Lt. Commander
My new character arrives at the academy and signs up for courses that will guide my career in Starfleet as a tactical, engineering, or science officer. The first 5 levels as a cadet are spent learning my current and potential skills so that I may choose which to specialize in later on. This is done by performing tests or exams much like the Kobayashi Maru test that I need to pass that can be retaken to score perfectly and perhaps win commendations that I could display in my dorm room. At the end of my training as a cadet I will earn the rank of Ensign and receive my first orders from Starfleet.

Now as an Ensign I can accept orders to go on missions. For this example say I am an engineering officer. I will go on missions serving at my station on a NPC ship with an NPC captain. I will also be issued quarters on board a place to be alone and decorate as I see fit. There would also be a 10 forward to chat with friends as well as other notable places on board to visit (sickbay, engineering, atrium etc.).

Now as a player progresses some may choose to gain command skills and can eventually perform missions as an acting captain. These missions can be performed alone with an NPC crew or an all player crew. This inspires community and group play.

Fleets could requisition star ships based on their level and go on missions, but anyone at any time can do missions on-board an NPC ship for exp. Members of the fleet could set up and design these ship any way they seem fit.

Crafting would be as it should be. Weapon, Armor, enhancements be it food or medicine. With several branches to each type like armor side could make armor suits, or choose to craft kits.