Go Back   Star Trek Online > Feedback > The Art of Star Trek Online
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Career Officer
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 128
This is a bit of a long shot but in Champions Online there was a "/" command you could enter while in-game that would allow you to increase / decrease the resolution beyond what the Options menu allows. This was a great way to get amazing screenshots (though it shot FPS into the toilet).

Unfortunately I've lost my notes on the / command.

Does anyone know if STO has a similar command and, if so, what it is?
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,228
# 2
04-30-2013, 09:31 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by domvina View Post
This is a bit of a long shot but in Champions Online there was a "/" command you could enter while in-game that would allow you to increase / decrease the resolution beyond what the Options menu allows. This was a great way to get amazing screenshots (though it shot FPS into the toilet).

Unfortunately I've lost my notes on the / command.

Does anyone know if STO has a similar command and, if so, what it is?
Not sure about the command.

But you could use demorecord

/demorecord [name_of_your_file]

to stop:

/demorecord_stop

Then you navigate to your "Live" folder on your local drive, and look inside "demos" folder of STO

Then using STODemoLauncher you can render the demo file into .jpg at just about any resolution.

The .jpg are then rendered to your Live > "Screenshots" folder

You can take the step further and use VirtualDub to render the screenshots into an .avi movie if you desire too.

Hope this is of some help
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
# 3
04-30-2013, 09:51 AM
I think the command you want is /renderscale #

where '#' is a number; 1 is normal; 2 is double, 3 triple and so on. Decimals are accepted. Going above 3 is highly likely to strain the game however and possibly crash it depending on specs. As long as you're not moving and the background isn't busy it should be fine.

If you want better background and stuff is fading out you can also use /visscale #
to alter the drop off distance; the higher '#' is, the higher the draw distance for background details etc. similar cautionaries apply to setting it to high.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,473
# 4
04-30-2013, 10:20 AM
stormturmoil hit the nail on the head.

Here is a link to a dev post (saying the same thing with some extra tidbits): http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...04&postcount=8
nynik | Join Date: Dec 2009
<Dev> Oaks@dstahl: *checks for CBS listening devices in the office*
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,031
# 5
04-30-2013, 10:24 AM
Yes, you're thinking of /renderscale.

I really don't recommend you go beyond 3. . .
-The Artist formerly known as Tumerboy



Quote:
Originally Posted by mightybobcnc View Post
Tacofangs, what is your beef with where's Sulu?
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,336
# 6
04-30-2013, 10:58 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacofangs View Post
Yes, you're thinking of /renderscale.

I really don't recommend you go beyond 3. . .

I went beyond 3 once... it was terrible.





No, joking aside the game client crashed after awhile for me on renderscale 4.
Career Officer
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 128
# 7
04-30-2013, 11:17 AM
Thank you everyone! d(^.^)o
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 144
# 8
04-30-2013, 01:36 PM
No terrible would be /renderscale .1. Don't do it!

I admit I found myself using /renderscale .5 on most of tribble now. I could turn down my graphics...but I like 500% BLOOM!
---------------------
DeltaFox
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,031
# 9
04-30-2013, 02:03 PM
.1 is cubist mode.

10 is burn down your house mode.
-The Artist formerly known as Tumerboy



Quote:
Originally Posted by mightybobcnc View Post
Tacofangs, what is your beef with where's Sulu?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 987
# 10
04-30-2013, 02:05 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacofangs View Post
.1 is cubist mode.

10 is burn down your house mode.
I took a renderscale 10 screen once. The screen isn't what crashed STO; I forgot to decrease it back to 1 before I did something else.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 PM.