Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3,112
# 21
04-23-2014, 05:45 PM
i have an e7300 that can run at 4ghz stable(got it at 3.6 at he moment), 4 gigz of ram and a gtx 560(2gig version). with most of the settings on low to medium im getting 10 to 20 fps on new rom. frankly, im dreading going to dyson ground.

there is something rather broken somewhere.
as it turns out, an intrepid would lose a fight with a connie.
and thats canon.
! the power of plot compels you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 133
# 22
04-23-2014, 06:24 PM
Something else I have noticed is that with the UI opened up my FPS takes a Flying leap off a cliff, go's from an average 50+ to a steady 19 FPS when I press K for the skills UI. An that's in Sector Space O.O....this issue with the UI was actually present Before S9, but because nothing has been done to address the issues with FPS drops, its getting progressively worse.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 152
# 23
04-23-2014, 06:44 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IBxpaqzU20


gtx650TI .... same on min max settings cannot see what am I shooting, 90% ppl have same problem in voth space and crystalline elite.
Captain
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 670
# 24
04-23-2014, 11:20 PM
i noticed that STO is being harder on the HD and CPU for some reason, i think the fix to that bug that caused the graphics of everything to become white/fail to properly load its causing it, now STO does load everything, but while its doing so, it brings my PC to its knees sometimes, also new ESD for some reason seems laggier than when it was up on tribble, even when there were 50+ people spamming disco balls near tacofangs/dancing around him/using party itens it didn't lag like this, same thing with the undine battlezone, it wasn't this bad, not when graphic were turned down.

i don't know what cryptic did, but i think they broke the already frail code... again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 189
# 25
04-24-2014, 07:25 AM
It'll be interesting to see if this is specifically addressed or not. But you would be hopeful given the various graphics/issues reported.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,478
# 26
04-24-2014, 07:47 AM
I don't know if this will help anyone, but thought I'd post it up anyway.

I was having bad FPS issues as well. 3-5 FPS in Dyson space and Undine BZ. Maybe 20 max everywhere else. I found some options under the Advanced tab in the menu options. There was one for Framerate Limiter and Auto-Framerate Limiter. Or something close to those, I forget. Anyway, both of those had been turned on. I turned them off and everything went back to normal. I was getting my 40-60 FPS again. There's also an option for limiting CPU activity if you have overheating. Maybe check to see if that one is turned off too.

-Lantesh
Since Feb. 2009
Captain
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,078
# 27
04-24-2014, 07:50 AM
I haven't had any issues with season 9 graphically. You do need to reset all of your graphics settings upon login and they seem to be stretched over 3 tabs now. I don't know who thought that was a good idea but I think they should all be on a single tab. I have tried the new content and have explored ESD a few times with no issues, slowdowns, or framerate drops. Have any of you tried different drivers? I am currently running the Catalyst 14.4 RC1 on Windows 8.1 at 1920X1200 under DX11 on the highest settings the game allows.

CPU: Core i7 4770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard: MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
RAM: 16GB (2X8GB) G.Skill F3-2400C10
GPU: MSI Radeon 7950 3GB
Quote:
Originally Posted by hort_wort
Hahahaha, thanks Cryptic, for doing your part to make the F2P transition of SWTOR such a success!!
Ensign
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 22
# 28
04-24-2014, 09:48 AM
Still low FPS after trying even the catalyst beta drivers. Seems there is no real fix for this. I'm boxing the game till next patch or a dev response.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 189
# 29
04-24-2014, 10:32 AM
I'm on the beta catalyst drivers, and the low FPS problems are still persisting. Something changed with S9 most likely inadvertently, but this does need to be looked at.

Parts of the game are simply unplayable because the FPS dips so low.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 80
# 30
04-24-2014, 10:33 AM
no official word on this yet?

seems to be something of a big issue, had no such problems with the game so far and suddenly S9 comes with a significant FPS drop...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 AM.