Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 20
I signed up about two years ago but because my computer sucked, I could never actually play until a few days ago (new computer *yay*)

But because of this, I suspect I'm running a very old tutorial?
I've aquired one bridge crew so far (the tactical officer) but after running missions and tutorials up to Lt 2nd grade, I still have no new bridge crew?

Does the tutorial/mission not give out bridge officers anymore?

My sister is running her game on the new platform and she's already got three bridge crew after two days of playing???

Where did my bridge officers go? Where do I find them?

Edit: I"m starting to think maybe I should just delete my character and start again on the new platform

p.s. where did the first person shooter go? My game has it but my sister doesn't and she is finding it hard work using the right mouse click to shoot people?
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,032
# 2
03-16-2014, 08:59 PM
I don't think you would have picked up too many officers by Lt. 2. They periodically show up as mission rewards, though I'm afraid I can't say exactly which ones.

If you have any bridge officers you haven't commissioned, they would show up on the right-hand side of the Stations tab on your Character page.



By default, you can enter and exit shooter mode by pressing "B."
You're right. The work here is very important.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacofangs View Post
...talking to players is like being a mall Santa. Everyone immediately wants to tell you all of the things they want, and you are absolutely powerless to deliver 99% of them.
Ensign
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 20
# 3
03-16-2014, 09:04 PM
I don't have any crew showing up at all, just the original tactical officer I was assigned at the end of the first tutorial? I just hit Lt 3 today and still no new crew

My sister has a full bridge crew after just two days of playing and she's only Lt 1?

I've tried toggling "B" and it allows me to switch to shooter mode but it won't fire any weapons?I can't figure out why it's not working all of a sudden?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffel82 View Post
I don't think you would have picked up too many officers by Lt. 2. They periodically show up as mission rewards, though I'm afraid I can't say exactly which ones.

If you have any bridge officers you haven't commissioned, they would show up on the right-hand side of the Stations tab on your Character page.



By default, you can enter and exit shooter mode by pressing "B."
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,032
# 4
03-16-2014, 09:30 PM
Are you playing the story missions? I think they are what award new crew members most frequently.

As for the shooting, it sounds like you might have to look at your key binds in the game options. Make sure you have keys assigned to your weapons - if you're not in shooter mode, you generally fire with the number keys (1, 2, and 3 for your melee attack).
You're right. The work here is very important.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tacofangs View Post
...talking to players is like being a mall Santa. Everyone immediately wants to tell you all of the things they want, and you are absolutely powerless to deliver 99% of them.
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 772
# 5
03-17-2014, 02:50 AM
New bridge crew members were removed from various standard missions since many were added to the new tutorial. If you did the old one, you can go to Starfleet Academy to claim the bridge officers you would have gotten if you had played the new tutorial. If you need more, you can purchase more from the NPC on Earth Space Dock for dilithium, but it would probably be even easier to buy some off the exchange.

On the other hand, if you're only Lt 2, you're not too far in, and the new tutorial is pretty neat. Starting over might not be a bad idea just to experience that.

For shooter mode, while the original hotkey was B, I believe for newer accounts that was changed to N. (Or maybe it was the other way around?) Either way, try one or the other, or just check your key bindings in your options. Also note that you can't fire your weapons in most social zones, so if that's where you're testing it, that might be the case.
Ainu - Join Date: Aug 2008
Foundry Missions: 1) The Source of Power (ST-HSWUBD5TQ) [Federation] 16+
-----=====*****<[ Fleet Recruitment Thread ]>*****=====-----
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,191
# 6
03-17-2014, 07:00 AM
Shooter mode is not all that --- if the target moves, you miss. Better to use the regular mode and tab to target, IMHO. Click targeting is, as you said, difficult, but tab and kill is pretty easy and you do not miss because it fires at your target, not at a location.

The game should give you crew pretty quickly --- you should have 3 by the time you are level 10 or so, and another by level 20 or so. After that it slows down a bit, but at level 11 you can start getting more from duty officer missions (just keep an eye out and visit your home planet often (or maybe ESD for feds), look under personal, and you might get a mission to evaluate an officer who will join your crew (or can be sold, etc). If you just cannot figure it out, there are usually some very cheap officers on the exchange, or just ask --- perhaps someone would be kind enough to donate you a couple of greenies.

I will echo the above: consider just starting over as things have changed and you may have forgotten some of the things the tutorial will show you.
Captain
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,740
# 7
03-17-2014, 08:11 AM
At Liutenent Commander (level 10) you should have already 4 bridge officers (plus more of em that will pop up in later missions).

Erm.. shooter mode is even harder than the regular mode.. maybe you dont need to aim anything manually with the mouse or other key.. STO is just not designed for that mode.. period.

You dont need to use the mouse to target (you can but i dont think thats the way people target something in the middle of a fight). Just assign a key that you have close to serve as targeting cycling, for example, to target the closest enemy. This can be activated in the control options. Unless you want to target a specific target, that, im afraid need to be done with the mouse, of course.

Last edited by edgecrysger; 03-17-2014 at 08:15 AM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 141
# 8
03-17-2014, 02:45 PM
If you're playing a Federation character then I think you need to start a new character because if you play the tutorial then you should have four Bridge crew by the time you finish it, if you skip the tutorial then the game forces you to accept your initial four bridge officers before you are allowed to beam up to your ship for the first time.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.