Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
02-09-2010, 11:26 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedidethfreak View Post
Actually, there's a very good reason for them to not allow a lot of weapons to autofire, and it's canon, too. If you fire too many beam weapons, both in-game and by lore, you'll cause too much of a power draw and short your ship systems out fairly quickly.

Think about THAT, the next time you're surrounded by a bunch of Romulan Escorts.
If you design your ship accordingly then this won't be a problem. If you fill up your weapon slots with only beams then setting them all on autofire and then running out of energy should be a consequence. But would you do that? Nobody's asking for auto-fire for all weapons, just the ones that you're fireing all the time anyways. I have yet to see anyone NOT fire a beam weapon when they could.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirrana
Hello,

The captain did not do anything he just sat in the chair. That would be a bit dull for a game tho but if you put on the star screen saver and sat back in your chair yell commands at passing family members.
I have enough to worry about moving energy between weapons, shield, and aux, monitoring BO cooldown, torpedo and mine cooldowns, positioning, redirecting energy to specific shield facings, answering stupid dialogs that pop up during combat, and keeping tabs on all other ships on scanners. The last thing I need to be doing in between all of that is telling my tac officer to fire again every other second. It's bad for my joints and fingers, it's bad for my keyboard, it's bad for my mouse, and it's bad for this game.

There's more to this game than keeping my 270 degree arc phasers going all the time while I'm broadside, but at the moment the spacebar game seems to be half of the challenge. Will my keyboard hold up through this battle? Will I not get a cramp this fleet action? Those aren't things I should be worrying about as a captain of a star ship.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
02-09-2010, 11:30 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delazure View Post
Autofire is optional, how comes you don't want us to have it if you don't have to use it ? Are you a game nazi or something ?
Hello,

Never said I did not want you to have it. The OP suggest he should not being firing the weapon because the captain did not. I was showing via the statement that the captains only role on the ship was to give orders than translating just that into the game would not work.

Also even if that was not the case you should not go around calling people nazi's just because they have a view point different to that of yours
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
02-09-2010, 11:30 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zexks View Post
... Will I not get a cramp this fleet action? Those aren't things I should be worrying about as a captain of a star ship.
The first thing I think about when my mouse hovers over the STO icon is the pain that comes after playing this game over an hour. So I stopped playing.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
02-09-2010, 11:33 AM
I've found that assigning ` (button to the left of 1) to fire all weapons works quite well and takes the pressure away from my thumb... maybe try that and see how you go.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
02-09-2010, 11:40 AM
Sup.

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/2301/autofire.jpg

Just right click the skill.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
02-09-2010, 11:48 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delazure View Post
Autofire is optional, how comes you don't want us to have it if you don't have to use it ? Are you a game nazi or something ?
Although it hasn't been mentioned, there's an aoe ability that turns your targeting systems against your allies. If a ball of fed ships got hit with that, it would be an immediate 5-8 points for the klingons in pvp. UNLESS they don't have autofire set for all weapons.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
02-09-2010, 12:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haya View Post
TROGDOR!! Burninating the countryside! Burninating all the peasants!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
02-09-2010, 12:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haya View Post
Doesn't work on all weapons.... sooo.... you still have to mash the buttons.

CARPEL TUNNEL your middle name is STO.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
02-09-2010, 12:14 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellmach
Doesn't work on all weapons.... sooo.... you still have to mash the buttons.

CARPEL TUNNEL your middle name is STO.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
02-09-2010, 12:15 PM
Fanbois trying to apologize for cryptic are hilarious.

Not being able to set auto fire for as many weapons as you want adds nothing to the game except tedium. At least auto fire would give you the option to only set 4 of your 6 phasers to auto fire if you want to watch out for energy drain. Without it, you're just forced to mash space bar.

No sane person pushes 1-8 to fire each of their weapons individually. There is no advantage to doing that and it is just stupid and unrealistic. If they wanted to make us do something like that, they should have let us configure groups of weapons and map them to buttons so i can press 1 to fire phasers 1-4 and 2 to fire the rest.

The reason they removed auto fire from both space and ground strongly sounds like it was due to bugs cryptic didn't feel like fixing and/or couldn't. ie they took the easy and short sighted path.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.