Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Please PLEASE PLEASE!! Put a cancel button on the connecting to log in Screen that always seems to happen once or twice when i relog. That will mean i don't have to sit and wait for a timeout when i know thats whats going to happen 3 mins later.

Please bump and sign this thread as I am sure you suffer as I do, and if a dev would reply it would be fantastic to see a sign of caring on any of these posts.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-03-2010, 06:52 AM
Play in windowed mode. Your cancel button will be the little red x in the upper right corner.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-03-2010, 06:56 AM
The long timeout is most likely intentional to prevent people from hammering the servers.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-03-2010, 07:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lx31
Play in windowed mode. Your cancel button will be the little red x in the upper right corner.
I don't want to play in windowed mode; I would however like to abort a connection attempt that I know is going to timeout in five minutes' time without having to wait that five minutes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-03-2010, 07:14 AM
I've once recommended that a button to return to the login screen be made available on every loading screen. it was a feature present in Everquest 2 that I really appreciated. So, this has my support.

Now if only they could put the animated loading screens back in...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-03-2010, 07:22 AM
I agree, we need at a cancel button of sorts.

I've tried to zone into an instance, got about 10% loaded then big red 'DISCONNECTED FROM SERVER' appeared at the top of the loading screen. No buttons, escape didn't work, so I figured I'd grab a snack while waiting to time out. Came back 4-5 minutes later and nothing had changed. Good ol ctrl + shift + esc -> end task fixed that.

In fact I really am annoyed at the lack of interaction with the game itself. No indication your are lagged out in space other than the fact you are stuck moving at 1/4 impulse regardless of what you were doing before, can only fire torps that have no effect and turn at the rate you would when stopped. Ground combat is the same. I walk half way across DS9 and wonder why the window doesn't pop up in front of a merchent only to be rubberbanded back to the zone in point with no idea whatsoever I was lagging. During these laggy moments you can't even log out / back in. Have to shut it down compeltely or sit around hoping for it to fix itself or get DC'd.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.