Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
02-09-2010, 02:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruivo
You people do realize that the ship you give to your name is the official name registered on the hull? The -X suffixed do NOT go on the ship name, but on the ship registry number. So it's "U.S.S Whatever, NCC-YYYYYY-X".

Take a close look at the hull of the Enterprise-D and see if it's written USS Enterprise-D.
Most people add the letter to the end of the ship because you can't have two ships with the same name unless you decommission the first one.
I'd just rather pick a new name, but, to each his own.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
02-09-2010, 02:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruivo
You people do realize that the ship you give to your name is the official name registered on the hull? The -X suffixed do NOT go on the ship name, but on the ship registry number. So it's "U.S.S Whatever, NCC-YYYYYY-X".

Take a close look at the hull of the Enterprise-D and see if it's written USS Enterprise-D.
Hehe, yeah that makes me shake my head every time I see it (which is pretty much damn near everywhere in-game). It's not that difficult of a process to rename your old ship so you can carry the name with you to your new one and add an A, B, C etc. to the end of the registry.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
02-09-2010, 02:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by denare View Post
Most people add the letter to the end of the ship because you can't have two ships with the same name unless you decommission the first one.
I'd just rather pick a new name, but, to each his own.
you dont have to decommision it, just change its name. then name your new ship with the original.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
02-09-2010, 02:42 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeleys
you dont have to decommision it, just change its name. then name your new ship with the original.
This ^^

Ain't that hard.. :p

Each monkey on it's tree.. but i think that most people don't want to do that on purpose
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
02-09-2010, 02:44 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruivo
This ^^

Ain't that hard.. :p

Each monkey on it's tree.. but i think that most people don't want to do that on purpose
yea i know, but you can allways change it back if you ever use them ships again. lol ah well each to there own
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
02-09-2010, 02:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeleys
yea i know, but you can allways change it back if you ever use them ships again. lol ah well each to there own
Lol, i QFT'ed you, didn't need to reply to me :p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
02-09-2010, 02:51 PM
Im going to be doing it, even though i know its wrong.

why? because cryptic enforced account wise name saving.

...which is retarded, so, anyone can ahve U.S.S Idiotic, but you cant have U.S.S Idiotic and then NCC or NX diffeerences...

It was working in beta >_<
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
02-09-2010, 03:07 PM
I was going to name my ships this way, but I just decided to pick thematic names. I've got a post-it on my desk with the names of all my escort and science vessels.

Also: renaming your ships after the first time costs starfleet merits, doesn't it?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
02-09-2010, 03:08 PM
I made the U.S.S. D-Vespene
is that better?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
02-09-2010, 03:09 PM
I am using "Rimor" which is latin for Explorer as my ship name and what I've done is rename my old ship with an Rimor-A, Rimor-B etc. and then rename my new Ship with my Rimor.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 PM.