Former PWE Community Team Lead
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9,046
Mac Minimum System Requirements:

  • Operating System: Mac OS X 10.7.5 or later
  • CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo
  • RAM: 4GB+
  • Hard Disk: 10GB Free Disk Space
  • Graphic Display: Intel HD3000 / Nvidia 9600M / AMD HD2600 with 256MB+ VRAM
  • Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Brandon "BranFlakes" Felczer | Former Community Team Lead for Perfect World Entertainment

Last edited by pwebranflakes; 11-12-2013 at 02:02 PM.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 30
# 2
11-11-2013, 12:03 PM
Welp...

I have a 2010 MacBook Pro and it doesn't look like its going to cut it...
__________________________________________________ ___
Cryptic Account: Robert_Praetori
Community Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 863
# 3
11-11-2013, 12:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by storobertpraetor View Post
Welp...

I have a 2010 MacBook Pro and it doesn't look like its going to cut it...
Sadly it won't - those core 2 duo chips sadly don't cut the mustard vs the Core i Chips. That said My i5 MacBook Air can run STO under Boot camp, albeit badly so what's the worst that can happen if you donwload and it doesn't work.
Volunteer Community Moderator for the Star Trek Online Forums. My views may not represent those of Cryptic Studios or Perfect World Entertainment.
If you wish to speak to someone on the community team, file a 'forums and website' support ticket here, as we are not able to respond to PMs regarding moderation inquiries.
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
# 4
11-11-2013, 12:26 PM
I have a 3-year-old iMac with only 2Gb of RAM.

Shame. I don't think I will be able to play the beta very well.
Raptr | Twitter
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 46
# 5
11-11-2013, 12:29 PM
These specs confuse the hell out of me. I get that there's a difference between the two sides, but the minimum requirements on Windows are a Core 2 Duo at 1.8 Ghz, meanwhile the Mac side says you need an iSeries at 2.4 Ghz *minimum*? That's a significant jump in processing power for something that runs like glass on the BootCamp side already.

Hoping they're being overwhelmingly optimistic with those minimum requirements.
Career Officer
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 41
# 6
11-11-2013, 12:47 PM
I'm not very fluent with mac specs, but it seems to me that my Macbook Air 2013 will not be able to play STO . It's strange, because I can play GW2 or EVE easily .

I just hope that it's me not understanding specs ... that would make me much happier .
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,444
# 7
11-11-2013, 12:59 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwebranflakes View Post
Mac Minimum System Requirements:

  • Operating System: Mac OS X 10.7.5 or later
  • CPU: Intel Dual Core Xeon 3.0 GHz / Intel Core i Series 2.4 GHz
  • RAM: 4GB+
  • Hard Disk: 10GB Free Disk Space
  • Graphic Display: Intel HD3000 / Nvidia 9600M / AMD HD2600 with 256MB+ VRAM
  • Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
I have OS X 10.9. Check.
I have 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. No check?
I have 4 GB RAM. No check?
I have more than 10 GB HD space free. Check.
I have Nvidia 9400M with 256MB VRAM. No check?
I have Internet Broadband Connection. Check.

Am I out of luck?
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,444
# 8
11-11-2013, 01:04 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevencentaurai View Post
I have a 3-year-old iMac with only 2Gb of RAM.

Shame. I don't think I will be able to play the beta very well.
It should be able to upgrade to at least 4 GB RAM, if the bottom of the monitor/computer looks anything like my 2007 iMac (not the one I'd use for STO). If you can't do the upgrade yourself, take it to Geek Squad at Best Buy and see if they can increase the RAM to 4 GB. I should do that with my iMac, if only so that it can upgrade to Snow Leopard (it's currently using Leopard).
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,557
# 9
11-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Hey there.

My system is a 2008 Mac Pro with 2 Quad Cores (8 cores) at 2.8 GHz, 16 GB RAM with a more than ample graphics card. Does anyone know whether my processor will suffice? It's not a 3.0 twin but I'm hoping 8 cores at 2.8 will do the trick.

Can anyone help me with an answer?

Last edited by darramouss1; 11-11-2013 at 01:41 PM.
Starfleet Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 421
# 10
11-11-2013, 01:47 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by darramouss1 View Post
Hey there.

My system is a 2008 Mac Pro with 2 Quad Cores (8 cores) at 2.8 GHz, 16 GB RAM with a more than ample graphics card. Does anyone know whether my processor will suffice? It's not a 3.0 twin but I'm hoping 8 cores at 2.8 will do the trick.

Can anyone help me with an answer?
It better...

Anyway. Can someone answer why a 1.8 GHz C2D is okay for the windows version but not the mac? Also why 10.7.5? Is the software using something in that that isn't in 10.6.8 to run?

'Cause if so, then I can't run it no matter how powerful the CPU I have is.

Thanks!
Formerly known as Protector from June 2008 to June 20, 2012

If the KDF can get a Fleet D7 (That can be upgraded to a T5-U), the Feds should have a Fleet Exeter.

Last edited by jonathanlonehawk; 11-11-2013 at 02:16 PM.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 PM.