Lieutenant
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 43
# 361
03-02-2013, 03:40 PM
I currently have really, really bad lags. Being in sector space looks like a picture with sporadic movements of the ships.

Connection to my ISP seems fine, I get full bandwidth (~4 MB/s) when downloading from their FTP.

Tracert (cut down to where the latency raises significantly, starting with the 5th hop):

Quote:
8 ms 40 ms 8 ms 213.46.173.125
7 ms 9 ms 9 ms at-inn01a-ra1-so-1-0-0-0.aorta.net [213.46.173.226]
111 ms 117 ms 111 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
112 ms 110 ms 112 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
110 ms 111 ms 115 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.41]
111 ms 111 ms 121 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
113 ms 112 ms 110 ms 208.95.185.41

Nettest:

Quote:
unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: XX.XXX.XX.XX (censored)
Ping: 125.3 msec
Port: 80: 13 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 22 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 15 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: timed out
Port: 7255: 17 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 20 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 21 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 17 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 21 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: timed out
Port: 7499: 13 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 20 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 15 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit
I've put nettest.exe into the list of exceptions in my internet security suite (program control as well as firewall), seems like it doesn't change a thing.

Windows (7) doesn't report any network activity when idle, so the connection is not really used except for what I want to use it for.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,396
# 362
03-02-2013, 07:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdotsx View Post
I currently have really, really bad lags. Being in sector space looks like a picture with sporadic movements of the ships.

Connection to my ISP seems fine, I get full bandwidth (~4 MB/s) when downloading from their FTP.

Tracert (cut down to where the latency raises significantly, starting with the 5th hop):

8 ms 40 ms 8 ms 213.46.173.125
7 ms 9 ms 9 ms at-inn01a-ra1-so-1-0-0-0.aorta.net [213.46.173.226]
111 ms 117 ms 111 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
112 ms 110 ms 112 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
110 ms 111 ms 115 ms border11.te7-1-bbnet1.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.41]
111 ms 111 ms 121 ms perfectworldent-4.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
113 ms 112 ms 110 ms 208.95.185.41

....
tinet.net is a transatlantic cable provider. You might want to post your Trace Route results into this PWE Tech Support thread to make them aware of the issue, and see if they can tweak their gateway to improve performance... http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

The other thing you could try is the Europe Proxy setting in the Launcher, which may be able to switch you to a different transatlantic cable connection. (which may be better or worse then the one your using...)
Lieutenant
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 43
# 363
03-04-2013, 02:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by grouchyotaku View Post
The other thing you could try is the Europe Proxy setting in the Launcher, which may be able to switch you to a different transatlantic cable connection. (which may be better or worse then the one your using...)
Definitely better, thanks.
Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 441
# 364
03-09-2013, 09:25 PM
Might I reiterate to everyone posting nettest results: For your own safety and the security of your connection, please black out or otherwise remove your local IP address when posting your nettest.
****
Lagging, D/Cing, or rubberbanding? Here's some help.

Current ships: A lot. RTR 15 National Championships....and counting
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
# 365
03-13-2013, 06:14 AM
Alright I'm in an odd situation:

I almost never lag unless it's after a server patch when the population is funky and the servers aren't quite right. I'd say 95% of my gameplay is absolutely smooth.

Starting yesterday evening, I was getting extremely severe and odd lag, but only in STFs. It was a lot like rubberbanding, except the pause was extensive. I'd sit and wait 3-7 seconds before getting a response again, and without any "Server Not Responding" signal that I recall. I only actually rubband-bounced once or twice, but the lag and "freezes" happened for about 3-7 seconds, and with only about a second of playable time between them. Everyone around me seemed fine. I changed characters because the lag in that STF was completely unplayable and also because a lagging tac in a Bortasqu' is totally useless on the team.

After that, I got in a ground STF and had a more rubbanding-ish issue, and oddly, the NPCs were 2-shotting everyone on the team. I've no idea if that's related or not, but we literally all died before getting out of the hallway in roughly the first 20 seconds of us leaving the room. I logged out or changed characters or something to that nature (I don't remember what), and eventually got back on that toon and finished the STF after the lag seemed to have calmed down.

Later, as I went to pool my dilithium together across my toons, which involves switching toons rather constantly, I kept timing out when switching toons. It wasn't like a "oh, I might time out.." thing, it was more like a "well, there's another timeout." It would time out rather reliably. Sometimes it would time out after hitting the *play* button, and sometimes it would time out when going back to character selection screen. The timeout on going into the game was rather instant, but my client would sit and chug away while returning to character selection, only to fail about a minute or two later.

On top of that, my launcher is really acting strange. It takes about 15-30 seconds for the image to even appear, instead of that white screen with the italicized "loading" on it. After that, the whole thing is laggy. I mean, VERY laggy. Sometimes the images don't even fully load, only half or parts of them. Upon hitting my enter key after entering my username & password, it says "Unable to authenticate", until I spam enter and eventually it works. When it works, it's extremely sluggish. Sometimes it will sit there and the little Romulan timer thing will just totally stop ticking.


I've done the suggested tracert test and nettest from this thread. The results were:

Nettest:
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: -------------
Ping: 50.0 msec
Port: 80: 250 KB/sec 11 KB/sec 288 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: timed out
Port: 443: 248 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 294 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 296 KB/sec 13 KB/sec 339 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 277 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 309 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 321 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 345 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: timed out
Port: 7003: timed out
Port: 7202: timed out
Port: 7202: 338 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 367 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: timed out
Port: 7499: 273 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 311 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 287 KB/sec 12 KB/sec 319 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 2 KB/sec
hit return to exit


Tracert:

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms home [192.168.1.254]
2 45 ms 30 ms 21 ms 75-27-8-2.lightspeed.iplsin.sbcglobal.net [75.27
.8.2]
3 * * 32 ms 75.19.192.32
4 27 ms 21 ms * 75.19.192.138
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 22 ms 21 ms 21 ms 12.83.79.1
7 25 ms 24 ms 24 ms cgcil02jt.ip.att.net [12.122.81.21]
8 26 ms 26 ms 26 ms be2000.ccr22.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.12
.85]
9 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms te0-3-0-0.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.5.1]
10 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms te0-5-0-6.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
.45.242]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 50 ms 51 ms 51 ms 38.111.40.114
13 51 ms 50 ms 50 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.


The tracert seemed alright, but the nettest showed a ton of timeouts. Any suggestions? I've never encountered this problem before, and my regular internet seems just fine.


Edit: The character selection lag seems to have gotten better since yesterday. The launcher, though, seems worse. It gave me a message to the extent of "Unable to connect to account server" or something like that, when I hit "Engage." I sat and hit it repeatedly until it worked, and it didn't take long. Once it worked, I was in relatively instantly. It's either a hit or a miss, it seems :/

Last edited by avalanchethepro; 03-13-2013 at 06:30 AM. Reason: elaboration
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,396
# 366
03-13-2013, 08:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by avalanchethepro View Post
...

The tracert seemed alright, but the nettest showed a ton of timeouts. Any suggestions? I've never encountered this problem before, and my regular internet seems just fine.


Edit: The character selection lag seems to have gotten better since yesterday. The launcher, though, seems worse. It gave me a message to the extent of "Unable to connect to account server" or something like that, when I hit "Engage." I sat and hit it repeatedly until it worked, and it didn't take long. Once it worked, I was in relatively instantly. It's either a hit or a miss, it seems :/
There's been other reports on the STO Forums about users of ATT Internet access having issues connection to the STO. So besides posting your Trace Route and Net Test results in this ongoing PWE Tech Support thread so that PWE has the info to kick Cogent Communications a few more times to help resolve the issue... http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

... as a temporary work-around, have you tried using the US Proxy option setting in the Launcher ?
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
# 367
03-13-2013, 08:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by grouchyotaku View Post
There's been other reports on the STO Forums about users of ATT Internet access having issues connection to the STO. So besides posting your Trace Route and Net Test results in this ongoing PWE Tech Support thread so that PWE has the info to kick Cogent Communications a few more times to help resolve the issue... http://techsupport.perfectworld.com/...ead.php?t=4181

... as a temporary work-around, have you tried using the US Proxy option setting in the Launcher ?
I haven't, but things seem to be running smoother. I've really no idea what's been causing this.
Career Officer
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 156
# 368
03-15-2013, 07:44 PM
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: *********
Ping: 750.0 msec
Port: 80: 42 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 46 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 52 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 57 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 49 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 54 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: timed out
Port: 7255: timed out
Port: 7255: timed out
Port: 7003: timed out
Port: 7003: 25 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 28 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 42 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 48 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 37 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 39 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 32 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 34 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: timed out
Port: 80: 42 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 48 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
# 369 Dns
03-18-2013, 12:40 PM
This only applies if your DNS is acting up.

Ok I'm sick of the rubber banding, a small bit of searching and I found this:

https://code.google.com/p/namebench/


This little program should recommend what DNS is right for you (it takes a while to run)

For me Google public DNS was 80.5% faster than my ISP DNS.
Ensign
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
# 370
03-18-2013, 07:37 PM
I have been experiencing disconnects all weekend, today I reinstalled, now I can't even connect, the launcher errors. Get the following Patcher error: The patchclient got a message while it was in a state with no response function

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms home [*.*.*.*]
2 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms bas1-london15_lo0_SYMP.net.bell.ca [64.230.200.218]
3 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms dis21-london14_9-1-0_100.net.bell.ca [64.230.59.80]
4 32 ms 31 ms 31 ms bx6-chicago23_POS0-2-0-0.net.bell.ca [64.230.186.198]
5 * * 28 ms te4-1.ccr01.ord09.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.11.29]
6 27 ms 29 ms 28 ms te3-5.mag01.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.29.189]
7 28 ms 28 ms 29 ms te0-5-0-3.ccr21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.45.193]
8 73 ms 76 ms 76 ms te0-7-0-32.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.45.218]
9 74 ms 74 ms 74 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.42]
10 110 ms 107 ms 107 ms 38.111.40.114
11 99 ms 99 ms 97 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: *.*.*.*
Ping: 107.5 msec
Port: 80: 27 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 30 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 21 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 23 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 25 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 27 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 42 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 30 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 33 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: timed out
Port: 7003: 25 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 28 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 28 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 45 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 29 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 31 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 27 KB/sec 1 KB/sec 29 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: timed out
Port: 7499: 32 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 36 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 29 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 47 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 1 KB/sec Recv: 1 KB/sec
hit return to exit

speedtest.net: 10ms ping, 6.12 Mbps down, 0.68 Mbps up

I can keep pings going across the country at avg 97ms ping (127ms max), 0 drops.
It runs perfectly even while game keeps disconnecting...
Web surfing, etc... appears unaffected, it's just STO.

Bell Sympatico Ontario
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 AM.