Career Officer
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
# 41 Bringing Down the house
03-17-2014, 02:12 AM
Is there a known problem with "Bringing down the house"?

I Can't get passed talking to the farmers. One tells me they saw the Romulan was on the hill, then they all say it, but the mission doesn't update. So I can't go and find equipment on the hill.
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,111
# 42
03-17-2014, 02:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladewolf5 View Post
lol...there should have

1. slave auction house, people shouting auction price.
2. slave master taking slaves around,
3. drunk klingons,
4. slave master whipping slaves,
5. orion dancers

Kind of like a pirate haven will be nice.
It's not the orion home world, it's the Klingon one.
Those things might be nice at an orion base or planet.... Why would a new kdf base need to be Klingon after all those others are part of it too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stardestroyer001 View Post
Windows 7, 64-bit. Service Pack 1
Intel Core i3-2350M CPU @2.30 GHz 2.29 GHz
Memory: 6GB
Video: NVIDEA GeForce GT 520MX
Sound: Not sure
DirectX: 9 and 11 installed (DirectX 9 is for my older games)
HDD: ~50GB free on main disk
Network: Wired
Disc: DVD Writable, not sure on exact specifications

In other words, the game doesn't run smooth on a mediocre computer, and sure as heck will cause problems with base level computers. That's a serious design problem.
Well I run sto on an old mac book that is not build for gaming and has lower specs and first city works absolutely normal within those parameters.
Support more story content in STO
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,172
# 43
03-17-2014, 02:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by stardestroyer001 View Post
Windows 7, 64-bit. Service Pack 1
Intel Core i3-2350M CPU @2.30 GHz 2.29 GHz
Memory: 6GB
Video: NVIDEA GeForce GT 520MX
Sound: Not sure
DirectX: 9 and 11 installed (DirectX 9 is for my older games)
HDD: ~50GB free on main disk
Network: Wired
Disc: DVD Writable, not sure on exact specifications

In other words, the game doesn't run smooth on a mediocre computer, and sure as heck will cause problems with base level computers. That's a serious design problem.
I've seen it rum smoothly on less powerful systems than yours.
*EDIT: revandarklighter beat me to it/*

You should seriously consider taking this issue here:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/fo...play.php?f=126

or to simply turn down your graphics a notch for the First City.
[I'm not gonna patronize you with the usual "have you truned off any background programs" stuff, we're all grown up enough to know we shouldn't run too much junk in the background.]

Something I realized last night was that one universal complaint from most MMOs is that social zones are almost always a source of lag and graphical problems due to the large amount of player and non-player characters running around.
Republic Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,498
# 44
03-17-2014, 05:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coupaholic View Post
It makes me sad.

Such a great looking place, and not just the bar area, all of it. It is such a shame no-one uses it.

Can't speak for you guys, but my fleets starbase is a ghost town - such a waste. I definitely agree some of those assets should be re-used. Ripping out the bar area on Qo'nos and putting a smaller fleet starbase version in would be a good start. Let us toast Bloodwine together!
I agree, brother, it is disheartening ... But yours is obviously a Stout heart, and I would indeed love to share a tankard of Bloodwine with you and we shall endure until some petaQ at Cryptic shows us some respect ...

That is probably the one thing missing from Qo'noS, or First City ... The Warriors Mead Hall ...

(BTW, There are also a lot of NPC's wandering about my Fleets Klingon Starbase, so it doesn't seem quite so "lonely" It's truly, much better than Fed bases ... except for the Targ droppings everywhere)
Please ... Make it so ...!
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,430
# 45
03-17-2014, 06:46 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coupaholic View Post
It makes me sad.

Such a great looking place, and not just the bar area, all of it. It is such a shame no-one uses it.

Can't speak for you guys, but my fleets starbase is a ghost town - such a waste. I definitely agree some of those assets should be re-used. Ripping out the bar area on Qo'nos and putting a smaller fleet starbase version in would be a good start. Let us toast Bloodwine together!
Fleet starbases are generally ghost towns, except for RP fleets that use them in such manner. There are rarely many people on a fleet starbase at the same time together unless the fleet organizes some sort of an event or gathering on the starbase.

I wouldn't rip out the bar on Qo'noS, it's very Klingon and blinds in with the rest of the environment perfectly. Besides, I like to chat with Mek the Disagreable from time to time as well. You guys know Mek?
I don't know how many people have noticed, but the bar on Qo'noS has a lower level that is not being used currently. I wouldn't mind having some of the starbase assets, like the dancing girls for ex. ported over there and make that lower level a club-like area similar to Shangdu on Nimbus but smaller.
Because true Starfleet Captains command Exploration Cruisers!
Thank you Cryptic for finally giving me MY SHIP!!!
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,268
# 46
03-17-2014, 12:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by revandarklighter View Post
It's not the orion home world, it's the Klingon one.
Those things might be nice at an orion base or planet.... Why would a new kdf base need to be Klingon after all those others are part of it too.
You raise a good point. We should have an Orion homeworld, as well as a Gorn homeworld.

And yeah, a reduction in the massive amounts of NPCs that just walk back and forth on the Qo'noS map would be nice. I mean, don't get rid of all of them, they do add nicely to the 'populated' feel. . .but it's a little much.
tIqIpqu' 'ej nom tIqIp
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,614
# 47
03-17-2014, 12:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterde3 View Post
I've seen it rum smoothly on less powerful systems than yours.
*EDIT: revandarklighter beat me to it/*

You should seriously consider taking this issue here:

http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/fo...play.php?f=126

or to simply turn down your graphics a notch for the First City.
[I'm not gonna patronize you with the usual "have you truned off any background programs" stuff, we're all grown up enough to know we shouldn't run too much junk in the background.]

Something I realized last night was that one universal complaint from most MMOs is that social zones are almost always a source of lag and graphical problems due to the large amount of player and non-player characters running around.
That's probably it. I always make sure to transfer to a less full instance when at ESD, and my computer performs much faster.
Too bad the Klingon homeworld usually runs on one instance.

stardestroyer001, Admiral, Explorers Fury PvE/PvP Fleet | Retired PvP Player
My Useful List of STO Forum Threads, Ship Builds & More!
It's about time. DEVS NEED ACCOUNTABILITY.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,430
# 48
03-17-2014, 12:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by stardestroyer001 View Post
That's probably it. I always make sure to transfer to a less full instance when at ESD, and my computer performs much faster.
Too bad the Klingon homeworld usually runs on one instance.
Usually 6 to 8 instances at least, on slow days. I've never seen only 1 instance on Qo'noS.

Anyway, I'm not sure why you're encountering those issues - like others I have also played STO on weaker configurations than yours and didn't encounter those issues in Qo'noS. I think it might something to do with the programming and the game itself, because for ex. there were times when this happened to me in Q's WW and I usually run it from my gaming rig.
Because true Starfleet Captains command Exploration Cruisers!
Thank you Cryptic for finally giving me MY SHIP!!!
Captain
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,614
# 49
03-17-2014, 01:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by shpoks View Post
Usually 6 to 8 instances at least, on slow days. I've never seen only 1 instance on Qo'noS.
Hmm. To be honest I don't go to Qo'nos often anymore simply because of the lag. Ganalda is my home away from home.


Quote:
Originally Posted by shpoks View Post
I think it might something to do with the programming and the game itself, because for ex. there were times when this happened to me in Q's WW and I usually run it from my gaming rig.
It's possible. I did notice something odd in the options menu just the other day. There's an option which allows multi core rendering, but it cannot be turned on (even with a dual core like my laptop). Maybe this is it?

stardestroyer001, Admiral, Explorers Fury PvE/PvP Fleet | Retired PvP Player
My Useful List of STO Forum Threads, Ship Builds & More!
It's about time. DEVS NEED ACCOUNTABILITY.
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,111
# 50
03-18-2014, 04:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by timezarg View Post
You raise a good point. We should have an Orion homeworld, as well as a Gorn homeworld.

And yeah, a reduction in the massive amounts of NPCs that just walk back and forth on the Qo'noS map would be nice. I mean, don't get rid of all of them, they do add nicely to the 'populated' feel. . .but it's a little much.
Well I don't think we need all homewards. Would be nice, but the effort would not pay of IMO.
Just saying IF they add a new KDF zone it wouldn't have to be Klingon. Could be something different for a change...^^
Support more story content in STO
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 PM.