Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
# 241
04-06-2013, 08:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamojr View Post
This program works ok for me with Champions right now, but I was wondering if you can use it to play both Champions and STO? Would I have to download it again and rename the CO one or something?
I'm not 100% sure, but I think these wrappers can only be set to one exe at a time. I think you'll need a second copy and point it at STO.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 77
# 242
04-07-2013, 11:45 AM
So I've been able to get past the loading screen on Tribble, but once I get here the game just freezes. Interestingly the loading screen is full screen, but this screen is windowed:
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i6...07at144237.png

peter
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 243
04-07-2013, 05:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamojr View Post
This program works ok for me with Champions right now, but I was wondering if you can use it to play both Champions and STO? Would I have to download it again and rename the CO one or something?
I haven't tried... I keep them separate.

I think someone told me if you install both, and launch the launcher, you can select one or the other in the launcher.. or something like that? that would work. Otherwise I'd probably write myself a little launcher program to choose, or even a simple batch file.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
I'm having a frustrating issue with the game: Ever since 5 April, I can't get into the game. I had it working fine for a long time until then. I didn't mess with any settings or anything else. All I did was log out and then try to log back in, but I couldn't because all I was getting was a back white screen.

So I re-installed it and now I can log in with my username and password, and it says "Loading launcher..." for a second or two, as if it's going to start up normally, but then it doesn't patch. At the bottom of the screen, instead of patching, it just stays black and empty. In that area in the lower right corner of the screen it says "Patch" but if I click on it, nothing happens. It's kinda hard to describe. Here's a picture so you can see what I'm talking about:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/43646180/IM...407_221036.jpg

After I log in, that's all I get. Basically I can log in but it doesn't patch or launch beyond that log-in/patch screen. I've re-installed both the game and the wrapper several times, to no avail. Any ideas as to what might be causing it, and how to fix it?

Update: Never mind, after about a couple dozen tries, I finally figured out what was wrong; it was the engine. I switched to a different engine in Wineskin and that got it working again.

Last edited by jaywest21; 04-08-2013 at 12:15 PM. Reason: Fixed
Career Officer
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 145
# 245
04-08-2013, 07:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfreeman View Post
So I've been able to get past the loading screen on Tribble, but once I get here the game just freezes. Interestingly the loading screen is full screen, but this screen is windowed:
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i6...07at144237.png

peter
ya i am having the same issue

got my Wine engine and wrapper at latest; and working fine on holodeck

but seems to get stuck at the brightness slider when trying to log in to tribble
Ensign
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
So my launcher used to have the old windows header, not the mac one, until a few days ago. I hadn't changed any settings, but when I opened it this is what I got:
http://i.imgur.com/0i7oNvD.png

The header is changed and there's a second window with fed badge thumbnail in it. I updated wine to 2.5.9 but nothing changed. I'm unsure how to reinstall the game or if any of you think that would help.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
I have a question: Which version of Wineskin and which engine would you recommend for Snow Leopard 10.6.8?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
# 248
04-12-2013, 05:52 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlebeng14 View Post
So my launcher used to have the old windows header, not the mac one, until a few days ago. I hadn't changed any settings, but when I opened it this is what I got:
http://i.imgur.com/0i7oNvD.png

The header is changed and there's a second window with fed badge thumbnail in it. I updated wine to 2.5.9 but nothing changed. I'm unsure how to reinstall the game or if any of you think that would help.
I'd go in Wineskin.app and turn Window decorations back off... they are more trouble than they are worth sometimes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywest21 View Post
I have a question: Which version of Wineskin and which engine would you recommend for Snow Leopard 10.6.8?
Cannot just use the ones in the download here? If you want to do it yourself or upgrade... I haven't experimented with any of this much lately. If i did (when i do), I'll try with the latest Wine versions and the MacDriver and not use X11.
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 586
# 249
04-17-2013, 04:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlebeng14 View Post
So my launcher used to have the old windows header, not the mac one, until a few days ago. I hadn't changed any settings, but when I opened it this is what I got:
http://i.imgur.com/0i7oNvD.png

The header is changed and there's a second window with fed badge thumbnail in it. I updated wine to 2.5.9 but nothing changed. I'm unsure how to reinstall the game or if any of you think that would help.

I have had this problem quite often lately. It seems to stop working after a few days. Then the same thing happens.. and then I have to reinstall... before it worked to copy over the map from one to another.. but now that doesn't work.

Anyone knows what the problem is?

I also have the problem that the icon does not start up the program.. sometimes I have to go into the winskin and run a test to make the prompt show up and start the program.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
# 250
04-17-2013, 03:56 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealdoh123 View Post

Cannot just use the ones in the download here? If you want to do it yourself or upgrade... I haven't experimented with any of this much lately. If i did (when i do), I'll try with the latest Wine versions and the MacDriver and not use X11.
The latest version of the Wineskin wrapper works fine but the latest version of the engine doesn't. It lets me log in but the launcher doesn't work or even load. So by trial and error I kept experimenting with many different engines til I finally found one that works (CX12.1.2, I think). That's the one I had been using when I was running OSX 10.8.3 Mountain Lion (I couldn't remember the number of it so I had to keep trying different ones til I found it). But my old (2008) iMac ran like crap on Lion and Mountain Lion (ridiculously slow, lagging, crashing, unresponsive, etc.), even after I had upgraded my RAM from 2GB to 4GB. So I went back to OSX 10.6.8 Snow Leopard and now it's super fast and runs like a dream, better than new. So I decided to just leave it on Snow Leopard.

Anyway, I was just wondering if there might be certain engines in the Wineskin wrapper that are better for certain versions of OSX than others, i.e. if there might be some engines that are specifically optimized for Snow Leopard. Theoretically you should be able to just run the newest versions of both the wrapper and the engine, but that wasn't the case for me, even tho I used the download from here, which had everything up to date as far as I could tell.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 PM.