Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Asteroids around every planet.
02-04-2010, 04:11 AM
I was all like, what the eff mate, why so many big rocks around every planet. then i remembered how atari is up in this piece.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZfsnA7dAHI

come to think of it i just did a mission that was exactly like that.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-04-2010, 04:14 AM
Whatever you do, don't hyper jump!!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-04-2010, 04:15 AM
Unfortunately, Atari isn't Atari any more. Hasn't been for a while. Through purchase, merger and corporate assimilation, the Atari brand name is now owned and used by Infogrames.

A leopard can change it's spots, but it's still a bloomin' leopard, aye? =/
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-04-2010, 04:16 AM
I do have to admit that having Asteroids and debris around 'every' frickin planet is a bit too much.

But I'm thinking that it is a 'graphical' representation guide for players to follow on their missions. When you think of how big some of the planets are, it would take forever to find enemy ships that we're suppose to be hunting.

I can hear all the "I want it now" people screaming that it takes too long to find targets.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-04-2010, 04:17 AM
ROFL

/10chars
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-04-2010, 04:17 AM
When weighed against the alternative, I'm glad that space is a little less empty in the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-04-2010, 04:19 AM
There's actually debris around earth right now....maybe not the size of most of the planets in the game but its not exactly 100% safe.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-04-2010, 04:20 AM
It very clearly is a mechanic in the same vein as the impulse trails - it's just a way of working out your way through the game, which otherwise would be a difficult task in a space environment.

However, it'd be nice if they changed things up a bit and, I dunno, maybe made a mission involving travelling between a planet's moons or whatever instead.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-04-2010, 04:20 AM
They could put in some other graphical pointers, waypoints or lights or something instead.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-04-2010, 04:36 AM
this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5DnqW3F57E is what I hear whenever I enter a sector in alpha centauri. If it escalates by zone pretty soon we'll be able to just get out and walk to the planets.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.