Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
02-12-2010, 09:12 AM
We actually noted this one in CB too. i dont have my ticket number redily available but, i know my buddy and i both bugged it.

I am curious tho...

putting weapon A+ onto the runabout, causes weapon A+ to now be weapon A-
attempting to put weapon A- back onto ship A, does not change the stats of weapon A- back to weapon A+

are these stats changed for all variations of Weapon A?
do you see ALL quantum torps at this newly inundated weapon A-" stat? or just the ones that you initially put on the runabout?

I was unable to test this part in CB, due to me getting it at the last second and taking it to SB 24 for the klingon/borg invasion at the end of OB.

my point is, if you can get different weps to put on ur main ship, it might be a smart idea to do that instead of being all craptastic about the weapons on the runabout not going back to how they were. Its a bug, and im sure they know about it. it will in time get fixed. There are plenty of other weapons out there that you can load on ur ship so ur lot lookin like a no0b gettin pwned by a -11.

Also, you took your best weapons off of your main ship and loaded them into a runabout??
i lol @ u
I can see the pleasure or desire in doing so but, man... the game is gonna be buggy, certainly you want to try something a little less valuable out first, before losing ur ubergun, no?

mebbe thats just me.

X
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
02-12-2010, 09:35 AM
I can confirm that without a doubt, buying a new ship will give you new stats... of that ship.
I just bought a heavy cruiser, and my heavy escort's gear got back to a more "manageable" level.
Cost me half my credits, but oh well. Better than being gimped, I guess. Now, I hope I can still somewhat turn decently...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
02-12-2010, 09:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeex View Post
We actually noted this one in CB too. i dont have my ticket number redily available but, i know my buddy and i both bugged it.

I am curious tho...

putting weapon A+ onto the runabout, causes weapon A+ to now be weapon A-
attempting to put weapon A- back onto ship A, does not change the stats of weapon A- back to weapon A+

are these stats changed for all variations of Weapon A?
do you see ALL quantum torps at this newly inundated weapon A-" stat? or just the ones that you initially put on the runabout?

I was unable to test this part in CB, due to me getting it at the last second and taking it to SB 24 for the klingon/borg invasion at the end of OB.

my point is, if you can get different weps to put on ur main ship, it might be a smart idea to do that instead of being all craptastic about the weapons on the runabout not going back to how they were. Its a bug, and im sure they know about it. it will in time get fixed. There are plenty of other weapons out there that you can load on ur ship so ur lot lookin like a no0b gettin pwned by a -11.

Also, you took your best weapons off of your main ship and loaded them into a runabout??
i lol @ u
I can see the pleasure or desire in doing so but, man... the game is gonna be buggy, certainly you want to try something a little less valuable out first, before losing ur ubergun, no?

mebbe thats just me.

X

The real issue isn't that transferring weapons "downgrades" them; is that your ship's background statistics (Like warp core output) is basically overwritten by the new ship. Ergo, no matter what ship you set as current afterwards, those stats will follow the ship.
All in all, you could buy a runabout and THEN switch back to your admiral-level ship, not changing gear, and you'll be gimped.

EDIT: And now, just realized that there is mad possibilities for exploits, especially over in PvP:
1. Buy a cruiser-class ship (ship stats are all cruiser's)
2. Buy an escort-class ship (ship stats are all escort's)
3. Switch back to cruiser-class ship (ship stats are still escort's)
4. Get all the weapon bays of a cruiser, with the agility and speed of an escort
5. ???
6. Profit

Yeah, I can confirm all this because I discharged my old ship after buying a cruiser and now that I'm completely broke (should have bough a lower-tier ship, I swear...), I know what to do.

For those affected by the bug, do the following:

1. Discharge your preffered ship (after transferring all the equipment in your inventory, to be on the safe side)
2. Re-buy a ship of the same class
It costs you credits, but it's better than being stuck with stats that aren't your own, IMHO.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
02-12-2010, 10:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firebreath View Post
The real issue isn't that transferring weapons "downgrades" them; is that your ship's background statistics (Like warp core output) is basically overwritten by the new ship. Ergo, no matter what ship you set as current afterwards, those stats will follow the ship.
All in all, you could buy a runabout and THEN switch back to your admiral-level ship, not changing gear, and you'll be gimped.

For those affected by the bug, do the following:

1. Discharge your preffered ship (after transferring all the equipment in your inventory, to be on the safe side)
2. Re-buy a ship of the same class
It costs you credits, but it's better than being stuck with stats that aren't your own, IMHO.

Holy shnikeys really!?!?!

I didnt catch that it changes the overal SHIP stats, not just the weapon stats. yez, a much larger problem indeed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
02-12-2010, 10:54 AM
Yes, when you take you Exploration Cruiser into battle without knowing it has the stats of a runabout..... its a very lingering WTH moment....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
02-12-2010, 01:29 PM
Yep, exact same issue here. Borked stats because I bought a runabout.

Can we please get a devs input here. This is stupid. We get borked and not a single response or acknowledgment from a dev.

Also has anyone tried selling the runabout and see if that will fix the issue?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
02-12-2010, 01:54 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantivirus View Post
Yep, exact same issue here. Borked stats because I bought a runabout.

Can we please get a devs input here. This is stupid. We get borked and not a single response or acknowledgment from a dev.

Also has anyone tried selling the runabout and see if that will fix the issue?
It has been reported in other threads that this does work.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
02-12-2010, 02:32 PM
So just to clearify this, if you purchase a runabout, and equip it with NEW weapons/shields, etc.. and leave your CURRENT SHIP EQUIPMENT ALONE you will be OK?

BUT, if you swap YOUR CURRENT SHIP GEAR INTO A RUNABOUT AND TRY TO SWITCH BACK YOU WILL COMPLETELY GIMP YOUR CURRENT SHIP?

I want a runabout so bad, I have plenty of energy credits =p but I plan on waiting till admiral to equip with all mark VIIII gear, its a progression I want to take on for myself to keep myself intrested in the game
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
02-12-2010, 04:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_Luc_Picard View Post
So just to clearify this, if you purchase a runabout, and equip it with NEW weapons/shields, etc.. and leave your CURRENT SHIP EQUIPMENT ALONE you will be OK?

BUT, if you swap YOUR CURRENT SHIP GEAR INTO A RUNABOUT AND TRY TO SWITCH BACK YOU WILL COMPLETELY GIMP YOUR CURRENT SHIP?

I want a runabout so bad, I have plenty of energy credits =p but I plan on waiting till admiral to equip with all mark VIIII gear, its a progression I want to take on for myself to keep myself intrested in the game
As I mentionned in a previous reply:
Buying a runabout will take over all of your bckground ship stats. IE: Your warp core output will be one of a runabout. Activating the runabout will do that (I dunno about just buying it though).
Any ship you buy thereafter will keep the last ship purchased's background stats.

Therefore, it's not a matter of transfering equipment or not. The simple act of buying a runabout will screw all your other ships, no matter if they have new or old equipment, no matter if that equipment went into the runabout or not.

Short answer: Currently, don't buy a runabout until this is patched. Just... don't. No. Bad idea. Nuh-huh. Niet. Nein. Non. Quineg.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
02-15-2010, 09:05 AM
Devs:
Could it be possible to sticky this or something? We've had 4 messages in 5 days pertaining to this very bug.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 AM.