Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Ok in OB I played a tactical officer and after getting all 9 torpedo ranks I trained my tac officer in high yield 3 for when I got into my commander ship and loved it.

Now we're In the game properly and despite ranking up both torpedos and cannons to 9 I cant train officers in HY3 or Rapid Fire 3.

Is this because Im now playing an engineer? Can only tac players train officers in tac abilites?

EDIT: Should've mentioned I flew an escort in OB and in the full game
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-05-2010, 09:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlanoDcM View Post
Ok in OB I played a tactical officer and after getting all 9 torpedo ranks I trained my tac officer in high yield 3 for when I got into my commander ship and loved it.

Now we're In the game properly and despite ranking up both torpedos and cannons to 9 I cant train officers in HY3 or Rapid Fire 3.

Is this because Im now playing an engineer? Can only tac players train officers in tac abilites?
Yep, thats exactly how it works.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-05-2010, 09:35 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tain View Post
Yep, thats exactly how it works.
Would it be possible to trade one of my BO to a Tac player and have that player train the BO in HY3, then trade back?
Thanks,
Delekahn
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-05-2010, 09:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delekahn View Post
Would it be possible to trade one of my BO to a Tac player and have that player train the BO in HY3, then trade back?
Thanks,
Delekahn
I think thats how its supposed to work, yes. You can get another tac captain to train a BO of yours in the appropriate skill. I don't know if this is actually in and functioning, though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-05-2010, 09:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tain View Post
I think thats how its supposed to work, yes. You can get another tac captain to train a BO of yours in the appropriate skill. I don't know if this is actually in and functioning, though.
Nope, not currently functioning.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-05-2010, 09:56 PM
Unless you're flying an Escort it won't work anyway, since it's a Lt Cmdr skill. It'd be nice if they'd actually tell you that (HYT3 is lt cmdr, but cannon rapid fire 3 is a commander level skill, despite both being given by lt cmdr skills on your captain).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-06-2010, 02:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparhawk_Mike
Nope, not currently functioning.
Confirmed. I'm currently an Engineer flying an Escort (for kicks). I wanted to get some of my Tactical BO's trained by my Tactical Captain friend. We couldn't figure out how to make it work. I was under the impression trading and training BO's was part of the plan at some point.

Anyway, this was our process, if you're curious:

- I picked up a Common BO from the vendor at Earth for 100 merit.

- From the Assignments tab I dragged him from his un-commisioned spot to the trade window with my friend

This is where the problem arises. For Captains to train any BO's, they must be commissioned as part of the crew. The problem is, if he commisions the BO, he can't un-commission him and trade him back. Using the Discharge option deletes the BO, and there's no way to make him "tradeable" after joining the crew.

One of two things needs to happen to make player-trading BO-training possible:

- Discharged Bridge Officers need to appear in the un-commissioned part of the Assignments tab

or, (more appropriately)

- Captains need to gain the ability to train un-commissioned BO's via the "Train" button. At the moment only currently equipped officers are listed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-06-2010, 04:48 AM
Dont forget that you might train whatever rank III skill for whatever BO class, currently, only science vessel can use rank III trained science BOs, same for escort with tac BO, and cruiser with eng BO since you can only access (at T4/T5, i checked it in game with the ship comparator at earth shipyard) BO lvl 3 console, and a lvl 4 at T5 of the given ship class.

So trying to fit a TYH III trained tac BO on a science or cruiser vessel wont work until they either create (or upgrade existant, wich i dont believe) new ships and/or raise the player cap level to T6 and so on...

Just my 2 cents on this, but indeed we need either a more user friendly interface for trading BO's and actual possibility to train a BO then being able to trade it (via exchange AND direct trade)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9 Thanks Guys
02-06-2010, 04:52 AM
Ok thanks guys, it kinda sucks really considering the skill says reaching all 9 ranks gives you the ability to train officers in HY3 when it should say it gives Tactical Players the ability to train.
Well, looks like my escort is gonna be slightly gimped from what I like.

Cryptic take note of this, descriptions like these need to be clear to prevent people from messing this up, we shouldn't be learning these sorts of things through mistakes (especially with no respec system I know of).

And it's for more than just this, many aspects of skills and stats just arn't very clear, plus the BOff trading system clearly needs a look at if you can't aquire a desired skill through alternative means.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-06-2010, 11:31 AM
Is there a BO skill chart showing usable slots of the BO,s for the teir and ship there in? I am a Tactical LTC5 and Even thoough the sci and eng BO's have two skilled up slots only one is usable. My tac BO two are usable. How do you get the other slot in the other BO's usable? For instance my Sci Bo first two slots are Power to sheilds I in the first slot that works and the second is Reverse polarity I in the second slot and it isnt usable, they both are skilled to 9. But on ground both their skilled slots work.....?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.