Lt. Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 100
I want to disconnect STO from my Steam connection.

It was stupid to install via Steam when there is no benefit and two drawbacks: Forced Steam online connection and two logins.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,231
# 2
03-11-2013, 10:26 PM
I purchased STO and played from Steam for a long time also.

You don't need Steam running to launch STO

Just search for the executable game file in your steam directory, create a shortcut and launch the game directly from the game folder.
Federation Bushrangers
Federation & Imperial Bushrangers
Looking for an Australian/New Zealand fleet?
Sign up here:
www.bushrangers.net
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 554
# 3
03-11-2013, 10:38 PM
Or the slightly better method is to uninstall the game from Steam, then download the installer from STO's website and install that.

The game's launcher will ensure you are always up-to-date.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,328
# 4
03-11-2013, 10:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by matridunadan1 View Post
Or the slightly better method is to uninstall the game from Steam, then download the installer from STO's website and install that.

The game's launcher will ensure you are always up-to-date.
The executable in the steam app directory is the same launcher that you are talking about. I ran it from the steam directory for over 2 years with out running steam and it is always up to date.

That way you don't have to re-download the game.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 855
# 5
03-11-2013, 10:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by matridunadan1 View Post
Or the slightly better method is to uninstall the game from Steam, then download the installer from STO's website and install that.

The game's launcher will ensure you are always up-to-date.
Why complicate things?

Just move "Star Trek Online" from the steamapps\common folder, into any folder you wish, then run the Star Trek Online.exe (or create a shortcut, and place it anywhere you like).

No need to re-download the game, if he already has it.

EDIT: Bah, ninja-ed by robdmc
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 100
# 6
03-11-2013, 10:59 PM
I already downloaded the setup, did the initial install, then moved every matching file from the Steam folder to the new folder, then forced verify in launcher options.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 AM.