Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
When I heard there was an update to "all" the textures, I couldn't wait to see what they did. Having been with the game since day one, I've seen all its changes, good and bad. I have to say, though, I'm not at all impressed with this more recent change.

It looks to me that they just used a sharpen filter and then recompressed the textures. In some cases the compression is worse than before. It makes the environment look overly sharpened and in some ways is hard to look at.

I took some quick shots and composed some before and afters.

http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/2486/comp1s.jpg
You can see the texture in the silver structure is degraded.

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/1995/comp2w.jpg
Here you can see the background consoles are much sharper, as is the carpet.

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/8759/comp3q.jpg FIXED
But when you get closer, they are a lot worse than before. And these textures were never great to start with, which was a big complaint when this bridge set was released. It was never fixed and now getting worse.

http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/9963/comp4m.jpg
There isn't much of a noticeable difference here, but you can see in some places that the textures were sharpened.

http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/1787/comp5b.jpg
It does seem that the shadows are darker. Possibly the AO has been darkened some.

http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/7540/comp6v.jpg
Here you can really see the difference with the windows on ESD. They almost stand out too much. And Earth... well, that's a bug, but they are all dead now. Maybe the Roms can move there once the atmosphere is back. ;P

Anyway, this is just one player's opinion. I'm not really digging this at all. Especially the downgrade in textures (consoles) for a paid for C-store item.

I really hope you guys (TACO) will continue to make adjustments. At this point I'd prefer to keep what we currently have. Give me an option at least. XD


EDIT: Some new ones.


http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/5330/comp7.jpg
The paintings got screwed up just like the consoles did. Might need to replace them as well. I checked a couple bridges and they all had lower quality paintings on Tribble.


http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/691/comp8.jpg
When you know what you're looking for, you start to see it all over. It's muddy looking, filled with artifacts. This was in the medical section of ESD.

http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/3637/comp9r.jpg
Again in medical on ESD. The original had some artifacts to begin with, but the update made it all sorts of worse.

http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/6236/comp10o.jpg
Most people wouldn't even see this unless they really looked, but on the highlighted area you can see that the new one is just not as smooth as the original.

http://img607.imageshack.us/img607/985/comp11r.jpg
These are probably the same textures used above, but in another area.


And some more...

DS9

http://imageshack.us/a/img692/6246/comp12.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img42/6403/comp13.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img29/5976/comp14q.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img40/1183/comp15l.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img526/3604/comp16.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img835/5677/comp17.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img708/9553/comp18.jpg
The iconic Quark's light/mural thing got hit. -_-


First City

http://imageshack.us/a/img267/1941/comp19.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img9/1282/comp20.jpg

http://imageshack.us/a/img405/9085/comp21.jpg

Most people wouldn't notice the walls, but if you look close you can see that there is a loss of detail. The first is missing a lot of cracks and the last is just muddled that most of the dark spots are just gone.

Last edited by averis76; 05-05-2013 at 02:55 PM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 242
# 2
05-01-2013, 05:17 PM
Overall, If I didnt know they had changed I never would have noticed.

Now I have always though the game looked great and my only issues were some amatuerish lighting issues - which some have been fixed.

I am wondering if some issues could be that we need to re adjust some of our settings. Ive had the same ones for years.

I also wonder if they will offer an NVIDIA profile now or optimal settings info
PWE IS NOT A REPUTABLE COMPANY
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 262
# 3
05-01-2013, 05:25 PM
[quote=averis76;9578001]http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/1995/comp2w.jpg
Here you can see the background consoles are much sharper, as is the carpet.

http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/8759/comp3q.jpg
But when you get closer, they are a lot worse than before. And these textures were never great to start with, which was a big complaint when this bridge set was released. It was never fixed and now getting worse.

Carpet looks about the same to me, maybe even a little better (more accurate?). I do agree on the consoles though. They look better from a distance, but up close they look pixelated, at least in your picture. I haven't checked myself, but I will after the new patch (that might be fixing some or all of these "issues" anyway).


Quote:
Originally Posted by averis76 View Post
http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/7540/comp6v.jpg
Here you can really see the difference with the windows on ESD. They almost stand out too much. And Earth... well, that's a bug, but they are all dead now. Maybe the Roms can move there once the atmosphere is back. ;P
I tend to agree on this one. ESD looked almost movie-accurate as it was. The windows are a little too "bright" now.

I still want bare feet.... on ALL costumes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 170
# 4
05-01-2013, 05:28 PM
I like the starbase, it looks more similar to how I remember it from the show (i.e. bright windows). Overall the changes seem okey, though I wonder why they don't use separate textures for everything, one for far away and a higher resolution one for when you are closer.
Career Officer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
# 5
05-02-2013, 04:51 PM
I guess not that many are bothered by this. I would think more would at least be bothered by the lose of quality in textures for a paid-for item. This is kind of disappointing.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,085
# 6
05-02-2013, 05:00 PM
I have another issue regrading recent texture upgrades to certain starship classes, but I've already explained that here.
---------------------------------------------------
U.S.S. Endeavour NCC-91771 - Nebula-class
Commanding Officer: Captain Pyotr Ramonovich Amosov
Dedication Plaque: "Leave nothing unattempted" - James Cook
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 242
# 7
05-02-2013, 06:33 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by averis76 View Post
I guess not that many are bothered by this. I would think more would at least be bothered by the lose of quality in textures for a paid-for item. This is kind of disappointing.
its so hard to compare. i mean they changed ALL (or so they say) textures.

With out a side by side actually in the game I cant really tell. Some stuff looks better. or seems to. Some things seem to maybe not look as great and most everything looks the same.

The one console image to me looks like its was a size issue. Like it needed to be (made up) 4x4 and its only a 2x2
PWE IS NOT A REPUTABLE COMPANY
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 235
# 8
05-02-2013, 07:11 PM
looks like some got a pass through photoshop and had sharpen applied a few times.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,438
# 9
05-02-2013, 07:36 PM
As I understood, a lot of the graphical changes, new lightning engine included, was to make the game run better for a wider range of people.


I kind of agree with the sentiment though. I kind of prefer the more muted look. It doesn't cause the eye to focus on things as much and encourages overlooking lower quality textures that improve performance.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,000
# 10
05-02-2013, 08:54 PM
After I got don't with this painfully slowly loading patch the game decided for me that it would load off my Intel HD 4000 graphics instead of my video card. I was actually surprised at how well the game played at basic settings (native resolution and graphics bar at 3/4). I found out the hard way, because I decided to crank the settings, how I play on Holodeck and the game took a dump. So there are improvements that the integrated graphics can handle STO a lot better.
Hi, my name is: Elim Garak, Former Cardassian Oppressor

LTS, here since...when did this game launch again?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:00 PM.