Lt. Commander
# 1 Critical Assessment
02-03-2010, 11:17 AM
I am very critical of MMORPGs. I have high expectations which are rarely met. When I examine a MMORPG and find success in design only part of my expectations are achieved. Not a single MMORPG ever produced has ever received anything above a personal C+ grade. This is because I am a burgeoning MMORPG designer myself. No game I have ever played has had the depth and scope of my personal designs. Does this mean those MMORPGs I have played are bad MMORPGs? No, not at all.

The ultimate defining point for the success of a MMORPG design overall is if it is fun. The second main defining point for the success of a MMORPG design at launch is potential. STO threatens to be a B-, but at this point, only threatens. The reasons for this are it is simply fun and I have never seen a MMORPG with such potential as I see in STO.

STO has the most fun assemblage of game-play mechanics I have ever experienced, with the exception of the current “crafting system”. Now, keep in mind when I say STO has the most fun assemblage of game-play mechanics I mean specifically what is present in STO. Not “what could have been” or “should be” in STO. I am looking directly at what is there, and only that. I look at it this way because this is what Cryptic has offered us in a Star Trek MMORPG. The could-have-beens or should-have-beens are out the door. This is what in a Star Trek MMORPG right now.