Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 14
# 1 Lose Navigation in STF Elites
04-12-2013, 05:22 AM
I'm not sure if this is intentional, but it is frustrating while playing STFs, that, after I spawn and have no damage, I lose navigation for about 30 seconds, maybe more. Again, my ship has no damage, either it was damaged and I repaired it, or I respawned and have no damage to speak of.

Without navigation (ability to turn) all I can do is drive my ship toward whatever target I am pointed at, fire at it with all I have, and either I get my navigation back or they blow me up. I don't like "hull butting' a Borg Tactical cube while firing on it. I need to turn.

Anyone experience this? Intentional by game developers or a bug? Of course, I reported it several times and nothing has changed.
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,978
# 2
04-12-2013, 05:35 AM
I've noticed the same behavior, only in HOSE. You're only able to move forward and not turn from the respawn point after being defeated. This lasts anywhere from 30 seconds to 2 minutes and can be extremely frustrating.
Captain Kirk is climbing a mountain. Why is he climbing a mountain? Is he learning to fly?
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,041
# 3
04-12-2013, 05:41 AM
press esc, or click somewhere on the screen, or select a different target. problem should be solved
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
10k DPS Vesta threads: 1; 2
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,978
# 4
04-12-2013, 05:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdzso0 View Post
press esc, or click somewhere on the screen, or select a different target. problem should be solved
I've tried this and it doesn't work.
Captain Kirk is climbing a mountain. Why is he climbing a mountain? Is he learning to fly?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 609
# 5
04-12-2013, 05:47 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferdzso0 View Post
press esc, or click somewhere on the screen, or select a different target. problem should be solved
This. I think its because you were targeting something when you went poof. Click anywhere and it should come back.

I had it in ISE the other night. It was quite funny as I went sailing through the gate... could have ended up in Borg space! lol
Admiral Rednall
* Server Hamster attitude upgrade - Installed *
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
# 6
04-12-2013, 06:10 AM
Happens often.
Just press escape two times (get the option window pop and then disappear) and will fix immediately
By the way, it seems to only happen when you start full impulse after respawning.

Last edited by mushimushimelody; 04-12-2013 at 06:13 AM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 90
# 7
04-13-2013, 02:39 AM
I find if I left click my mouse with the cursor in empty space, I regain control of my ship.
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 959
# 8
04-15-2013, 12:48 PM
Clicking empty space always fixes this instantly for me. Not sure how this bug crept in though - some change to the camera in S8 or something?
_________________________________________________
[Kluless][Kold][Steel Heels][Snagtooth]
[Louis Cipher][Outta Gum][Thysa Kymbo][Spanner][Frakk]
[D'Mented][D'Licious]
Joined October 2009. READ BEFORE POSTING
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,048
# 9
04-15-2013, 07:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by naevius View Post
Clicking empty space always fixes this instantly for me. Not sure how this bug crept in though - some change to the camera in S8 or something?
It seems to be the third person ground-combat targeting accidentally being applied to space. You're not locked on fixed straight line, you are actively tracking the enemy, but that's hard to notice if you die trying to kill a fixed target like a gate.

It happened a lot more earlier in Season 7, got patched for a while but seems to have crept back in.

Tab will also clear the lock and therefore the bug most times if Esc doesn't work once.
Commander
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 265
# 10
04-22-2013, 04:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by naevius View Post
Clicking empty space always fixes this instantly for me. Not sure how this bug crept in though - some change to the camera in S8 or something?
No, its an old one - had those accidents way before s7. Best way to fix/avoid it is to click somewhere on the screen just after respawn.
May 2013, automatic permanent ban for mentioning gold-seller sites
pwebranflakes: this system is currently in place and working the way it should.
moradum: I got banned for saying "I started my day with cutting off 3 MM off of the bottom of my cabinet"
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 PM.