I can see greens occasionally butting in and clogging up precious slots on teams... can't say I blame them for anything at all, it being a daily and all, but imagine how it would turn out with people running around blasting everything that gets in a 10m range and not only dying 2 seconds after, but bringing the whole squad down with them.

I'm not saying I wouldn't like the feature, just giving a thought to why it *may not* be considered to be added by the devs.

Edit: Blast, turns out you CAN enable it in the options, Thank God it's disabled by default though, don't spread the word please! I still stand by my opinion, that not everyone should use it!

From an archived post:

Quote:
Ground Autofire mode is disabled by default. You have to go into Options -> Controls Tab -> Ground Region -> Auto Attack drop-down (last item at the bottom). Change it from none to whatever mode you desire. "Toggle, chance (target) cancels" is the default that Space Region uses. That is autofire will keep firing until you change targets, or select no targets. Right click on the weapon icon to enable auto-fire on that ability to make it auto fire.

Last edited by auricius; 01-27-2013 at 06:21 AM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,502
# 4
01-27-2013, 04:55 AM
lol what was that?

auto fire does not mean auto target and kill everything!
(of course you CAN set targeting up that way too, it's an option)

auto fire means that you target your enemy be it ship or ground enemy press spacebar / 1 and start shooting at that one enemy until he dies without hammering spacebar / 1 all the time for every single shot and not having your finger free to press other more important buttons.


on ground it should be mentioned though that the firing cycle of the weapon blocks using abilities, you can queue up the next 1 ability but only the one and if a firing cycle gets in the way you may have to wait it out etc.

-> this could all be a lot smoother if the ui would not *forget* which button you queued after a second or two.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
# 5
01-27-2013, 05:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerobang View Post
lol what was that?

auto fire does not mean auto target and kill everything!
(of course you CAN set targeting up that way too, it's an option)
Point taken. I'm just always assuming the worst.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 332
# 6
01-27-2013, 05:19 AM
I found where auto fire is now. Must have been a blonde moment. lol
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
# 7
01-31-2013, 11:53 AM
Please do tell the rest of us! ( I'm a newb )
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,910
# 8
01-31-2013, 08:32 PM
It's in options/controls, what I would like is an option to bind autofire to a keybind, so I can toggle it manually rather than it be attached to "Red Alert", "toggled/non combat cancels" sometimes isn't good enough.
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 18
# 9
02-06-2013, 05:40 AM
To dig a little loose soil here, I also think that being able to toggle auto fire (mouse 4/5 anyone?) would be a great feature.

Sometimes spaffing Polaron all over the place is a desirable thing, but when you're in polite company it's best to keep your weapon in your pants.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 100
# 10
04-07-2013, 04:38 AM
The auto - Fire for grounds weapons has not worked properly since the new
weapon fire mode came out. From what I have seen it only works on the sniper
rifles and sometimes on the Phaser full-auto rifle. A fix for this is long overdue.
you would think with all the cash us players dish out they would have fixed it by now.

Last edited by nassiris; 04-07-2013 at 04:50 AM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 PM.