Lt. Commander
# 1 I'm a bit confused...
02-07-2010, 04:39 AM
I just started playing yesterday and have been gradually picking up the gameplay. The skilll system is still a bit confusing, but I'm sure it will start to make sense when it's too late and I've ended up wasting loads of points.

Anyway, I just read that there's some kind of crafting system. Also, an 'exchange' which I assume is similar to an auction house. I checked the manual and neither of these things is mentioned in there. I had no idea of their existance, so it makes me wonder what else I don't know :/ If I hadn't been randomly browsing the forum because of the downtime, I'd have no idea that there's some kind of crafting system. Is it eventually fit in to the game progression, or are people supposed to just already know?

Can anyone direct me towards any information on it?
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-07-2010, 04:41 AM
Its not exactly a crafting system , more of a item enchantment , you will get a mission to open this , so play away till you get this mission , i think you get it at LT-5.
Lt. Commander
# 3
02-07-2010, 04:43 AM
Cryptic seems to have a hard time providing decent doco with their games. Crafting in STO is more along the lines of upgrading existing items into bigger/better items using various anomaly obtained resources at Memory Aplha. You'll get a mission fairly early on directing you there.

The Exchange is located on Sol SB1, DS 9, Sierra Starbase and (not 100%) K7 - but it's terminals not people like in other games - look for the blinking terminals for that, mail and your own bank in the exchange section.
Lt. Commander
# 4
02-07-2010, 04:46 AM