Lt. Commander
Hey, I am loving Star Trek Online. The only thing I really don't like, and hope to Gawd that they change, is the bind-on-equip feature for items (where, if you equip an item, its bound and you can't ever trade it or put it in the fleet bank). I'm not sure why they did this. Why not let people trade their old gear? I had something I wanted to trade, but I put it on since it absorbed 20% of disruptor damage. So I put it on, and was pretty ticked off when I discovered later that I was unable to trade it!

Does anyone else feel the same way? Is there an actual REASON why they did this?

smokey joe

Lieutenant Robert Wallace
Commander, U.S.S. Thermopylae NCC-91025
Empyreal Order Fleet

EDIT: Ok guys, my mistake. You hit the nail on the head: I AM new to MMO's (TBH I dont really like MMOs as a whole, they just seem to be missing something that my favorite single and multiplayer games have). But what you said makes sense, it does keep the economy in order. I just couldnt for the life of me think of a reason they would do that until now. The only MMO I've ever played was Anarchy Online.
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-05-2010, 10:23 AM
No, it needs to stay as it is. Bind on equip is very common in MMOs and helps maintain the economy.

The 'white' items do not bind, so you can trade those, but the rares (green, blue, purple) do bind and that is just fine.
Lt. Commander
# 3
02-05-2010, 10:26 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zakoriz
No, it needs to stay as it is. Bind on equip is very common in MMOs and helps maintain the economy.

The 'white' items do not bind, so you can trade those, but the rares (green, blue, purple) do bind and that is just fine.
i disagree with the helps the economy statement. in lineage 2 there was no BOE and gear that had been used was an investment which could be resold sometimes at a profit in order to upgrade to the next tier of gear. and l2 had the deepest economy of any mmo i've played.