Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
# 21
02-18-2013, 10:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by felderburg View Post
How often does it pull info? I have changed my costume and added a BO a couple days ago, but my character still reflects the costume and set of BOs of last week.
The costumes stick around for a day or so in the browser cache. The data should be practically live. A couple things to check: Are you looking at the shard where you made the changes (Holodeck=http://gateway.startrekonline.com, Tribble=http://gatewaytest.startrekonline.com). Does refreshing the page solve the issue?

poz
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 744
# 22
02-18-2013, 11:03 AM
Refreshing does not solve it. It is holodeck.

Also on the BOs: the arrows to scroll go dark even when there are more BOs to scroll through. This happens mostly on the right arrow, but sometimes the left one as well.
Join Date: July 29 2008
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,691
# 23
02-18-2013, 02:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by toiva View Post
It is accessible for holodeck. Just don't type the "test" in the adress.

http://gatewaytest.startrekonline.com/: This is for Tribble.
http://gateway.startrekonline.com/: This is for Holodeck.
jeez im an idiot...i can't believe i never found anything on that...Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by borticuscryptic View Post
I find this line of replies sadly hilarious. We put a lot of work into the massive list of fixes/changes above, and ya'll are hung up on the ability to skip our content. =p
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 444
# 24
02-18-2013, 03:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticpoz View Post
Good catch. I put on it on the list to be fixed.


As you can imagine, Star Trek Online has a lot of data in it, so we added a timeout screen to catch overly long waits. We may have it set too short. I will investigate. Which browser are you using?
I am using the latest version of Google Chrome.
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
# 25
02-18-2013, 04:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoreshrvk View Post
I am using the latest version of Google Chrome.
Can you post the URL you're at when you timeout? It should have a "char(something@name)" in it.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 444
# 26
02-18-2013, 08:08 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticpoz View Post
Can you post the URL you're at when you timeout? It should have a "char(something@name)" in it.
It is actually not one, but seems to be when I am switching about characters. Some load in faster than others and I noticed ones I was most recently on load in the slowest. The worst one of the bunch is my main Shrvk. He can timeout frequently and it takes a while to load in images of him and his boffs.

http://gateway.startrekonline.com/#char(Shrvk@Commodore Shrvk)/personnel/captainprofile

This evening I tested them again. All loaded quickly except for him again. All the images remained spinning circles and never loaded in. But it did not timeout.
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 41
# 27
02-18-2013, 08:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoreshrvk View Post
It is actually not one, but seems to be when I am switching about characters. Some load in faster than others and I noticed ones I was most recently on load in the slowest. The worst one of the bunch is my main Shrvk. He can timeout frequently and it takes a while to load in images of him and his boffs.

http://gateway.startrekonline.com/#c...captainprofile

This evening I tested them again. All loaded quickly except for him again. All the images remained spinning circles and never loaded in. But it did not timeout.
Awesome! Huge thanks for being so helpful. I also only got the spinning circles, so I will check into that.

By the "ones you've most recently been on", do you mean that you've played them in-game recently? (Like this week?) We have a suspicion that older characters (that haven't been played in the client for a while) might be causing this problem because it takes longer to get them online and updated.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 716
# 28
02-18-2013, 10:31 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by commodoreshrvk View Post
side note: some websites/forums REALLY don't like parenthesis and some other special characters (#, @, ~) in their URL links. It breaks them bad (although the link above is simply an error in the [/url] tag placement). Is there another way these can be formatted?

Raptr profile
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 702
# 29
02-18-2013, 10:58 PM
Why does account guard insist on asking me to verify my computer every bloody time I log into Gateway?

How can I disable/opt-out of account guard... its simply more trouble than its worth.


EDIT: Yes... I do have my browser(s) set to allow cookies. Yes, Gateway is able to set cookies. They just seem to expire very quickly.

Last edited by amayakitsune; 02-18-2013 at 11:00 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 28
# 30
02-18-2013, 11:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticpoz View Post
Which browser are you using?

Thanks for your ideas regarding future directions for Gateway. We've definititely been thinking in those directions as well.
Using Firefox 18.0.2 on Windows 7 but the same happens on my phone (Android 4.0.3) as well (Type columns starts out narrow and then switches back to equal width).
Great! Only three left. Now all I need is for one of them to leave the room and then there will be only one left...
Wait, where I come from three minus one still leaves two!
Where I come from is a far more interesting place.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 PM.