Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 ATI Artifacts/Flickering
02-02-2010, 10:56 AM
I have an ATI Radeon 3600.

Right now the game is totally unplayable. Game loads fine, once Im in though my screen is covered with multicolored and black boxes. Strangely enough, when I look straight up or straight down, they go away!

I've tried turning off dynamic lights and post processing. Turning off Dynamic Lights does nothing and turning off Post Processing clears the majority of the multi colored boxes though the black boxes remain.

I've heard that this is now the case for a good portion of ATI users though in beta (which I wasnt around for) everything was fine. What's the deal?

I suppose I'll call their tech support later or something.

A Dev or Forum Mod response would go a long way here. I have yet to see ANY in response to this problem.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-02-2010, 11:00 AM
See other thread... no usable answer, only workarounds which donīt seem to work for all users...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-02-2010, 11:21 AM
Post your dxdiag using pastebin.com and post a screenshot here for reference.

Also remember, you have a pretty underpowered card for this game. It most certainly may run, but it might give you errors.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-02-2010, 11:41 AM
Sorry, Radeon HD 3600.

Yes, it's old anyway, but runs other games just fine and with good settings.

Besides the major artifacting etc. STO runs fine. Isn't stuttery or slow, doesn't take long to load either.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-02-2010, 12:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronCzar
Sorry, Radeon HD 3600.

Yes, it's old anyway, but runs other games just fine and with good settings.

Besides the major artifacting etc. STO runs fine. Isn't stuttery or slow, doesn't take long to load either.
It might well run other games, but STO is one of the more "next-gen" type games. It stress's your system a lot, and if your system cant handle that stress.......

If you posted your dxdiag log and a screenshot if possible, we would be able to help you much easier. Vague descriptions can only go so far.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-02-2010, 12:15 PM
actually i get a flickering/artifact's normally i can fix it by clicking default and then redoing settings.
had it happern a few times, with and without messing with advance settings
running 2x 4850's 1gb's in crossfire
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-02-2010, 02:57 PM
Same issue here i've got a new HD5770 Mass effect 2 runs smooth so ...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-03-2010, 12:29 AM
I had the same problem at first with my 5870. After I updated the drivers, all was well. I suggest people go to the ATI site and update, which was a 70 mb download for me.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-03-2010, 02:06 AM
Good Advice....but I have the latest drivers (10.1) unless they updated since yesterday :-(

What I donīt get is why thereīs never a reaction based on the fact that the beta didnīt cause any artifacts... Iīm no expert, but I guess the engine hasnīt changed since last friday, so provided the "powerful" engine is causing the trouble it schould have been earlier ?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-03-2010, 02:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgp123 View Post
It might well run other games, but STO is one of the more "next-gen" type games. It stress's your system a lot, and if your system cant handle that stress.......

If you posted your dxdiag log and a screenshot if possible, we would be able to help you much easier. Vague descriptions can only go so far.
What if Crysis works fine? And Dragon age, Mass Effect 2, LotRO etc..

Set aside LotRO, which by teh way has the "better Graphics" for me, these arenīt old.school engines, are they?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.