Lt. Commander
I was not sure how I was going to feel about this game. I was totally burned by Cryptic with Champions Online, which is just a pure joke of a game. I had extremely high expectations for STO, and I didn't think Cryptic could fulfill them. I actually had a closed Beta invitation, that I got from having been in the beta and pre-release from CO. However I declined to join the closed beta, because I had no faith in Cryptic, and because I started playing WoW again, and was enjoying my gaming experience there.

However yesterday, I decided to give STO a shot. I had a 50 dollars worth of rewards points from Best Buy, so I got the game for free, and I figured no risk, and I could try the game without the strain of dealing with beta and pre release.

So what were my impressions? Suprisingly good.

First off, the installation and patching were very smooth, and didn't take all that long. Compared to the joke that was the CO launch, this was a pleasant suprise.

The game was smooth, the load screens were incredibly quick, and the graphics were incredible. Then I get the Cinematics of the opening shot and there's is the voice of Leonard Nimoy himself! Awesome, I wasn't expecting that. Then we get to the starting tutorial, everything is pretty simple and laid out like a tutorial should be, unlike the CO tutorial that was one big massive mess. So then they get new Spock/Sylar to walk you through the tutorial, cool! Wasn't expecting that either.

The biggest thing that jumped out at me is this game is just plain fun. I haven't had that experience with a Cryptic game since City of Heroes. The game was incredibly fun, the graphics were breath taking, and I coudn't stop playing, and I hadn't even gotten past the tutorial yet. I played up to some of the first missions where you're travelling through Warp space in the Alpha quadrent, and I was amazed at how big the game was.