Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Mayhap Video Card problem
02-03-2010, 08:37 PM
I just bought and installed a Nvidia GeForce 210 PCI express card and installed it fine and it was working great. But then STO froze on launch day at the character select screen, and now windows wouldn't load or anything upgraded to windows 7 and everything worked perfect again and when I went to create my char. after I log out, windows freezes and I have to manually reboot again. the only way I could get windows to start back up is to uninstall my video card. I checked that site canurunit.com and it told me that the 210 would be an okay card to run STO that's why I bought it. Any advice?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-03-2010, 08:46 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sicvic View Post
I just bought and installed a Nvidia GeForce 210 PCI express card and installed it fine and it was working great. But then STO froze on launch day at the character select screen, and now windows wouldn't load or anything upgraded to windows 7 and everything worked perfect again and when I went to create my char. after I log out, windows freezes and I have to manually reboot again. the only way I could get windows to start back up is to uninstall my video card. I checked that site canurunit.com and it told me that the 210 would be an okay card to run STO that's why I bought it. Any advice?
if you have an on board chip for graphics you may want to disable it from bios or uninstall the graphics drivers so it's using the default microsoft drivers then try installing your 210 with the drivers that come with the cd

it just sounds like a conflict which is causing the comp to lock up.

edit also it depends on which slot of the mother board you install your card sometimes that causes trouble to i "think" video card mainly for the bottom or is it sound card first?

someone else may wanna pipe up about that i'm not sure.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-03-2010, 09:10 PM
okay thanks for the input. Just for the record I only have 1 PCI express slot PERIOD thats it no pci or agp or anything just that one slot. If you could how can I bring up my bios I used to know but it's been forever since I have.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-04-2010, 03:14 AM
Can you post your dxdiag log?


For the record, totally ignore that site you went to. It's not a good way of telling which games you can run at all. One of my mid range systems says it doesnt even meet the requirements for World of ********, yet i can play STO at 40 fps+ with it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-04-2010, 01:14 PM
could a Radeon x1650pro run this game pretty well? I had no problems with that card.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 PM.