Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
So I have friends IRL and I want to play with them in STO

How do we do this???


I tried but we dont see each other in the STO universe. It's pretty bad...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-07-2010, 07:48 PM
Odd you don't see each other. That might be a bug.

My friend that started last night invited me to a group and I gave him a tour of the Starbase showed him where to find things. As long as your in a group you guys shouldn't have a problem joining the same instance of a zone. At least I haven't had that problem yet.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-07-2010, 07:59 PM
Well, I /invited my brother to play with me... and we don;t see each other. we dont see the same people arround... and we dont even share a single spec of ANYTHING. THIS SUCKS ASS.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-07-2010, 08:09 PM
I'd put in a bug report so maybe they can investigate it.

I've never seen or even heard of something like that before. Not even in beta.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-07-2010, 08:10 PM
I did send a bug report. it looks like he's on another server... This aint good at all.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-07-2010, 08:21 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by icuurd12b42 View Post
I did send a bug report. it looks like he's on another server... This aint good at all.
probs in a different instance you wont see each other, should still be able to talk and stuff tho
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-07-2010, 08:23 PM
There is only one server, however each zone is split into instances. So for example: your normal sector space zone instance houses up to 75 different players. The next 75 would end up in another instance of that same space.

If you end up in Sol System 1, your friend may end up in Sol 2 and while all your surroundings look the same, the contained players will be different. You can switch "instances" by clicking on the name above the minimap and finding the one your friend is in. You can coordinate your locations from there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-07-2010, 08:26 PM
I dont care I want to play with him not freaking chat.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-08-2010, 01:21 AM
OK, I dont know how we did it but 45 minutes of fiddling arround, we managed to get at the same spot. I found the instance button, clicked it, and while trying to see where we both were, the game automatically, put us in the right spot. It did it semi automatically, while browsing we both warped to the same server <i guess>
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-08-2010, 01:27 AM
Add him as a friend and then create a team and it should put you both into the same instance, if you get separated you can also see which instance they are in so it's easy to join up again
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.