Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 355
Two different computers, two different installs, same issue:

I can't currently get into game.

Is the login or authentication server down?
Formerly known as Protector from June 2008 to June 20, 2012

If the KDF can get a Fleet D7, the Feds should have a Fleet Exeter.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 982
# 2
03-12-2013, 03:50 PM
I got "Loading. Please wait." on a white screen instead of the login page, and now the autoupdate isn't patching when I try to launch.

te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com is in the hundreds of ms range on the trace route, could that be the issue?

Last edited by tom61sto; 03-12-2013 at 03:52 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,854
# 3
03-12-2013, 04:03 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom61sto View Post
...
te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com is in the hundreds of ms range on the trace route, could that be the issue?
If this is the case, then you should post your Trace Route results into this ongoing PWE Tech Support Thread, so that PWE has the information they can kick Cogent Communications a few more times to get this resolved... http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathanlonehawk View Post
...

Is the login or authentication server down?
Doesn't appear to be. I've been Downgrading Doffs for my Fleet Projects all afternoon. And I need to exit the Client, then re-login to avoid a memory leak in the Doff UI every 4 to 5 Dozen Doffs collected...

Most likely you have some kind of Internet route issues to the STO Servers... a 'Trace Route' and 'Net Test' results would be useful in diagnosing the problem...

Last edited by grouchyotaku; 03-12-2013 at 04:07 PM.
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
# 4
03-12-2013, 04:32 PM
I am also suddenly having this problem today... pingplotter shows something around 50% packet loss at te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com...

Target Name: patchserver.crypticstudios.com
IP: 208.95.185.41
Date/Time: 3/12/2013 7:30:42 PM to 3/12/2013 7:32:23 PM

Hop Sent Err PL% Min Max Avg Host Name / [IP]

5 100 0 0.0 23 50 25 [12.83.72.13]
6 100 0 0.0 28 144 39 cgcil02jt.ip.att.net [12.122.81.17]
7 100 0 0.0 29 100 37 be2000.ccr22.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.12.85]
8 81 0 0.0 37 112 47 te0-4-0-1.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.209]
9 87 0 0.0 54 98 55 te0-7-0-8.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.43.206]
10 79 36 45.6 53 249 91 te3-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.130]
11 100 0 0.0 54 109 60 [38.111.40.114]
12 100 0 0.0 54 148 56 [208.95.185.41]
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 955
# 5
03-12-2013, 05:30 PM
i'm having bad connectivity to Cryptic servers myself. Cogentco.com is the issue.

Traceroute from my gaming pc. PC is NAT'ed to 208.191.248.2 as the public IP address.

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms zilla.monsters.org [172.16.0.2]
2 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms 208.191.248.6
3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms dist1-vlan50.ltrkar.sbcglobal.net [151.164.64.130]
4 9 ms 7 ms 7 ms bb1-10g3-0-0.ltrkar.sbcglobal.net [151.164.99.216]
5 23 ms 24 ms 23 ms cgcil02jt.ip.att.net [12.122.81.17]
6 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms be2000.ccr22.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.12.85]
7 31 ms 31 ms 32 ms te0-4-0-5.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.165]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 49 ms * 49 ms te4-2.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.254]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.

Connections time out sporadically for a few minutes and then it's fine for a few miniutes then back to time outs.

PW support Ticket #130312-000801

Bah. I'm giving up for the night. The game is totally unplayable.

Last edited by lordfuzun; 03-12-2013 at 06:45 PM. Reason: Cleam up the traceroute
Ensign
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 23
# 6
03-12-2013, 05:36 PM
I have other mmo's installed and they seem to be fine. My guess is the issue that started about 1700~ is just getting bigger. Please have the janitor plug that router back in - that is long enough to vacuum.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 955
# 7
03-12-2013, 05:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustyblades View Post
I have other mmo's installed and they seem to be fine. My guess is the issue that started about 1700~ is just getting bigger. Please have the janitor plug that router back in - that is long enough to vacuum.
That happens a lot more than people would think.
Ensign
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
# 8 this isnt cool
03-12-2013, 05:42 PM
this is really uncool, i managed to miss out on 6 toons dil refining for the day bcuz of this.

Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
# 9
03-12-2013, 05:53 PM
Been having similar issues.

res://ieframe.dll/dnserrordiagoff_webOC.htm

Cleared IE cache, then got an error relating to connectivity to patch server. Though, I've been able to tracert to the patch server using patchserver.crypticstudios.com URL.

Currently, there's a mini window with "LOADING". My username/login was retreaved, but it's background and cannot be accessed, since the focus is on the mini "LOADING" window.

Note, I've not been refering to the white background "Loading, please wait" page.

Closed window and tried again, was able to enter UN/PW, but got "unable to authenticate" in lower left corner.

I've not been having connectivity issues w/anything but the game's launcher and they've been inconsistent in nature as described above.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 99
# 10
03-12-2013, 07:52 PM
"Timed out connecting to game server" ...This is getting old. I can barely change zones without having this issue.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.